We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel on Isla Navidad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Navidad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Isla Navidad to your Saves list
Isla Navidad
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Circuito de los Marinos S/N, Isla Navidad 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Navidad
Grand Bend, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel on Isla Navidad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were lucky to be able to spend three days at this amazing hotel. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the marina filled with beautiful yachts & sailboats and the staff beyond friendly and professional. The hotel has every amenity one would want - gorgeous pool, lazy hammocks by the lagoon, tennis courts, fitness facilities and water taxis to take one across the lagoon to the pretty town of Barra de Navidad. a wonderful find on the Pacific coast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding your latest stay at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, activities and the surroundings of this beautiful bay on the Pacific coast.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Roland Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    59
    20
    14
    7
See reviews for
36
93
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Bay. Our initial thought when arriving by boat shuttle was "Fantasy Island". It lived up to that description each and every day. The hotel and grounds were picturesque. The service was intimate, whether it was the hotel upgrading us to the Presidential Suites, the activities coordinator(David) who took us on a great bike tour and greeted us everyday as friends, or (Juan) one of the friendly security guards who always had a smile and some great conversation, or the singing duo pumping out great tunes in the lobby bar. Jorge (the manager) was not only visible but arranged meet and greets and happy hour. He was a special part of this hotel. The A la Carte (Antonios) was probably the best meal we had all week, with top notch service, including the best Flambay Crepes made right at our table. We have stayed in a lot of all inclusive resorts and this hotel is just a cut above. It gives you the personal service that you expect in a 5 Star Resort. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway - this place is for you. If you feel the need to party - you simply take the two minute shuttle into Barra de Navidad. There is plenty in this quaint little Mexican town. Absolutely loved this trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review in regards to your latest stay at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed a pleasant and tranquil vacation with us, but specially the warmth and friendliness of our people, which is definitely our most important Hallmark. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with the entire team and specially with David, Juan, Trish and Gordon to let them know how valuable their contribution was to create everlasting memories for you at the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort.
On Behalf of the entire team at the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort, we thank you for your visit and look forward to receiving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Juan Carlo Rincones
Gerente General F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Grand Bay is a 200 room first class hotel about 40 minutes from the Manzanillo airport. Rooms are large, well equipped, with free internet ( a little slow - which might be a good thing...) and very friendly staff. Several restaurants on site to choose international foods. Margaritas are inexpensive and powerful. Free yoga and other daily activities, full adventure program for kids, a seluded beach, a grand pool with slides and a swimup bar or a more secluded pool on floor ten if you prefer. I suggest NOT taking the all-inclusive choice, since you cannot possibly spend the equivalent money in food and drink. The prices in the restaurants are very fair. If you golf, oh my, plan on a world class adventure at the 27 hole facility a 5 minute shuttle away from the hotel. We ventured into Barra, across the bay, but it does not seem to have recovered well from 2011(?) storms. There is simply no need to leave the grounds of the Grand Bay. Be prepared to be pampered.

Room Tip: If you prefer the most quiet possible, ask for floor nine or ten or the lower room numbers on any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
On behalf of the Team at our beautiful 1,200 acre resort, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort.
It was very rewarding to receive your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to receiving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury, Alberta Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Overall, we found the resort fantastic in most aspects. The architectue is beautiful, although it could use some lipstick and mascara here and there. The pools were the most beautiful Ive ever seen.

The staff were fantastic with exceptional service from Aden (front desk), Jose, Nadia and Jaun (pool Bar), and Ramone and his crew (Grand Cafe). All metioned were awesome down to earth people who genuinely "Care". I thank you.

Mexican night was a wonderful surprise, but I wont go into detail and spoil it for others.

Now for the "But" part:

We had an incident which I still think was very unfair: We arrived after dark and after traveling all day - were kinda hungry. The mini bar was very well stocked so we had a mini can of Pringles and a mini bag of peanuts......BAD MOVE!!! Also above the mini bar were 3 350ml (mickeys) of hard liquor. There was a little card that said you would be charged for that - ok fair enough. So we opend one. I mean, really...just how much could a mickey of vodka cost in Mexico right?? WRONG,,,,REALLY BAD MOVE!!!!

That little snack and cocktail cost us $48 USD!! Are you freeking kidding me???? Come on Grand Bay, that is absolutely rediculous! And consider this fact - 2 days later we went over to Barra an bought a 1 litre bottle of the same for $7.80USD. We were prepared to "pay" for what we consumed, but not prepared to get "HOSED" for it!! To me, that was very sneeky and cheesy. We were there all inclusive, so if certain items are not all inclusive - DO NOT have them available. I cant remember what the maid said we were going to be charged for the munchies - but it was un-bloody believable.

So with that little tidbit in mind, I say,,,,,,,"People,,,DO NOT Touch The Forbidden Fruit". (would have been nice to know what was forbidden and what wasnt, but no, not the case).

