We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars? Really?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Principal de las Mercedes | PO Box 467, Caracas 1060-A, Venezuela   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 86 hotels in Caracas
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“5 stars? Really?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I recently went on a business trip to Caracas. For some unknown reason every single hotel was fully booked and the only choice I found was this one.

USD 350 per night at one of the worst rooms I have seen in my entire life. Even a small country side motel in Georgia beats this hotel in a second.

Guys from Intercontinental: Do you have any idea of what's going on in Caracas? It's shocking that you still have your brand affiliated to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Denise.

Thank you for take a few minutes to share your experience in our Hotel. I offer you a sincere apology for can not offer you the service that you deserves. We recognize that, actually, we have some problems but I guarantee you that we are working hard to improve every day. We hope to see you soon back to let us show you that.

Kind regards,

Beatriz Vergara
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    53
    46
    66
    66
See reviews for
34
39
32
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The old glory of the past is what it is. I wonder if the administrators of this hotel have any idea what customer service is all about. The hotel boasts a five stars rating and it charges you about $352-$50 for such an honor. I stayed in the Hotel from May 27 to 31 and I had better experience at hotel rates at three stars. The front desk is oblivious to complains. For instance, upon objecting to the filth carpet, moldy room odor and chair with a disgusting grime, the front desk representative just excused his inability of providing an alternative room by boasting that the only room available was a downgrade from the one I was assigned. Food is overprice and mediocre. On the other hand, the bar at pool area has a magnificent view of the Avila Mountain. Although the hotel had a wonderful past, the current infrastructure is tired, old and lack comfort. Spending more than $350 for a room is just wasting money unless you have a load of it. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at al cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Good afternoon Mr. Adelmo.
At first, I would like to thank you to take a minutes of your time to tell us about your experience, and I ofer you a sincerely apology for the inconvinient at our Hotel, and I guarantee that your comments will be take in care to improve every they for all of you.

I hope to give us a new chance to probe that.

Regards,

Beatriz Vergara
Guest Relationship Manager
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I can see how this hotel divides opinions! There is a lot not to like!
- we tried to check in at 1 and were very bluntly told "check in is at 3", didn't even check to see if any rooms were available
- food varied between poor and good but was never better than good
- room was tired
- some or the running repairs were unbelievably amateurish
- wifi was s-l-o-w

On the plus side we were upgraded to the "executive" floor where breakfast was good and free soft drinks and snacks between 6 and 8 each night.

Overall though, what I really liked was the shabby charm of the place. Sitting beside the vary large pool with the noise of the city below and looking up at the hotel I felt like it could have been 1959 and I could have been one of the lucky few who could afford such luxury!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear (willgo79).

Thank you for take a few minutes of your time to send your review about your stay in our Hotel. We appreciate all the comments that our guest do because this is the best way to improve and that we can bring you a better quality of service.

We hope to see you soon in our Hotel to show you the improves in the details, like the check in, that your comment, is better. Our goal is improves to all of you every day.

Sincerely,

Beatriz Vergara
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Note to everyone staying in Hotel Tamanaco—stay in the updated rooms in the third floor. These rooms are clean and nicely furnished. The service I got was great—from the reception until checkout. The food was good too. I had the breakfast included rate, which is a varied breakfast buffet. I only had to stay in Caracas a few days and had business in Las Mercedes, so it was perfectly fine for my purposes. I get that a lot of people say the hotel looks tired, certainly the pool area shows its age. For me that is part of is charm. Tamanaco is certainly no flea bag, and if they keep working on remodeling its rooms it will become more competitive with respect to other hotels in Caracas. It was fine for my purposes and will definitely stay again. Tamanaco gets for me 3 stars for the facility, 5 stars for service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear (chicoantillano1984)

Thank you for your kind words about our Hotel. Of course we will continued in the remodelations because our goal is bring you the best experience when you stay far of home.

We will hope to see you soon in our hotel again.

