We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Island Tours: Easter Island-Private Day Tours

Green Island Tours: Easter Island-Private Day Tours
1 Apina Nui, Easter Island 5430, Chile
56 9 62145884
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Green Island Tours is a tour agency based on Easter Island. We offer small group and private tours of the Island aimed at giving a clear and concise historical overview of the island and the major sites. We seek to avoid large groups and obtain best lighting opportunities for photos. All tour groups are small and are done in just one language of which we guarantee fluency making sure you get the best out of your time on this magical place.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We took two full days with Marc during our visit to the island, and would highly recommend him. He replied to our emails right away, was very knowledgeable, gave us all the time that we needed at every site rather than rushing from moai to moai, suggested many "fun" picture poses that we wouldn't have thought of. Overall, great experience!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Easter Island Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

There is no doubt you have to make an effort to get to Easter Island. We did it the easy way on an Oceanea Cruise. The tender ride in is a exciting treat. We used the Green Island Tours and the end result was wonderful. But just like getting to Easter Island is an event in itself, once there it is also an event, especially if you come by ship. Basially the whole island population shows up at the very small tender port. This made even finding the Green Island Tour table a chore. We didn't have to go far, its just that we missed the table twice because of the crowd. But once located and on the bus it was a grand two days. The bus was airconditioned, Pedro our guide was amazing with his level of knowledge made learning fun. We did not miss a thing. Just remember, while the downpayment is by Paypal, the final payment is in cash. Also the $60 per person park fee is separate from the tour cost.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Covers It All - At a Good Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked with Marc via email prior to our cruise that stopped at Easter Island for 2 days - and very glad we did the touring this way. Did not have Marc as our guide, but the guy he got to handle our group was terrific (believe things are really busy whenever a ship arrives, so Marc gets additional help during these times). We covered everything during the 2 day-long tours, with plenty of detailed explanations. The touring was paced to what we wanted, and because things went along well, the guide added in some extra stops - like the crater lake above the moai quarry. We had plenty of time for taking photos, with suggested poses and angles and such (a good, experienced guide has seen this many times before - and knows what makes the best shots!), and time for lunch break both days. Great tours! We were also happy with the business side of things - Marc was responsive via email, especially given the communication difficulties of Easter Island, and even "talked" me through the process of making the tour deposit using PayPal (no credit cards accepted). His wife had a table set up just outside the port gate, so it was easily found when we came ashore. She got our group gathered, introduced to the guide, and quickly away to get ahead of the crowds still milling about at the port gate looking for their guides and (larger) tour buses. We thoroughly enjoyed the tours, and know we got excellent service at a great price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Tour for single travelling Gringos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I did two full day group tours with Green Island tours in March 2013. The tour takes you to the main sites of the island and is informal and informative. Marc is an excellent guide and tries to time the visits so that you miss the big buses and at most sites our small group was on our own.

This is the perfect tour for single non Spanish speaking travellers and for anyone else who doesn't have their own transport.

My only regret is that I did not do the 3rd day tour as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from our trip to Eastern Island, and Marc's tour was the highlight of the trip. We did a private, full-day tour, which allowed us to customize the itinerary. Marc was very responsive over email prior to our arrival, which is impressive, considering that Internet on the island is slow and mobile coverage is very spotty outside of town. The tour was really good: Marc's perspective as a Westerner married to a Rapa Nui and living on the island is a great way to learn about the history of this unique place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Island Tours: Easter Island-Private Day Tours also viewed

 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Easter Island, Chile
 

Been to Green Island Tours: Easter Island-Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Island Tours: Easter Island-Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.