We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury is in the details” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Isla Navidad Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Isla Navidad Resort to your Saves list
Grand Isla Navidad Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Circuito de los Marinos S/N | Fracc. Isla Navidad, Isla Navidad 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Navidad
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Luxury is in the details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Well, I stayed here 6 days and had an overall great experience. But... there are a few things that need to be fixed for this place to live up to all the hype. Our first night here we had diner at the hotel rest. Food was good but took 45 mins to be ready. The next days we had diner at dif restaurants at Barra de Navidad. One day we had lunch by the pool. I had the most horrible pizza ever. The cheese was distgusting and the bread was kind of wet? Ughh. The hotel grounds are absolutely gorgeaus and well kept. The pool is like a river interconnected by slides. The beach its like any normal Pacific coast beach: bland. The rooms are very comfy but the ac doesnt get as cold as I would like and the shower leaks water in the bathroom from under the door so we had to "carpet" the floor with towels. There was an "alacran" in out tub. I had room 508 and the view is really pretty. The wifi only works in the lobby and pool area.

I would come back, but they have to update the rooms and fix little details like the ones I stated above. This hotel is not for party animals. Its for relaxing and enjoying the view.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R0land_Bernard, General Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the surroundings of this beautiful bay.
We always appreciate feedback from our clients, especially when we did not meet your expectations so that we can look into what we have done wrong and make immediate changes.
Thank you for letting us know the room number you have stayed in so that we could check and make improvements on the A/C, the shower and WIFI problems in this specific room.
As to your dining and lunch experience I would like to apologies for the low service and the quality of the pizza, our F & B manager and I will look into it and make proper correction to improve this area of opportunity.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor community and ourselves.
Look forward to receive you at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
Roland Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    107
    41
    18
    10
See reviews for
86
155
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were lucky to be able to spend three days at this amazing hotel. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the marina filled with beautiful yachts & sailboats and the staff beyond friendly and professional. The hotel has every amenity one would want - gorgeous pool, lazy hammocks by the lagoon, tennis courts, fitness facilities and water taxis to take one across the lagoon to the pretty town of Barra de Navidad. a wonderful find on the Pacific coast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding your latest stay at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, activities and the surroundings of this beautiful bay on the Pacific coast.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Roland Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Bay. Our initial thought when arriving by boat shuttle was "Fantasy Island". It lived up to that description each and every day. The hotel and grounds were picturesque. The service was intimate, whether it was the hotel upgrading us to the Presidential Suites, the activities coordinator(David) who took us on a great bike tour and greeted us everyday as friends, or (Juan) one of the friendly security guards who always had a smile and some great conversation, or the singing duo pumping out great tunes in the lobby bar. Jorge (the manager) was not only visible but arranged meet and greets and happy hour. He was a special part of this hotel. The A la Carte (Antonios) was probably the best meal we had all week, with top notch service, including the best Flambay Crepes made right at our table. We have stayed in a lot of all inclusive resorts and this hotel is just a cut above. It gives you the personal service that you expect in a 5 Star Resort. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway - this place is for you. If you feel the need to party - you simply take the two minute shuttle into Barra de Navidad. There is plenty in this quaint little Mexican town. Absolutely loved this trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review in regards to your latest stay at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed a pleasant and tranquil vacation with us, but specially the warmth and friendliness of our people, which is definitely our most important Hallmark. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with the entire team and specially with David, Juan, Trish and Gordon to let them know how valuable their contribution was to create everlasting memories for you at the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort.
On Behalf of the entire team at the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort, we thank you for your visit and look forward to receiving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
Gerente General F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Was there from Feb 27th-March 6th... This place is absolutley fabulous. Any reviews you might read that say anything less are the usual complainers that will always find something to whine about because that is their personality (not happy unless they have something to complain about) facilities, service, food, staff, rooms and the complete package are all 5 star. I normally do not write reviews and I travel once a year (always 41/2 star or better) but when read about some reviews that pick this place apart I felt compelled to let everyone know that this place is top notch. We will be back next year!!!

Room Tip: Pool or marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Grand Bay is a 200 room first class hotel about 40 minutes from the Manzanillo airport. Rooms are large, well equipped, with free internet ( a little slow - which might be a good thing...) and very friendly staff. Several restaurants on site to choose international foods. Margaritas are inexpensive and powerful. Free yoga and other daily activities, full adventure program for kids, a seluded beach, a grand pool with slides and a swimup bar or a more secluded pool on floor ten if you prefer. I suggest NOT taking the all-inclusive choice, since you cannot possibly spend the equivalent money in food and drink. The prices in the restaurants are very fair. If you golf, oh my, plan on a world class adventure at the 27 hole facility a 5 minute shuttle away from the hotel. We ventured into Barra, across the bay, but it does not seem to have recovered well from 2011(?) storms. There is simply no need to leave the grounds of the Grand Bay. Be prepared to be pampered.

