We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Caracas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Caracas Hotel to your Saves list
Gran Melia Caracas Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Casanova, Urb. Bellomonte, Caracas 1050, Venezuela (El Recreo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excelent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed there only because our flight back to Brazil was canceled and we had to spend another night in Caracas, on September 2010. This hotel is great!!! It was conected to a shopping center and very well located, very near to a metro station. Our room, actually, our suite was incredible. It had three room, a living room, american kitchen and two bathrooms. The master room also had a closet. The meals were great. It is a very luxurious hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadmelia, Manager at Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Luciana,

Receive warm wettings on behalf of the Gran Melia Caracas. Thank you very much for your great review, we are very please to know that you had enjoy your stay with us. We are hoping to welcome you once again in our Hotel.

Regards,

Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    120
    74
    46
    32
See reviews for
54
104
38
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Worst hotel experience of my life. I had to call almost every day to request towels and Shampoo (would think that was something that was automatically included in the service when you are paying more than $200+ per night). Sometimes they did not even clean my room and I had to call and complain. My room key kept disactivating itself and had to constantly go to reception to get it reactivated. The restaurants are expensive and the food is quite disappointing. In short, worst hotel service I have ever encountered - rooms are nice, but don't make up for the poor service. If you can afford it, the Marriott in El Rosal is much nicer and offers true service (poor quality restaurant though also). Oh and the Meliá is in a dangerous neighborhood, another reason to avoid this horrible hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

It was my second time in Caracas, the hotel location is terrible and dangerous, the other time I stayed in Altamira it was much better and safe!
The worst hotel service ever!!!!! The staff is very very rude and unhelpful.
They charge for everything in the hotel, including using the Gym!!! Very expensive services! The cab service that they have charges you more than twice of the regular cabs.
The rooms are old not really clean!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

Better to stay in other areas - castellanas or las mercedes, you'll see a nicer side of the city. Area doesnt look nice and all locals told us it's not a good area. The staff doesnt seem happy and service is slow. The car that picked us was aaranges by hotel and it was a very nice driver. We also paid a lot - over 200 euros - and you dont get the services for that.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 via mobile

I stay 6 nights over there and it was ok, bad things are .... Had to call every day for shower towels, floor is on carpet and seems like never it was cleaned, found plastic bags, women accesories and others stuff that suppose to be cleaned up... Restaurant was nice but too expensive ... To request internet on the room had to make a queue with all people doing check in ... No sense....

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Everything is just bad there, totally unfriendly and not professional staff, a smile would be a smile...rooms are ok, but overpriced. We waited almost 2 hours to check-in, and another 90 minutes to check-out.
Never more again...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Service is terrible, the food is badly cooked or cold. The rooms stink of smokers. The decor is old and tattered, the carpets are smelly, Cannot believe you have to pay extra for the gym.. for internet... etc. etc. Wake up and smell the coffee.. It is 2011 not 1980.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Caracas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Caracas Hotel

Address: Ave Casanova, Urb. Bellomonte, Caracas 1050, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Recreo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caracas
#3 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Melia Caracas Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Melia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Melia Caracas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Caracas
Caracas Gran Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Caracas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.