We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Great fun for the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Isla Navidad Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Isla Navidad Resort to your Saves list
Grand Isla Navidad Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Circuito de los Marinos S/N | Fracc. Isla Navidad, Isla Navidad 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Navidad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Great fun for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We spent the first week of July at this hotel. I live in Guadalajara, Mexico which is a large and fast pace city with heavy traffic so I was really looking to get some peace and quiet (hard to do with 2 young kids!). This hotel is wonderful for someone that wants to get away; the pools are great for the kids. There is also an adult pool with bar and many other activities for adults that I was unfortunately unable to enjoy :)
One word of caution on the adult pool, there are 2 shallow navy blue circles that would appear to be a way to get in to the pool...but they really aren't. It is more like a spot for folks to gather around and have their drinks. Since I was unaware and quickly tried to get in the pool and I slipped, fortunately no major issues...but just wanted to highlight this as accidents during a vacation can be a pain.
They also have a kids club for kids over 4 years old. During my stay everything was very relaxed, never felt crowded.
The hotel is located on a lagoon, so if you are looking for the beach you can take a super quick and inexpensive ride in boat to Barra de Navidad. I particularly enjoyed the lagoon because of my young children, they were able to play in the lagoon and make their sand castles without me having to watch them every 5 seconds to make sure a wave didn't crash on them.
This hotel is not all inclusive, but I found the prices to be fare...they are pretty much what you would pay for at a restaurant in a mall in Guadalajara. The food is tasty; I particularly enjoyed the Sushi bar at the lobby bar.
My husband and I enjoyed our stay and agreed that we will definitely be coming back and make it one of our frequent vacationing spots.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    104
    37
    18
    10
See reviews for
77
153
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loreto, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We highly recommend the hotel... Jorge at the Front Desk, Vidal at the Pool Bar and Mary our housekeeper maid our stay unforgettable..!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deland, fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We stayed at this resort for a week. Was a beautiful resort with really nice staff. Enjoyed the short boat ride to the neighboring town where you could take taxi to anywhere you would like to go. Beautiful views, great pool, and wonderful food. Definately want to go back.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Accommodations very clean, very private. Hotel always quiet, therefore, NOT touristy, which we prefer. The grounds are meticulously cared for,as well as being very plush and beautiful. The staff works very hard to keep this hotel looking like a star. Staff very attentive and personable. Antonio's, their fine dining restaurant, is wonderful. The other plus is being taken across the lagoon in less than a minute to Barro Navidad, a clean & friendly Mexican town. You definitely feel the flavor of Mexico here. The pool at the resort is wonderful and the amenities at this resort are bountiful. Only negative is the beach/ocean in Barro. It's steep, ocean not conducive to swimming there but we took a 15 min taxi (cheap) to Melanque' where the beach is nice, the ocean calm and palapas that serve great beers and Mexican food. Also, some very good restaurants in Barro.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

This was such a great find. We stayed here in February of 2010 It was the best of both worlds. The Hotel is absolutely Grand! The room was a suite with all the extras! The bathroom even had a bidet! Our balcony overlooked the yacht club.The sunrise was incredible in the morning! The best thing was you can take a water taxi to Barr Navidad and enjoy the lovely laid back town.Lots of old hippies here! Great little restaurants. The water taxi is 20 peso round trip that is less than 2 dollars. We read about it in Trip Advisor. We did eat at the hotel one night. After spending time in Mexico it was hard to pay American prices for our dinner. It was the most expensive meal. The service was excellent and the atmosphere a little pretensious. The food however while served beautifully was just okay. To get to this Hotel you have to go through a very long maze of streets. Getting in and out by car took at least 15 minutes!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

We have stayed at the Grand Bay for the past 8 years so obviously we are very satisfied. Pictures do not do this elegant ,traditional ,luxury hotel justice. This is a truely outstanding hotel. We do several trips/cruises a year incuding the usual 4 to 5 star all inclusives. If you are looking for a "belly up to the food trough/all you can drink all -inclusive" then this is NOT your hotel. At the Grand Bay you are pampered and your every need is taken care of. This AAA Four DIAMOND hotel is built around and into a 10 storey hillside. Gone are the square sterile hallways other places have. Here are 30 foot wide garden walkways connecting the numerous rooms and suites. The entire hotel is spacious with waterfalls, gardens, trees and bushes everywhere. We prefer a suite overlooking the hotels private marina in order to take advantage of the spectacular sunrise over the mountains. We do not golf but a ride out to the 27 hole course and clubhouse is a must. Everyone we talk to are impressed with its design and facilities. The hotel has three immaculate tennis courts, beach volleyball area, a huge gym and spa plus three seperate swimming pools. The main pool consists of 3 levels connected by waterslides and has the swim up bar, volleyball/polo and water exercise ares. If you prefer a little privacy then go up one floor to the "Dolhpin "pool or total quiet and luxury go up to the tenth floor ( across the sky bridge ) pool which is truely magnificent surrounded by palms and gardens. If boating is your thing the marina is worth a look at. I have seen many vessels of the 100 to 150 foot range ( the largest was 220ft including landing pad ) tied up in the hotels private marina. There are full services for both sail and power. If I have any negative comment, believe me it is petty, is the lack of casual evening dining. There are two very exclusive restaurants - Antonio's and the Terrace- however we do like a change during our 2 week stay. Fortino"s in Collimila - about a 100 yards outside the hotel ( 5 min walk) serves the best coconut shrimp or a 60 second ( 10 peso) water taxi ride across the harbour/lagoon channel takes you to Barra de Navidad and dozens of restaurants, clubs and shops. Our favorite "hole in the wall" is Mexico Lindo. You may have to wait a couple of minutes but is well worth it as I am sure it is the most popular and economical place in town. A mile down the beach or a 6 pesos "chicken bus" ride takes you to Melaque, a larger beach town and dozens of clubs and other places to explore. However back to the Grand Bay Hotel. Yes we certainly recommend this place for a quiet luxurious elegant and extemely safe holiday. Please feel free to contact us via TripAdvisor for any questions.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Coteau, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The hotel was "fabuloso" - it's situated, however on 300 acres and leaving the place by hotel transport is pricey. I would rent a car next time. There is access by "panga" or small boat from the hotel to an isle situated on a sandbar located across the bay from the hotel, however. This "panga" operates 24 hrs a day (20 pesos per trip) and $1.75 one can experience "old Mexico" there with shops, restaurants, bars, and transport boats that take guests tor various little fishing towns along the coasts, including Manzinillo, Colima, etc. The ocean was a bit cool in December, as were the various pools, altho the kids didn't seem to notice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Isla Navidad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isla Navidad Resort

Address: Circuito de los Marinos S/N | Fracc. Isla Navidad, Isla Navidad 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Isla Navidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Navidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Isla Navidad Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Isla Navidad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Manzanillo
Manzanillo Wyndham
Isla Navidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Isla Navidad Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.