We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tataku Vave

Tataku Vave
Caleta Hanga Piko s / n, Easter Island, Chile
(32) 2551544
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 57 Restaurants in Easter Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chilean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean restaurant with beautiful sunsets.
Perfect food at normal prices.
Outside town but at walkable distance from city centre.
Recommended!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    57
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Secluded and beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Tataku Vave is off the beaten path and a bit difficult to find. It’s on the coast near Easter Island’s small port called Hanga Piko, on the airport side of Hanga Roa, and required traversing down a badly pitted, winding dirt road. The view of the sea breaking over jagged lava rocks is beautiful and makes the trek getting there worth it. Traditionally, like Latin Americans, Rapanui dine late, so my 7PM arrival was early enough to have the patio dining to myself. I ordered the peper shrimp and received huge prawns in boiling hot garlic and butter sauce (my meal statyed hot despite the sea breeze, which was a plus), with a large side of rice topped with butter. The meal was delicious and the young lady who waited on me was friendly even though my early arrival seemd to catch everyone off guard. The price was a bit steep at $20US for the entree, but that’s not unusual for nice dining on Easter Island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food, beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Tataku Vave is on the outskirts of town by the second bay. This place is a must for gorgeous sunset views! The menu is mostly fish with some shrimp, beef, and chicken. My friend and I shared the Papas Fritas Tataku. It was french fries covered with shrimp, tomatoes, chives, and a creamy sauce. It was a generous serving and absolutely delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful sunset views and tasty steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Location is out of the way but this means the large outdoor terrace right next to the sea has a terrific unspoilt view towards the west. Can get a little breezy so bring a sweater!

While the menu is primarily seafood I had a grilled beef steak which was superb.

Service is friendly - a little slow when I visited but I think this was because a large group had just left.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Delicious food and amazing setting to enjoy the sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great food, my husband had the pasta marina and I ordered chicken, both dishes were very tasty. The restaurant has a great setting just by the beach and you can enjoy the waves and the sunset. This place was recommended by Paul, our tour guide and owner of Tekarera hotel, which gave us great tips to eat and enjoy the island, he actually took us and picked us up from the restaurant and we loved it, this place was perfect!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tataku Vave also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Easter Island, Chile
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Tataku Vave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tataku Vave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.