We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel so so, worst food ever!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Caracas to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Venezuela con Calle Mohedano | El Rosal, Caracas 1060, Venezuela (El Rosal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Caracas
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hotel so so, worst food ever!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is not bad. The pool is somewhat and nice and so are the rooms, but the restaurant has the worst food I have ever had (I'm not kidding). I've tried every single item on the not very extensive menu and some dishes were unedible. I have to stay there for business, but now I never eat there except the breakfast buffet (which is like any other buffet, eggs are hard to mess up). If you stay here DO NOT eat in their restaurant for lunch or dinner- more than disappointed you'll be grossed out.

Room Tip: No spa. Rooms all the way to the top are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    72
    48
    24
    10
See reviews for
28
42
31
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent two nights there, country in mourning so spent whole time in hotel. The room good and bed excellent. Only one lift worked in my section, other one stuck coincidentally on my floor. The working lift was overworked and frequently doors went into rapid close mode. Several times had to get in the way of the door to prevent elderly people or kids getting hurt. Room service efficient and staff do try to help out with your problems

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pro: Location, Breakfast, Bar Food.

Cons: Expensive, Outdated.

The staff does try its best with what they have. front desk is a mess with complaints form all over. Across the street they have a bar with some live music. Food is real good and nice music to keep you entertained.

I will be looking at other options on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Can't think of many things positive about this hotel. It's dated and a complete rip off. Only one restaurant open despite advertising two. Lifts are very noisy and kept me awake all night. Prepaid for the rooms but then told on checkout that the rate had changed and we had to pay about 15% more!!!!! One to avoid in my opinion.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com; to understand in detail your problems and this way we can take the pertinent measures, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This can not be JW Marriott Hotel. It is so outdated and rundown place. Water leaks from the ceilings. You can see and smell mold. I had a executive lounge access. This executive lounge is a joke. I feel sorry for the folks working at this Hotel, since some of them tried very hard to support us with whatever little they had. It is not simply worth of $400 per night stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel. I had to stay 3 nights since I prepaid( to save from $540 per night to $4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com; to understand in detail your problems and this way we can take the pertinent measures, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.



Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel is outdated, dirty, my bathroom had mold. Staff is extremely rude and not friendly, they do nothing to help you. We even had a major disagreement with the hotel restaurant and the waiter almost called us "Stupid" for not understanding their mandatory double tip policy (one for the restaurant staff and the other one for him). So adding 15 +15 % to a super expensive and tasteless meal was an insult.

Also the hotel is clearly understaffed, 1 clerk for check-in/out so the lines at the front desk are long and they don't care if you are a Marriot Member or not. So strongly recommended to avoid this hotel, as you don't get what you pay for, and you will be better off at a different hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. Sorry but there is nothing positive to say about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com; to understand in detail your problems and this way we can take the pertinent measures, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.



Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

When you check in into a JW Marriott you expect a pleasant stay. When you pay what you pay for this hotel, you expect something superb. But this JW Marriott will disappoint. The hotel is OK, but when you remember what you are paying, and you remember you are staying at a JW Marriott then you realize that OK will not do. A lot of work to be done in the details, service and elevators. During my stay only one of the elevators worked, making every trip up or down a never ending. Much to improve.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Address: Av Venezuela con Calle Mohedano | El Rosal, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Rosal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caracas
#1 Business Hotel in Caracas
#1 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
#5 Best Value Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Caracas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Caracas
Marriott Hotel Caracas
Marriott Caracas
Caracas Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.