So after getting "Nailed" with that nasty bomb at check out,,,,would we go back?? For this reason I dont think so. Kinda makes you question the integrity of the whole outfit. Almost like a set up because the next day the mini bar was basically empty. Whats with that??? I seriously dont appreciate being screwed - expecially not on our 1 and only vacaion of the year. Bad move on your part Grand Bay. Had this "event" not have happened - you bet, we'd be back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your stay at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort, we appreciate the recognition of our staff efforts to provide quality and friendly service, we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate the valuable information in regards to the misunderstanding with your bill at check out, we will take this information to make sure it does not happen again, please take our apologies and hopefully on your next visit, we will find a way to offer you a great experience to show you our appreciation. I hope you understand that the value of the items such as the cocktail a 375 ml bottle of vodka is reasonable if you consider the prices of a same standard hotel in the US or Canada which was $40 usd approximately. The prices in Barra de Navidad are lower as this are sold on a regular convenience store.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with Trip Advisor’s community.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and i stayed at this resort from Feb 27/13 to March 06/2013, this resort is very friendly and clean. A little quiet at night, but very relaxing if that is what you are looking for.
The staff really makes the place as they are very accommodating throughout your stay. I would like to thank a special pool bar waiter named Luis, this young man was the most pleasant and had a smile that wouldn't quit. He made our stay memorable and the most enjoyable. This employee deserves recognition for his hard work and always available to help.

However, the only thing on the negative is when the huge group of American golfers left on the Tuesday (the night before we left), the place seem to shut down for the rest of the guests. The Pool BBQ and cookies/treats weren't available, the pool bar shut down early and the grand cafe wasn''t a buffet anymore, you could only order a select few items of the menu. This was very disappointing, made us feel "less important" then the so called "golfing group" ???? (who by the way was a very cheap bunch, hardly saw any tipping to the staff?, very rude)

Overall, if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing vacation this is the place!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view room! the other side is very quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially with the valuable contribution of one of our stars, Luis whom we will recognize properly for his hard work and attention to detail with our guests.
We always appreciate feedback from our clients, especially when we did not meet your expectations so that we can look into what we have done wrong and make immediate changes, our purpose was to offer a more personalized service since we did not have large groups in the property and provide a more comfortable service to each guest by offering a la carte service even though we were offering all inclusive options for our guests, once again thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor community and ourselves.
Look forward to receive you at the Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad Resort in the near future

Sincerely
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Grand Bay Hotel Isla de Navidad was our home for one week at the end of February, and we absolutely loved it ! Fabulous, attentive staff, breathtaking setting, large variety of tasty dining, great evening entertainment. Every day began with an incredible yoga class on the beach led by Jan, followed by afternoon kayak adventures. We were looking for an authentic Mexican experience and appreciated this uncommercialized area. We frequently took the little motor boat taxi (or paddled on our own) to Bara, also visited the charming villages and beaches of La Manzanilla and Melaque. The hotel looks like a Spanish styled mansion with luxury marina and golf course. Cleanliness was exceptional. Thank you Grand Bay for a wonderful holiday, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and living the Wyndham Grand, Isla Navidad Resort Experience and the authentic Mexican lifestyle.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, activities and the surroundings of this beautiful bay.
We are looking forward to welcome you again this unique Mexican Destination.

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauble Beach, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We travelled to Grand Bay on Feb 20, 2013 with another couple and were pleasantly surprised from the onset at this resort. Having been to many 3.5to 5 star AI's this was the best hands down.The hotel is laden with marble throughout including the spacious rooms. Even though it is a 10floor layout with 199 rooms it has a very comfortable feel about it. All rooms face the lagoon, there isn't a room that doesn't have a water view. The grounds are well kept with lots of walking available.

We have ate a many AI's and the food here was by far the best we have ever experienced. There were two higher end reservation restaurants with options from duck to rack of lamb. The buffets were equally as good, with many choices to choose from.

All the staff, were more than helpful and had answers to any questions we may have had. If you don't know Spanish, you don't have to worry, all the staff had good English skills.

Pools were like nothing we have ever seen before. Small private pool on the main floor, large roof top pool on the 10th with jacuzzi. On the main level there are three pools joined together with small water slides. Pool side drink service saves walking to the swim up pool bar.

This resort is very quiet. There are tennis courts and a volley ball court both in the beach and in the pool, but other then that not a lot of activities. You can book a fishing charter, snorkelling or jet-skis. There is a boat shuttle every few minutes to the town of Barra de Navidad. There you can walk to the markets (on Thursdays) or the stores, all safe. For spending money you should take Mexican pesos, less expensive than US or CDN currency.

As for the weather, it is perfect as usual being the Pacific Coast. We would recommend this resort in a heart beat. Next time we plan on going for two weeks and take in the beautiful 27 hole golf course.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand B, General Manager at Isla Navidad, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review! It is nice to hear that your experience with us was rewarding . We feel honored to hear that you appreciate our efforts! This is what we live for and it motivates the whole team to keep doing what they are doing.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to host you soon again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Jorge Garibay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isla Navidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Navidad

Address: Circuito de los Marinos S/N, Isla Navidad 28838, Mexico (Formerly Wyndham Grand Isla Navidad)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Isla Navidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Navidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Isla Navidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Isla Navidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Manzanillo
Manzanillo Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Navidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.