We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant
Atamu Tekena s/n, Easter Island, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Easter Island
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed for six nights and greatly enjoyed my time there. The Kaimana Inn is located right on the main street in town, so it is very convenient to walk to everything in town. Staying here is like staying with family. You can actually meet the whole family!

Marcelo picked me up from the airport along with other guests. He ran the early morning tour the next day and was always so helpful. When he couldn't run the tours himself, he would make arrangements with other operators.

You won't miss the air conditioning. Evenings are usually quite pleasant. There is a common area between the rooms that is a great place to socialize with other guests. Breakfast every morning was perfect. The breakfast is served in the common area. If you want to have lunch or dinner at the restaurant, it is a 30 meter walk to the main street where the Kaimana Restaurant is located.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this place to any friend heading to Easter Island.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    131
    25
    11
    0
See reviews for
58
125
114
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

very clean comfortable accomodation.
friendly owners who were very helpful
nothing was too much trouble
they were willing to help with any problems
very helpful in sorting out or helping arrange any trips

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Marcello and his family and staff ensured we had an amazing visit. From airport pickup, to tours and advice, Marcello did an amazing job. Rooms were comfortable and reasonably priced. Did not miss air conditioning, there was a fan available and loved the fresh air. Hotel is close to everything. Enjoyed breakfast and sharing stories with other visitors. All in all, Kaimana was part of a perfect visit to Rapa Nui

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is a wonderful place for travellers. It provides Polynesian breakfast and clean rooms. A lovely lodge outside rooms makes people a good connection where you can have a chat and exchanging your experience of Easter island.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in Kaimana for 5 nights, it was a generally nice experience for us. The owner and his family were very friendly and were eager to provide assistance if needed. The location was excellent, just took less than 15mins to reach the sea and airport. The breakfast was simple but good; yet it will be perfect if the lights of the room can be brighter and hair dryer can be provided for each room.
We believe Kaimana Inn is one of the best accommodations on the island;)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We visited Easter Island the last week in Feb. The weather was beautiful, if a bit warm, and the Marcelo did a wonderful job of showing us the Island and providing the history. His passion for his work, his family, the island and his people is clearly evident. We really enjoyed his tours. One cannot stay here expecting lavish quarters however. There is no air conditioning and it was difficult to sleep in the rooms before midnight. Since those on Rapa Nui don't seem to sleep before then, it is probably of little concern to visiting night owls or the locals. A small, very friendly cat, who insisted on entering the room when ever a door (also the main window) was open didn't help matters. Screens would also help. The Kaimana is fortunately very close to down town though and within walking distance of most everything in this smaller area. The breakfast, as others point was good but not great. We can also not say allot of good about their eatery around the corner. What was great was the food at Kaleta, in the wharf area downtown. With its tables practically right on the water, they served some of the best sea food and Ceviche we've ever had. The service was also great. All in all, we had a wonderful trip to Easter Island.

Room Tip: We had two rooms and both were very similar with exception of the bed arrangement. Clean and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Marcelo and his family made me and my wife feel at home for the 4 nights of our visit. Marcelo makes certain that you don't miss a thing. Dinner, car rentals, history, and warmth are all part of the planning that is offered as part of your stay. The inn itself is exactly what you would expect when visiting a small island as remote as RapaNui. Clean rooms, comfortable common area and a great local relaxing restaurant are all part of the ambiance of Kaimana Inn. I highly recomend this inn for all who visit. the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Atamu Tekena s/n, Easter Island, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We just win the 2012 Certificate´s of Excellence given by Tripadvisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaimana Inn Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.