Kind regards,

Beatriz Vergara
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had reserved two interconnecting rooms in the updated area of the hotel. However, for some unknown reason (probably because someone more important turned up) we were bumped from one of the rooms and "double upgraded" to one of the old suites. This meant that our kids would be 4 floors below - obviously not acceptable. The hotel then offered us a single room connecting to our "suite". So instead of being in the newly renovated part of the hotel (which is very pleasant, I understand), we found ourselves in rooms which haven't seen an upgrade in possibly 30 years. There is no word to describe the condition of the rooms other than "disgusting". The carpet was stained, the bathroom was old and dirty, there was only one lamp to light the whole lounge area, there was an opened can of coke in the fridge, there was rubbish on the floor, the table was so wobbly we were afraid to put anything on it.... I could go on. To add insult to injury, I had to ask for the additional bed 6 times before they finally brought it on our last night. My kids (16, 12) had to share a bed for a night. To be fair - the bed in the suite was comfortable and the room service was excellent.

To sum up - this hotel would be a good choice ONLY if you can secure one of the newly-reburbished rooms. Otherwise, avoid like the plague!

Room Tip: Only consider if you can guarantee a newly-refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Google Translation
Buen día estimado Sr. Cortes.

Inicialmente le agradezco que tomara unos minutos de su tiempo para comentarnos su reflexión sobre su estadía en nuestro Hotel. Por otra parte, ofrezco mis más sinceras disculpas en nombre de todo nuestro personal y reconozco que actualmente tenemos ciertas fallas, por muchas razones coyunturales.

Le pido que nos de una oportunidad de demostrarle que estas fallas se están trabajando para ofrecerle a todos nuestros huéspedes la mejor calidad de servicio, que merecen. Adicionalmente, le garantizo que sus comentarios serán tomados en cuenta para ser mejorados.

Muchas gracias nuevamente por su opinión.

Saludos,

Beatriz Vergara Pérez
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed in the new, re furnished and modern 3rd floor. When arriving, the front desk personal made me feel like at home. The rooms are nice, very clean and provide a great level of comfort. During my three week stayed, I tried all the type of dishes in the menu, which where at the quality of the dishes served at the Intercontinental in London. The service staff in the hotel always try there best to make your stay as good as possible. When I travel, I always ask my self the question of "if I had to come back, would I stay in this hotel" and the answer is YES. The overall experience, of a clean and modern room, with the advantage of a great service staff is what matters to me when the time comes to choose a hotel. Overall, I am very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Daniel.

I am very glad to know that your experience in our Hotel was great. All of us work to make the stay of our guests be as better as possible. I hope to see you soon in our Hotel again to bring you the best quality of service, that you deserves.

Thank you again for the kind words. It is always good know that our guest enjoy your stay.

Beatriz Vergara
Guest Relations
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It used to be a great hotel with great service and good rooms. Today it is living in the past. Rooms are old and tired. They need new carpets, new curtains and let's not mention the bathrooms!! They really need a full change. All in all very poor. My room was on the 6th floor and one night there was a wedding by the pool. Could not sleep. Live band and then loud music. Complained to reception and they just said to close the windows! Great service! I was told that rooms on the 3rd floor were refurbished but it would have cost me an extra US$150.00 per night to move! Crazy! The pool area is still great. Nice place to spend a Saturday or Sunday. Very relaxing. On my next trip I do not think I will stay at this hotel. Sorry!

Room Tip: If you can afford get a new refurbished room on the third floor. If not get ready for a surprise. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTamanaco, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Mauricio.

En nombre de todo el hotel le ofrezco mis más sinceras disculpas por no haber cumplido sus expectativas como nuestro huésped y reconozco que actualmente contamos con algunas fallas, en las cuales, le garantizo, hemos estado trabajando arduamente para poder brindarles el trato que ustedes merecen.

Muchas gracias por tomarse un tiempo para comunicarnos sus impresiones; y lo invito a que nos de una oportunidad de brindarle una mejor calidad de servicio y atención, adecuada a sus requerimientos.

Beatriz Vergara
Guest Relation
Hotel Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas

Address: Avenida Principal de las Mercedes | PO Box 467, Caracas 1060-A, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamanaco InterContinental Caracas is a tropical oasis in the heart of one of the city s most prestigious shopping, entertainment and business districts. The majestic Avila Mountain is accessible by cable car, and attractions such as the historic town of Hatillo, the Museum of Fine Arts and the San Ignacio Commercial Centre are an easy drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tamanaco Caracas Hotel Caracas
Intercontinental Caracas
Caracas Tamanaco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Tamanaco Caracas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.