We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and very organized.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teleferico

Teleferico
Final Avenida Principal de Mariperez, Caracas 1080, Venezuela
58 212 901 5555
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 83 Attractions in Caracas
Type: Trams, Other
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and very organized.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The cable cart experience is fantastic. The view whlie you are going up or down is beautiful and shows you most of Caracas, while you also have fantastic green mountains scenarios. But the experience does not end in the cart itself, one you arrive to the top, you have a great environment with nice food and hot chocolate everywhere, and an overall experience that you must have if you visit Venezuela.

Warning: If you are a foreigner and do not speak spanish, I highly recommend you have a local friend to go with you. You might not find too many people that can speak English there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    271
    141
    24
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San antonio tx
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“So beautiful worth the time!! Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Its great I would say bring a jacket! Its cold up there and they have a lot of stuff to do up there from eating to ice skating! My wife is from here and we walked up half way and took a truck the rest and was such a good time! And we wend down as the sun was setting ;) deff must do

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Fantastic !!! Worth every minute the visit.amazing views and great food. Definitely a place to see, I love the fresh air and beautiful views of the city on one side and the ocean on the other.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had time to make the trip on the Teleferico, it has some amazing views and worth the time, was hoping for some more views of the city up top but was not able to find many. Either way the trip up and down leave plenty of opportunities to see it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A must in Caracas, but give yourself enough time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

A 1 hour wait in line for tickets and another hour once in side to board the gondola.

I had a really good time on this trip. Caracas in general is corrupt and the money system is horrible, but this tour was well worth the trip.

I was visiting 5 countries on this trip so I spent the whole day around Avila.

Let me make a suggestion if you have time. Go to the Teleferico at 9am to board around 11am. 45 Bolivares for the trip. 25 or so minutes to the top.

When you get off go left and jump on a jeep to Galipan. 5 or so minute ride will cost you 10 Bolivares. Hang out there for a little, nice shops and sites then jump on a bother jeep and head down to the beach. Playa Macuto. 35-45 minute ride down the mountain. It will cost you around 30 Bolivares one way, 60 round trip. But only pay one way and get the mobile number of your driver and they will most likey meet you and pick you up.

The ride is a little bumpy but set for some great photos.

I jumped on the jeeps with 7 people from Belarus and we stayed at Playa Macuto from 12p-4p enough time to relax and see a lot. Get yourself a temporary tattoo on the beach. A guy will air brush you for 10 Bolivares.

At 4pm we headed all the way back up to the Teleferico and walk about 5 minutes to Hotel Humbolt. It was under renovation when I went, but the views along the way are breath taking.

Sit on the wall and grab some ice cream or hot chocolate as it is a but cold up there. Bring a hoodie. And bring shoes and flip flops of I go to the beach. It's mostly rocky and not really comfortable without flip flops.

Stay on top of Avila to enjoy the sunset and them get back in the nearly 2 hour long line down the Gondola. It's very pretty to see Caracas at night all lit up.

Safe travels,
Jerry

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teleferico also viewed

 

Been to Teleferico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teleferico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.