We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only 3 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Caracas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Caracas Hotel to your Saves list
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Casanova, Urb. Bellomonte, Caracas 1050, Venezuela (El Recreo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
PUERTO RICO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Only 3 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Employees is a plus here, they are really good but this hotel is tired, rooms are dark, round magnifier mirror was almost falling from the wall, and cleaning is not only to change the bed or towels...not in a safe neighborhood and poor quality WIFI in the old tower.
If you cannot go out for a walk, there is nothing to tell about location.....you have the Mall just outside if you like shooping.
The only other plus is the Lobby where you can have an "average" WIFI and a nice bar.
Food is average... if you need a hotel in a hurry (business) for a couple of nights probably this hotel will help you.
If you are looking for a vacation with your family, I dont think so.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena V, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Luis,

I would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced during your stay with us. As you may know, guest satisfaction is our top priority and therefore we are very concerned with the fact that we did not impress you with some of our services. I assure you that I have taken a good note of your particular observations.

Thank you for your valuable comments. I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again here at the Gran Melia Caracas.

Sincerely

Lorena Valera
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    121
    75
    47
    32
See reviews for
55
106
38
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Guyana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is an amazingly clean hotel with exceptional attention being given by the Concierge and Ground floor attendants. The ambiance is perfect. The Hotel is adjoined to a massive shopping mall and is in very close proximity to a very long boulevard lined on both sides with shopping complexes that offer a wide variety of items at very economic prices. The quality and taste of the wide variety of food was beyond compare.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena V, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting us for your recent stay, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We await you soon at your second home at the Gran Meliá Caracas.

Best regards,

Lorena Valera
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two weeks during the FIBA Americas Championship (september 2013)

It is a good hotel, with all the amenities you would need (great pool, lobby bar, restaurant), but location is not that good, at least at night. If you want to go to a bar or restaurant outside the hotel, you will need to take an hotel taxi, because the sorroundings of the hotel are NOT SAFE. During the day, you can walk around, have breakfast at the cafeterias around the hotel. But do NOT do that at night. Safest place to go at night is Las Mercedes, that is like 8-10 minutes in car from the Gran Melia.

The service of the hotel taxi were good, and the staff (although the large occupancy during the tournament) were very helpful. But something I did find annoying, is that at 8:30am the maids would knock on the door to see if the room was occupied. Really??? Woke me up every time.

Would reccomend the hotel for business, but if it were for vacation, I would search for a more safe location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena V, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Esteban,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting us for your recent stay, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Gran Meliá Caracas.

Best regards,

Lorena Valera
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Still a nice hotel even if the facility is a little torn....
Check in was ridiculous. Haven't had a longer wait, Ever!
The room was nice though, but for the price you should't expect anything less.Friendly staff.
The breakfastbuffét was extraordinary. The one thing that made my stay was the bartender at the lobbybar. This guy was awesome!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena V, Gerente de Calidad at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our gratitude for your having taken the time to let us know your concerns about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the observations concerning the service you have received in our Hotel.

I regret very much that we did not impress you with some of our services. I assure you, that I´ll shared wiht our staff your observations, and that appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.

Once more, thank you for your valuable comments.

I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again here at our Gran Meliá Caracas.

Best regards,

Lorena Valera
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Coming back to Gran Melia after 10 yrs and while this place is still impressive when you get in I think it is loosing it's glamour certainly as a business hotel.
First of all the price of 430 USD a night is ridiculous. Pay cash in Bs that will be more economical.
Check-In was slow. Checking out a complete disaster. In the morning I left people lining up and only one employee helping out while there were at least 2 more employee at the reception that did not look very busy to me. But they simply did not help till the line really became very long and some people were already waiting 15 min or more to check out. No if you want to run a hotel mainly for business this can not happen.
The lobby is OK spacious with a nice bar
Rooms are a bit outdated especially the bathrooms. Some fungus in the shower. Closets not completely dustfree. Water coming out of the faucet had a brown/orange color at times. Water was also smelling.
Some of the table lights did not work or it was very troublesome to turn them on. Broken switches etc.
You have to pay for internet. Not expected with this price tag
Bed was very comfortable, linnen and towels were excellent.
No coffemaker in the room
Room service was merely OK. Food looked good and tasted OK but was delivered a bit cold.
I would not say I will not stay here again if my company puts me here but for a hotel of this class and reputation you expect more especially for this price.

Room Tip: Upper floors in the hotel tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Please receive a cordial greeting on behalf of the General management of the Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel. We wish to extend our most heartfelt apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at our Hotel. Facts as those you describe are not live up to our standards. We appreciate your collaboration to demonstrate us your dissatisfaction, because so we can take corrective action with the points that tells us.

Staying at your disposal I send you the contact of the quality management to assist you in any requirement for a future reservation: calidad1.gran.melia.caracas@solmelia.com


Best regards,

Lorena Valera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is another quality failure on behalf of Melia.

It just took one night to realize that there is a serious service issue at this facility.

The air conditioning system did not work properly, towels were stained and just make it even worse dust all over.

After several attempts, no one from the front desk seemed to care therefore there was no attention to my demands for assistance.

Again, it just took one night only to comprehend that charge paid did not match expected quality I was expecting from Melia.

A true shame that Melia hotels is not attentive to whatever is going on at their properties worldwide.

Happy traveling all.

Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Gerente de Calidad at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive a cordial greeting on behalf of the Quality Department of the Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel. We wish to extend our most heartfelt apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at our Hotel. Facts as those you describe are not live up to our standards.

We appreciate your collaboration to demonstrate us your dissatisfaction, because so we can take corrective action with the points that tells us.

Staying at your disposal I send you the contact of my office to assist you in any requirement for a future reservation:

calidad1.gran.melia.caracas@solmelia.com.

Sincerely yours,

Lorena Valera
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wasn't really impressed. We had problems at the check in counter with our credit card, took nearly an hour (and an overseas call) to have it rectified and it turned out to be a problem with the Melia's credit card terminal. No fridge in room, room was very dusty (vents etc), no toilet paper...I was really disappointed. Wouldn't return unless I had no other choice

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Quality Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Lee,

Please receive a cordial greeting on behalf of the General management of the Gran Meliá Caracas Hotel. We wish to extend our most heartfelt apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at our Hotel. Facts as those you describe are not live up to our standards. We appreciate your collaboration to demonstrate us your dissatisfaction, because so we can take corrective action with the points that tells us.
Staying at your disposal I send you the contact of the quality management to assist you in any requirement for a future reservation:

Lorena Valera
calidad1.gran.melia.caracas@melia.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Caracas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Caracas Hotel

Address: Ave Casanova, Urb. Bellomonte, Caracas 1050, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Recreo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caracas
#4 Family Hotel in Caracas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Melia Caracas Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Gran Melia Caracas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Caracas
Caracas Gran Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.