We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Eugenio Mendoza Con Calle Urdaneta | La Castellana, Caracas 1060, Venezuela (Chacao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 85 hotels in Caracas
belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel is very nice in a safe area of Caracas. The rooms where spacious and well equipped.
Breakfast was by far one of the best buffets I have ever seen. A real top hotel !

The only downside is the rate. It is very expensive for an hotel in South America. For that rate I can not understand why I had to pay for a small power plug to connect my European devices to the power. It only cost 1US but still when the room costs more then 400US a night this could have been a complementary service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    62
    22
    5
    12
See reviews for
16
29
6
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Córdoba, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Overpriced, cold all the time, no free wifi, expensive, rude staff, and full of… mosquitos! They even "wake you up" at 10am to ask you what time you are going to leave. Terrible experience, totally not worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Do yourself a favor by not going to this horrible "hotel". The elevators are very slow, the food is of less quality than the hot dog vendor down the street, and they have no clue about customer service. I made a mistake to ask for room service the day I arrived, for a two day stay, after I forced myself to eat the junk, I put the tray outside my door, it stayed there UNTIL I LEFT. When I checked in, I was told that wifi is only available in the "business center", went there and found out that the info was wrong, it is only available in the "nice conducive to do business lobby". The rate is outragous for the crab of facility it is. If you need to go to Caracas for business, go to Euro Building and Lido Hotel. Forget about this "hotel". Sorry for the Renaissance brand, I used them a lot, this is a big stain on their reputation. AWFULL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

For $460 a night you should 1) get wifi in your room 2) not be charged extra for a cord cable internet connection and 3) at least get the breakfast for free after the disapointment. ..... Non of that happened.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed at the Renaissance for 6 nights with a group of Head Teachers and teachers from the UK on a Connecting Classrooms exchange visit.
First impresion of the lobby / loubg-bar area was that it was impressive, opulent and fab. As the days rolled by, the area seemed more and more impersonal and charmless. It is designd for effect in looks rather than comfort.
The rooms are clean and well-furnished. I shared with a colleague and we had a double bed each. The bathroom was disappointing and there was no bath. The walk-in shower was good but by the end of the week I was longing for a good soak in a hot bath!
We arrived in Venezuela without Bolivars and were relying on the British Council to help us change our dollars. The first two night, we were almost confined to the hotel as colleagues who had been to Venezuela before were reluctant to venture out and use their credit cards to pay (we also waited for the nod that the area was safe to go out in!
Thew prices in the hotel let it down for us. The cheapest bottle of wine was 300 bolivars (at an exchange rate of 4.2 dollars to the bolivar, that is quite a price - and it wasn't even good wine!)
Internet access cost 19 dollars per day. At breakfast, we asked for water and were brought small bottles then charged for them (equivalent of about £3)
The hotel seems to be used widely for business people and conferences. The restaurant food was okay but not worth the prices charged for quite small portions of 'asian' food.
This hotel is in a relatively 'safe' area of Caracas. There are some restaurants nearby. the best one is the Chinese on the corner.
This hotel wopuld have been given a better rating if the prices of everything had not been so exorbitant!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hotel is the best and cleanest for business, however it's a rip off. This is due to the fact that there just aren't any hotels up to par in Caracas. Supply/demand - if you're in town for business, it's worth staying here in a safe environment. Caracas as a whole, is to be avoided unless you go for business.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Hotel is well placed, on a safe and quite nice neighborhood.

PROS
-The staff is quite competent and trained, as you can expect on any chain hotel.
-The rooms are well appointed, with plasma TV, a desk and Wired (only) internet.
-The linen and bedding are excellent, with a high thread count.

CONS:
-The walls are paper thin, and you can actually hear someone sneezing next door.
-Avoid floor 25th, as it is right below the events room on the top floor, and you will not be able to sleep because of the noise.
-No WI-FI in the rooms, just on the common areas

It is a good choice, on a rough city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel

Address: Av. Eugenio Mendoza Con Calle Urdaneta | La Castellana, Caracas 1060, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Capital Region > Caracas > Chacao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 85 hotels in Caracas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Caracas La Castellana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.