We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel should not have JW Marriott name” 1 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Caracas to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Caracas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Venezuela con Calle Mohedano | El Rosal, Caracas 1060, Venezuela (El Rosal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Caracas
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel should not have JW Marriott name”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This can not be JW Marriott Hotel. It is so outdated and rundown place. Water leaks from the ceilings. You can see and smell mold. I had a executive lounge access. This executive lounge is a joke. I feel sorry for the folks working at this Hotel, since some of them tried very hard to support us with whatever little they had. It is not simply worth of $400 per night stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel. I had to stay 3 nights since I prepaid( to save from $540 per night to $4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com; to understand in detail your problems and this way we can take the pertinent measures, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.



Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    91
    52
    26
    10
See reviews for
42
66
42
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel is outdated, dirty, my bathroom had mold. Staff is extremely rude and not friendly, they do nothing to help you. We even had a major disagreement with the hotel restaurant and the waiter almost called us "Stupid" for not understanding their mandatory double tip policy (one for the restaurant staff and the other one for him). So adding 15 +15 % to a super expensive and tasteless meal was an insult.

Also the hotel is clearly understaffed, 1 clerk for check-in/out so the lines at the front desk are long and they don't care if you are a Marriot Member or not. So strongly recommended to avoid this hotel, as you don't get what you pay for, and you will be better off at a different hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. Sorry but there is nothing positive to say about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are sorry you had a bad experience during last your visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff of the JW Marriott Caracas, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us at: mhrs.ccsjw.dops@marriotthotels.com; to understand in detail your problems and this way we can take the pertinent measures, so we can best serve you and other guest in the future.

We really hope you can visit us again in the near future and give us the opportunity to erase that bad memory in our hotel.



Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

When you check in into a JW Marriott you expect a pleasant stay. When you pay what you pay for this hotel, you expect something superb. But this JW Marriott will disappoint. The hotel is OK, but when you remember what you are paying, and you remember you are staying at a JW Marriott then you realize that OK will not do. A lot of work to be done in the details, service and elevators. During my stay only one of the elevators worked, making every trip up or down a never ending. Much to improve.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The staff couldn't have been more helpful when I stayed and ran an event at the hotel. Very attentive and willing to help, as well as offering sensible advice on security. The rooms were a very good standard, maybe a bit tired in places but no big deal. Food was good and considering the challenges of running any business in Caracas this is very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Great view from upper floors but not for vertigo sufferers- floor to ceiling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This has to be the more overrated JW Marriott I have ever stayed in. It is very dated, smells moldy and needs some TLC very bad.

Overall the stay was OK in this clean property, but for those of you used to the JW luxury and outstanding service, you will certainly be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My first day I did a check out, nobody help with my luggage, not bellboys around.
The breakfast buffet is great, nice service. The room are big and comfortable, nice bathroom, very clean.
Comfortable amenities, restaurants, bar, pool a f gym.

I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Is far away to malls. And massive tranportacion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It is a JW Marriot that's all!
I stayed only one night in a suite for business. The hotel is excelent and safe, the bedroom is very good, but the bathroom is not so good compared to the bedroom.
In my room there were two wide screen television with satellite.
The WIFI connection was not included, It is horrible comparred to the cost of the room.
There is an expensive buffet resturant in the hotel.
The swimming pool is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Caracas

Address: Av Venezuela con Calle Mohedano | El Rosal, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > El Rosal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caracas
#1 Business Hotel in Caracas
#1 Spa Hotel in Caracas
#1 Family Hotel in Caracas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
#7 Best Value Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Caracas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Caracas
Marriott Hotel Caracas
Marriott Caracas
Caracas Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Caracas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.