We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redefining the meaning of "favor"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Iorana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iorana Hotel to your Saves list
Iorana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ana Mangaro S/N Hanga Roa | Ana Mangaro S/N Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Easter Island
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Redefining the meaning of "favor"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Rooms are ok and breakfast is good. However, there was a woman at the reception at our arrival that was plain rude, which is beyond comprehension. I arrived at 11pm, so tired that I could barely speak. but had to carry my bag to the room. "Fine", I said, "is there water available in the room?" I naively asked. No, there wasn´t. "Can you bring me 2 bottles, then?". No, I had to wait at the reception so that I could sign for it. "Really?", I tried again with a big frown, and then came the best answer ever: "We were supposed to be closed by this time and we´re only open because we were waiting for you (excuse me?) , so really we are doing you a favor !!!!!!". Well, I have to say I have a different understanding of what a favor is, particularly when I´m paying (a lot!) for the service contracted. Unfortunately I can´t remember her name, but I found this interaction astonishing, to say the least.
Service by the pool is almost non-existing. By the way, there´s a fabulous pool sculpted among the rocks close to the sea. They don´t tell you about it but it´s great. However, be careful with the waves once you´re in there, they can hit really hard and make a small disaster. It´s still worth it, just be careful!
P.S. In general, it´s hard to believe that tourism is the #1 income source at Easter Island! They could use a lesson on how to treat tourists...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    62
    50
    21
    16
See reviews for
23
81
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

best hotel I have ever stayed in. What a great friendly staff. Very clean rooms. Only had two TV changles and they only speak Spanish, Always will to help. Asked about taking pictures. Gave me the best time to take pictures around the Island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I travelled with a group & most of us spent 8 days here - it was lovely. The room I had was comfortable, cool and had a great view of the ocean and lawn. Meals were tasty and filling, with a good variety. We had breakfast and dinner and we were able to ask for a variety, remembering that this is a very isolated island (5 hours flight from anywhere) and there is 1 ship a month. Most of the vegetables, salad foods and some fruits were grown in the rich volcanic island soils, so they tasted wonderful, with minerals and 'real' taste.
It is a good walk to the 'town', which helped with my fitness. Taxi's are cheap and plentiful.
I loved the whole island - every aspect of it. I lived in Papua New Guinea from 1969 to 1974 and this island took me right back to that time. No seat-belts, no helmets, no worries - add a Spanish flavour and it a great holiday & adventure.
WiFi in reception was a little slow, however there was always time to wait. There was a swimming hole on the ocean, down from the restaurant and this was such a relaxed & safe place.

Room Tip: All the rooms had a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quilmes
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

beautiful lobby, and very kind ladies at reception, ready to solve any problem..
Nice placed, quiet and comfortable..maybe bit overpriced . Rooms have a view of ocean and a little fridge.
You have to walk 20 minutes to small town, what is good to do, if you have no rain. Tropical short showers are very common so be aware of that.
Excellent breakfast, very complete and well served. We had also dinners there..too much monotonous menu, even it was tasty.
i wouldn't take again with meals, as i would have liked to try more typical food in that menu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just returned home to Australia and the last 4 days I spent on Easter Island, staying in this hotel. I loved every minute of my stay here,all the staff were most helpful and friendly and whilst the accommodation basic, it was comfortable and clean..and the view from the balcony unsurpassed. I loved the rock pool and the historic site areas just a walk over the cliffs - the lava tube with the waves breaking into it wonderful to watch. Easter Island is Hawaii 100 years ago, the Cook Islands maybe 50, and who doesn't want to get away from phones and tv and all mod cons once in a while! the perfect place to make your stay memorable. LOLLYSUE

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is its location on the ocean. We had stunning views from our room. The room itself was just so-so but it did have a small refrigerator which came in handy because of the heat outside. The location is about a 15 minute walk to town.
Meals are served here and we had good breakfast buffets and a pretty good dinner here as well. Suggestion: keep your doors locked at night as two different guests were robbed. I would definitely consider returning to this hotel should we return to Easter Island.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Once i got to the Iorana Hotel, that was all my 3-year-old-daughter could say. "Is' beautiful, mommy!" The whole family had a blast, although rooms were quite overpriced (hence the 4 dots, not 5).

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iorana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iorana Hotel

Address: Ana Mangaro S/N Hanga Roa | Ana Mangaro S/N Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iorana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iorana hotel located on Easter Island is a place to relax and recharge energy at any time of the year. The hotel offers two swimming pools, one in the beautiful and big garden and the other directly formatted in the sea rocks. Guests can enjoy beautiful sunsets from the chairs near the swimming pool. Hanga Roa center is 15 minutes away from the hotel and Rano Raraku volcano only at 3 km away. Rooms are decorated with wood and the floor is in ceramic. They include television, phone, a mini-bar and a view on the sea or on other wonderful landscapes. Every day, a buffet breakfast is served. The restaurant offers local and international specialties with media pension. At the 24h reception, you can book a transfer to the international airport Mataveri, located 1km away from the hotel, rent a bike to explore the island or reserve an excursion. We have 25 years of experience providing our services in a pleasant and familial atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Iorana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iorana Hotel Easter Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iorana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.