We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Caracas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Venezuela con Calle Mohedano | El Rosal, Caracas 1060, Venezuela (El Rosal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 84 hotels in Caracas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

For that price I am expecting clean rooms and service that is working. TV broken, Telephone broken, wall with mold and bead coverage so disgusting dirty.
Luckywise the inoffical rate compensates all this.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com; to understand in detail your problems and this way we can take the pertinent measures, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    58
    43
    23
    10
See reviews for
18
33
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at Numerous JW Marriott's and they are all top notch hotels in excellent conditions and of the highest quality....

The JW in Caracas is a long way from what I would expect from the JW brand... For example, I was upgraded to a suite and it was lackluster. Curtains did not close in my room so at 7AM it was bright in the room and I had no way to make the room dark... The bathroom toilet was missing the cover and I had to ask them to bring a toilet cover. The bathtub was worn and had cracks... The food was poor and not very good... The exec lounge was extremely dark and didn't have a good assortment of food. Overall NOT impressed and this hotel did not seem like a Marriott branded hotel....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com; to understand in detail your problems and this way we can take the pertinent measures, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The staff is wonderful, nice welcome and treatment during the stay.
The room (619) has a good size and comfortable marble bathroom. However, it smells humid and the mattress needs to be replaced.
The coffee shop does not open until 8am, even though the schedule says 7am. ( the new labor law.)
The brochure indicates they have a Sushi Bar between 12m and 3 pm but it is no longer there.
There is a shopping mall one block away. You can walk to it during the day but it is not too safe.
Only go if you are on a business trip, not for pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I am in the hotel now after an OK night's sleep - one of the only easons I gave it even two stars is the beds are still nice. However,when I walked in the room, the curtains had fallen down and were balled up in a corner and the rest were hanging at a sorry angle, ready to fall if pulled. How did this room get serviced and who said it was 'ready" for a guest?. At $300 per night (corporate rate) one would expect bettter. I called down to complain and a "tecnico" was sent up to reset the drapes on a few rungs so at least they kept out the light. Wish I had a camera to post the lopsided results. Anyway, when I opened "the drapes" this morning, I was shocked to find windows so dirty I could hardly see out of them anyway. This is just sad. The rest of the hotel is outdated and ugly. Most of the serivce is pleasant but still oddly demanding giving the circumstances. If it weren't for the fact that I stayed in the JW Mariott in Bogota last month, so I KNOW they can do better, even in Latin America, I would write off this hotel chain forever. The JW Mariott in Bogota is an absolute dream. So why this? I am gussing it is because of the state of the country and the fact that most businesses can't repatriate any profits. I do understand that as my business has the same issue. But still, if you have all of the money stuck in the country why not use it as advertising for the rest of the Mariott chain? Why stick your oldest and most loyal customers, the ones who are in this country through thick and thin - with a bad experience? Fine, don't redecorate. But fiilthy windows (I mean filthy) and falling down drapes are inexcusable at this price. I wouldn't expect that from a two star pension.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is not bad. The pool is somewhat and nice and so are the rooms, but the restaurant has the worst food I have ever had (I'm not kidding). I've tried every single item on the not very extensive menu and some dishes were unedible. I have to stay there for business, but now I never eat there except the breakfast buffet (which is like any other buffet, eggs are hard to mess up). If you stay here DO NOT eat in their restaurant for lunch or dinner- more than disappointed you'll be grossed out.

Room Tip: No spa. Rooms all the way to the top are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent two nights there, country in mourning so spent whole time in hotel. The room good and bed excellent. Only one lift worked in my section, other one stuck coincidentally on my floor. The working lift was overworked and frequently doors went into rapid close mode. Several times had to get in the way of the door to prevent elderly people or kids getting hurt. Room service efficient and staff do try to help out with your problems

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pro: Location, Breakfast, Bar Food.

Cons: Expensive, Outdated.

The staff does try its best with what they have. front desk is a mess with complaints form all over. Across the street they have a bar with some live music. Food is real good and nice music to keep you entertained.

I will be looking at other options on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Address: Av Venezuela con Calle Mohedano | El Rosal, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Rosal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Caracas
#1 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Caracas 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Caracas
Marriott Hotel Caracas
Marriott Caracas
Caracas Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.