We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Movida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla El Gran Roque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Movida
Save
You added Posada Movida to your Saves list
La Laguna | Casa 136, Los Roques National Park, Isla El Gran Roque 00582372211016, Venezuela   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service and host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

I loved Los Roques but I loved even more that I was able to arrange everything from 5.000Km of distance :)
The food was fantastic! And they can arrange for vegetarians! Would go back any day...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
188
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Wonderful place, and my husband and i think, that Posada Movida is the best place on Gran Roque. Very comfortable room, the magnificent meal, one of the best boats for the trips. The staff is very frandly. Owners concern the guests as to the best friends. Breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinners - all the best. In the room - hot water, AC,WI-FI. We are very gratefull owner Mario for our vacation in Venezuela.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed 10 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. There's quite a wide range of posada experiences you can find in Los Roques and this place is probably at the top end of what you can get on the island.

In essence it's a B&B that provides ensuite bedrooms with a communal dining area. There's a roof terrace that has hammocks and seats but most guests tend to use the ground floor seating or their own rooms. The web site photos are accurate, so if you're happy with that level of accomodation/service then this place is ideal.

Our room was functional, with a solid bed and separate bathroom. Hanging space was limited, but for this part of the world the dress code is so casual it hardly matters. In the bathroom the water seemed to be heated by solar power, so its usually cold-ish showers in the morning. It took us a couple of days to adapt, but after that we hardly noticed this. The bedrooms are windowless with panels and latticed sky lights that open up onto an open air corridor to allow in fresh air. All rooms have a/c units to keep the temperature down.

As most of the guests are Italian you'd expect the quality of the cooking to be good and in this respect the posada exceeded our expectations. What they produce from a small kitchen adjacent to the communal dining room is remarkable both in quality and size for something in this price range. Food is generally served on large platters, so you can help yourself to as much as you want. Dinners included lots of classic Italian dishes and fresh fish every day. However, it's the service that really makes this place stand out, with nothing being too much trouble for Mario and his team.

The posada offers a 'full board' experience, with breakfast, a packed lunch and evening dinner all part of the deal - including wine, beer and soft drinks. The daily routine is very much an 'early rise, early to bed' type of thing. Breakfast is at 8.15am, and dinner around 7.30pm most days. The posada has its own boat that takes guests as a group to various locations around the archipelago. However, if you want to do your own thing then Mario can arrange individual boat trips.

In summary it's a lovely place to stay in a wonderful Caribbean location.

Room Tip: Bring your own laptop or iPad if you want internet access. There's a free wifi facility but as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Los Roques is an amazing place to visit anyway but by staying at Posada Movida made our holiday all the better - it was a wonderfully relaxing experience. You get looked after by everyone at Movida from when you start to make your reservation to when you leave. The hospitality and food was always top quality and if relaxation is what you're after then this is the place to stay as you don't have to think or worry about anything, you can just relax and enjoy the amazing Los Roques. Will definitely return one day!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed in this fabulous posada in February, the owners who live there are very kind and very attentive to all sorts of guests.
The location is not the sea but the quality is so high that he is by no importance.
They offer a unique service every day with a boat pretty good lead those who stay at the beautiful atolls of their structure, the marine park is protected and is a true paradise.
Once you have arrived on the atoll is served everything from great dining services to stay on remote atolls throughout the day or according to your needs even half a day.
In the evening the atmosphere is intimate and welcoming Posada, the desire to go out, you can then stay on the terrace above the This accommodation to enjoy a fine drink.
Perfect place to stay in a group of islands so special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011 via mobile

Great hospitality and organization,in a charming posada offering a great service and a fantastic cuisine freshly cooked by Francesca the Italian chef.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed at Posada Movida for 7 nights. Good food, service and familiar atmosphere. Mario took care of everything, always with a happy face! Daily trips to paradise islands with good boat and perfect lunch in coolbox. Nice clean room with AC and private bathroom. Quiet location for a good night sleep.

My husband recommends flyfishing for bonefish!

Los Roques is really a relaxed and beatiful place, we compare it with the Maldives! White beaches and clear turquoise water. You need a high sunblock, at least 30. You also need to have local currancy on the island, but it´s easy to exchange... black market much better exchange rate... Don´t forget to keep about 200 bolivres pp for leaving the international airport in Caracas. And it also costs about 160 bolivres pp to enter Los Roques, they only accept local currancy.

We will return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Movida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Movida

Address: La Laguna | Casa 136, Los Roques National Park, Isla El Gran Roque 00582372211016, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Los Roques National Park > Isla El Gran Roque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Isla El Gran Roque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the posada has 6 rooms with air condition and private bathroom , we offer very good relation price respect quality and services offered to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Movida Hotel Isla El Gran Roque
Posada Movida Los Roques National Park, Venezuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Movida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.