Room Tip: If you prefer the most quiet possible, ask for floor nine or ten or the lower room numbers on any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
On behalf of the Team at our beautiful 1,200 acre resort, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort.
It was very rewarding to receive your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to receiving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Grand Bay is the best Hotel we have ever stayed! If you want to relax in luxurious this is the place.
Perfect for a romantic getaway.The grounds are spectacular.Our room with the marina view was serviced several times a day.The breakfast buffet was excellent.The service was friendly and excellent.There are extraordinary views from every direction. Also you can take the water taxi across to a very save fishing village Barra de Navidade with excellent food,or take a local bus or taxi to the next village Melaque or Manzanilla and explore the beautiful beaches surround by mountains and amazing restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury, Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Overall, we found the resort fantastic in most aspects. The architectue is beautiful, although it could use some lipstick and mascara here and there. The pools were the most beautiful Ive ever seen.

The staff were fantastic with exceptional service from Aden (front desk), Jose, Nadia and Jaun (pool Bar), and Ramone and his crew (Grand Cafe). All metioned were awesome down to earth people who genuinely "Care". I thank you.

Mexican night was a wonderful surprise, but I wont go into detail and spoil it for others.

Now for the "But" part:

We had an incident which I still think was very unfair: We arrived after dark and after traveling all day - were kinda hungry. The mini bar was very well stocked so we had a mini can of Pringles and a mini bag of peanuts......BAD MOVE!!! Also above the mini bar were 3 350ml (mickeys) of hard liquor. There was a little card that said you would be charged for that - ok fair enough. So we opend one. I mean, really...just how much could a mickey of vodka cost in Mexico right?? WRONG,,,,REALLY BAD MOVE!!!!

That little snack and cocktail cost us $48 USD!! Are you freeking kidding me???? Come on Grand Bay, that is absolutely rediculous! And consider this fact - 2 days later we went over to Barra an bought a 1 litre bottle of the same for $7.80USD. We were prepared to "pay" for what we consumed, but not prepared to get "HOSED" for it!! To me, that was very sneeky and cheesy. We were there all inclusive, so if certain items are not all inclusive - DO NOT have them available. I cant remember what the maid said we were going to be charged for the munchies - but it was un-bloody believable.

So with that little tidbit in mind, I say,,,,,,,"People,,,DO NOT Touch The Forbidden Fruit". (would have been nice to know what was forbidden and what wasnt, but no, not the case).

So after getting "Nailed" with that nasty bomb at check out,,,,would we go back?? For this reason I dont think so. Kinda makes you question the integrity of the whole outfit. Almost like a set up because the next day the mini bar was basically empty. Whats with that??? I seriously dont appreciate being screwed - expecially not on our 1 and only vacaion of the year. Bad move on your part Grand Bay. Had this "event" not have happened - you bet, we'd be back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort, we appreciate the recognition of our staff efforts to provide quality and friendly service, we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate the valuable information in regards to the misunderstanding with your bill at check out, we will take this information to make sure it does not happen again, please take our apologies and hopefully on your next visit, we will find a way to offer you a great experience to show you our appreciation. I hope you understand that the value of the items such as the cocktail a 375 ml bottle of vodka is reasonable if you consider the prices of a same standard hotel in the US or Canada which was $40 usd approximately. The prices in Barra de Navidad are lower as this are sold on a regular convenience store.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with Trip Advisor’s community.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Navidad
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#7 of 14 in Barra de Navidad
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 14 in Barra de Navidad
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Gran Bahia Cuastecomates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Las Arenas
Las Arenas
#1 of 5 in Melaque
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Karmina Palace Deluxe
0.8 mi away
Cabo Blanco Hotel
Cabo Blanco Hotel
#3 of 14 in Barra de Navidad
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isla Navidad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isla Navidad Resort

Address: Circuito de los Marinos S/N | Fracc. Isla Navidad, Isla Navidad 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Isla Navidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Navidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Isla Navidad Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Isla Navidad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Manzanillo
Manzanillo Wyndham
Isla Navidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Isla Navidad Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.