We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Navidad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Isla Navidad to your Saves list
Isla Navidad
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Circuito de los Marinos S/N, Isla Navidad 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Navidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved the quiet ambiance of this resort. No screaming kids or loud blaring music. Food was out of this world. Antonio's is a must for elegant dining. Got to love the a la carts (especially lunch) all day long without reservations. Anything shrimp on the menu was excellent. Service was great. Jaime especially took really good care of us. The boat taxi to Barra de Navidad is only (3 minute ride) 30 pesos return per person and is where one will find all of the night life. Will definitely go back to this resort. Mini bar is not included so plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Ask for 6th or 7th floor looking over the Marina. Stunning sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    65
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
43
99
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We flew our cessna 185 into Manzanillo and took a taxi to Isla Navidad, which used to be called Grand Bay. Grand Bay is an excellent name for this place! It was about a 40 minute ride but the scenery is really pretty....lots of banana trees and coconut trees. When you arrive, they greet you with a cold wash cloth and a beverage. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Your bed will be turned down with a chocolate on your pillow. This was our third or fourth time to stay there. It is low season so the rates were very good. The grounds are just beautiful/breath-taking. Lots to do or just sit by the pools. You will enjoy being pampered!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms in this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been home a week and I wish I was back at this resort! The resort was very clean and well laid out. The staff were nothing but helpful and friendly. The food at the buffet and restaurants was awesome. The rooms were spotless and very large including the bathroom. The beach was small but had numerous cabanas and chairs. The pool very clean and again a lot of loungers as well as tables and chairs .
For people who want a lot of daytime and night time action this is not the resort for you but is the reason why we would absolutely return. We did not play golf but the people we talked to raved about the course.
We really enjoyed the fact that we could hope into a water taxi for$3.00 and enjoy the town which has a lot to offer without the feel of a big tourist trap. It would be a town where we would feel comfortable renting a condo and staying a month,
When I say that the staff were friendly, they went above the norm, for example, the Thai restaurant had closed for the week but the manager arranged for us to have the priveledge of ordering of off the menu and having it served to us on the terrace.
Hopefully we will have the oppurtunity to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the marina side and on a higher floor, 6 and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments,
We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful and memorable vacation, which only gives us more reasons to continue providing personalized and friendly service in such beautiful property.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Grand Isla Navidad Resort.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort is very nice, well landscaped, the rooms are large, clean and well kept with nice balconies and very comfortable beds. The food was excellent, with a great selection.
There is plenty of shade around the pool and at the small lagoon beach. It is a very scenic and quiet area for a relaxing holiday. If you are a beach person you may want to take the water taxi over to the large beach in the town of Barra. There is a nice local market over in the town as well.
The only complaint we had was to unlock the bar fridge and use it just to keep water and medication cold they wanted $10 per day.
This resort is great value for money and I would highly recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a very scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your last visit to the Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you have had a great vacation at our beautiful resort, and look forward to receive you again at Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is very pretty! The beach is perfect for kids, the food is wonderful and the rooms are spacious, clean and nice. The downside is the pillows are way to hard, the wifi does not work at all and staff is not helpful. We were there for new years and there were not enough beach side chairs, so that was uncomfortable.
I would return because of the beach and the food but with no expectations with the service or wifi.
A boat ride away is a local restaurant colimilla that is great!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your visit to the Grand Isla Navidad Resort. We are very pleased to hear that in overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate your valuable comments regarding the areas that we need to improve, be sure that your feedback will help us offer a better experience to our guests.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Grand Isla Navidad Resort.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fantastic time at this resort , yes it is a little dated in places , but overall it is quite nice . The room we had and also our friends room , were very nice , the only complaint was the mini bar fridge , it would be nice if it was included with the stay . I would have to say though that the room probably had the most cupboard space for our cloths , that we have ever experienced in a hotel room , the room quite large , and a beautiful bathroom. I don't know whats up with the negative comments about the beds, I loved it , nice and firm with just enough softness .
The service at the resort was great , we were taken care of like royalty , now I am not sure if it would have been the same had the resort been to full capacity. From the very minute when we pulled up with the rental car , and they emptied it out , drove the car to there parking lot , it was valet parking all week , they even washed the car and cleaned the windows throughout the week . Check in was fast , everyone was very helpful , and professional .
The resort ground are stunning , golf course was nice , and some very scenic places to take some beautiful pictures . For a smaller resort , under 200 rooms, it sure looked and felt bigger .
If there was one place that I would say they could improve , where it would be hard to fault the rest of this place , would be this one , the swim up bar ,pool bar , they should give it a make over . It has absolutely no class , like the rest of the resort . I think even when it was in good shape , would have been an eye sore .And when they are giving it a make over , redo some of the tiles in the pool itself .
The food was very good , my wife being a very picky eater , and loved the food, sure gives it a thumbs up .
We did not swim in the lagoon , water looked a little murky, just used the pool. If you are beach people , either you take the water taxi across to a large beach , or go else where , this beach wont thrill you .
We have gone away down south , at least once a year, for over 20 years , and would say that it is not the best spot we have ever stayed at , but value for money one of the best . It is a nice hotel , great location , very happy we went there , I would highly recommend this place to any friends or family .

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I would like to thank you for sharing with Trip Advisor's community your experience in detail about your recent stay at the Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the surroundings; this area indeed offers unique vistas and Experiences.
We also appreciate your valuable comments regarding the improvement of the pool bar. We already are replacing the tiles and expecting the work to be competed in the next months.
We are looking forward to welcome you again this unique Mexican Destination.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this resort and were very impressed. Our room had a living room, dining room, kitchen, bedroom and bath and a half, with a huge veranda and several balconies. The property is very well maintained. Our room was always cleaned early in the morning while we were at breakfast. The breakfast was included and was excellent with many things to choose from including made to order omelettes. They offered yoga in the mornings and also other classes such as water aerobics and Zumba, all taught in English. I would recommend bringing snacks and drinks as there isn't really anywhere to buy anything to eat at night except for the restaurant which is pricey. It is good for a nice dinner though and has beautiful music with a live quartet. You can take tours or take a boat taxi into Barra de Navidad. There are several hammocks around the property. We didn't have any problems with noise at night, it was very quiet. The lobby is elegant with a bar and piano music at night. Very nice hotel, we would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaNavidad-Gerente, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your last visit at Grand Isla Navidad Resort. It is very nice to hear you enjoyed the time with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon. This beautiful paradise will always receive you as your home in Mexico.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Isla Navidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Navidad

Address: Circuito de los Marinos S/N, Isla Navidad 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Isla Navidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Navidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Isla Navidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Isla Navidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Manzanillo
Manzanillo Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Navidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.