We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of lti Costa Caribe Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added lti Costa Caribe Beach Hotel to your Saves list
lti Costa Caribe Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Altagracia | Playa Caribe, Margarita Island 6309 , Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 89 Hotels in Margarita Island
Brigg, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

this resort was absolutely amazing. the hotel was clean, the food was great, the beach was fabulous, the hotel staff were amazing and very amusing and the entertainment was great. i could not fault the service at all. there was a great offer of excursions which were reasonably priced. would definately recommend and i would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    174
    147
    137
    269
See reviews for
239
306
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Visited this hotel it was great >Friendly Staff and the place was just lovely>Spacious and the food was really good.Lovely activities for the entire family>Will visit again>The place is clean and the beach is just a gate away if you don't want to bathe in the pool and swim up to the bar lol>Just love that place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The showers were cold with no water pressure I used a bandaid to cover holes in shower head just to get a little water pressure .The pool was being filled with a electrical water pump that had several spots in the wires taped a sure electrical hazard.There was no Internet access unless you had a phone or iPad .i didn't want mine stolen.there were armed guards on the beach.i suffered with intestinal issues after I got back to Canada.The airport hand searched our bags (250 people)twice we were delayed 4 hours .this was not paradise but hell buyer beware!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel does not live up to the 4-star standard it claims.
The building is asking for a general refurbishment and there were cases of theft during my stay which did not make it better.
The swimming pool was not very clean although the beach was pretty nice. The area outside the hotel was not very safe.
After a few days I tried to avoid eating at the hotel as much as possible. What I had was mostly on the cold side and it seemed like the food from the morning and mid-day became the supper. At the same time, there was constant lack of cutlery so even if I wanted to eat something, I could not.
In general – you won’t do wrong avoiding it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Firstly I stayed in this hotel back in 2008 so it was some time ago and by the looks of it things haven't changed that much.
We travelled as a family, myself (being 3 months pregnant), husband and our 18 month old daughter.

When we eventually got there we have to queue out of the reception to check in, and as we were one of the last of the coach (we had to wait last because we had a small child and it was a mad rush to get off the coach). The waiters brought out some champagne but as we were at the back of the queue they ran out and we didn't get a glass nor an apology.

Our room was dark and dingy - very depressing. Only 1 light in the bathroom worked and it was filthy. The hot water worked when it felt like it so some night I had to wash my daughter in the sink with luke warm water. There was cockroaches and ants everywhere.

One night a drunken man mistook our room for his, he was banging on the door for ages, the locks were very flimsy and I was actually worried that he might have been able to get in. I called reception to send over security but when he eventually showed up (after 3 calls) the man had disappeared.

The pool was disgusting. I would have kept my daughter out of it but being there for 2 weeks and not much else going on I had no choice but to let her in.
There was a film of sunscreen round the water line, and the cleaners would come out with a broom to remove the sticky residue. My daughters swim suits were so badly stained I had to chuck all her costumes away when we returned home.

The food was ver poor with hardly any variety. The entertainment was a little near the mark on several occasions. No nightly disco.
4.30pm til 7pm nothing at all going on, from 7pm till 12 the pool bar is open and if you fancy a little night cap forget it. It all shuts up at 12!

The hotel is next door to a shanty town, it dangerous to leave the complex and to get anywhere you have to either take a taxi or coach. When we did decided to get the coach into town we queued outside. I was holding my daughter and had a visible bump too, the South Americans who were staying in the hotel at the time literally pushed me out of the way so they could get on the coach first.

Overall I would NEVER recommend this hotel - especially when travelling with children - of any age!

Room Tip: Find another holiday!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Although I went there in Dec 2008, and maybe things have changed... It was a great place to visit, clean beach, clean rooms, beautiful beach, lots of excursions, amazing food, fun night time entertainment, safe, etc etc etc. Thats why I came to this website because I really want to go back! I see alot of negative comments on here which shocks me. The only thing I didn't like is that when I went, there were so many North American and Europeans, at times it really didn't feel much like I was actually in South America! That bothered me a bit, but it depends what your looking for. Overall I would, and have recommended this resort. I hope to be back very soon.

Either way I love this place, couldnt ever imagine writing a bad review for it

Room Tip: get a beach or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia, Europe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

In august 2009 we booked the Lti Costa Caribe Beach Hotel for 3 weeks. When we arrived they gave, after a long procedure of checking in, a room in the front line by the sea. It is not a 4 star hotel, but it is ok. Our room was big, clean, but the hotel definitely needs to be renovated. We got room on the ground floor with big terrace. Couple of times we even find cockroaches in our room, but when we shut the ventilating fan in the bathroom, we didn't have any more problems with cockroaches.

The biggest problem for was the pool - very low level of water. The HIGHEST level of the water in the pool was around 60 or 70 cm - to the middle of my leg!!! Helloooooo?! The beach is nice, with security guard. The beach is on the Atlantic ocean, a bit colder and more waves than other beach on the island.

On weekends a lot of local guests come into the resort and then it is terribly crowded in the hotel, especially in the restaurant. The food got a bit repetitive after a while, however most of times you could find something you liked.

Staff is another issue. Most of the staff doesn't speak English, so I wish you a lot of luck in communication with them. I must say that the animators in the hotel were very good and during the 3 weeks stay (and we watched show every night) all shows were different and excellent.

There are a lot of iguanas and lizard, but there are harmless. The parrots were lovely too. There were also stray dogs on the beach, but they didn’t bother anyone, they were just looking for some shade, usually under my sun bed.

We took a rent a car for 3 days and explore the whole island - we didn't have any problems with the police or somebody else during our trip by car. But you have to be careful on the road, because they are strange drivers. We also went to Delta Orinoco (jungle) and the trip was magnificent.

Advice: Do not change your money into bolivars at the airport, bank, and hotel reception - you better go to the town to a decent restaurant or bar and ask the waiter in the restaurant, cafe, etc., if he knows somebody who can change the money into bolivars - they don't speak English, but trust me, they will understand what do you want. They always (that was our experience) know somebody who does change the money - the official rate in august 2009 for 100 euro was 220 bolivars, not official rate (so called black market) in the restaurant was around 600 bolivars. It is a big difference. But do not, I repeat DO NOT, change the money on the street, even if somebody approaches to you and offers you a good rate.

The departure from Isla Margarita was something special. When we arrived to the airport first our luggage were searched by army - you have to open your luggage and they search everything (they are looking for drugs!!) At the check in you have to pay the departure tax - in august 2009 the departure tax was 60 euro per person. Keep in mind your luggage weight - we paid for 10 extra kilos 100 dollars. Then we had hand luggage screening via machine and body search and then immigration to show passport. In the waiting room there was couple of random calls out for a passenger to have luggage rechecked by police (they are looking for drugs!!) - we were called in we had to go to one small room, where were couple of policeman and soldiers and we had to put our hands in some kind of white powder and after that we could leave.

Margarita Venezuela is very nice island and I will come back, but not to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to lti Costa Caribe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Costa Caribe Beach Hotel

Address: Via Altagracia | Playa Caribe, Margarita Island 6309 , Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 89 Hotels in Margarita Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — lti Costa Caribe Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your lti Costa Caribe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lti Costa Caribe Beach
Costa Caribe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lti Costa Caribe Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.