We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant
Atamu Tekena s/n, Easter Island, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Easter Island
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights, a casual, friendly and welcoming set-up. Not a 'hotel' in the traditional sense, more informal than that, but better, it actually feels like you're staying with a local family. Virtually everything on island is imported so it's worth remembering that as you go about your time on the island, it brings a whole new appreciation. The owner also offers tours which we and 3 others from the hotel signed up for. Guides on island must undertake training beforehand and our Marcello was extremely good (I speak as a tour guide myself). The rooms are maybe a little shabby, but you know, who cares, they're clean, tidy and more than you need for your time on what is absolutely one of the most beautiful, intriguing and currently 'commercially undisturbed' islands you could hope to visit. Restaurant also VERY good, we ate tuna ceviche which was freshly caught and melt in the mouth and indulged in more than a few pisco sours :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    124
    24
    10
    0
See reviews for
55
120
110
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I highly recommend The Kaimana Inn for anyone traveling to Easter Island. While I didn't stay anywhere else, the next time I go back, there would be no reason to look at other places. I have never stayed at a hotel quite like this one: Marcelo Valdes, the owner, picks you up at the airport and gives you the run-down of the island and is always available for anything you need. The breakfast, which is included, is hearty and home-made. The hotel room itself is very comfortable and almost has a type of "lodge" feel. I have no complaints, only praises. The slogan of the Kaimana Inn is that you "enter as clients and leave as friends," and that's exactly how it happened. Bravo, Marcelo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights with my wife and family. This hotel meant a change from our usual 4/5 star accomodation slection - we did not regret the change (also because there are not many options in that range in the island and the prices are towards the outrageous). We were greeted by Marcelo and his kids at the airport and from there onwards he did whatever he could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are nice and clean (except on sundays when there is no room cleaning). The breakfast is served in the patio in front of the rooms and is good enough to sustain the tracking efforts of a family with very fresh products. The restaurant the family own in the main street about 150 meters walking distance is also a good option for a meal. Defenitely worth a visit, as it is one of the options at reasonable prices, offering a quality that matches the price. Wifi connection was mainly stable, and free! The customer service and efforts from Marcelo to make your stay memorable are the plus that make this proably the best accomodation option in the island.
Finally, if you leave on the plane bound to Papeete like we did (11pm) do pay the extra 60 USD for the remaining of the day, so you can take a good evening nap and take a refreshing shower before Marcelo drops you off at the airport again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stay: 4 nights in July 2013
Price: US$130 per night

Pro: Warm and personal customer service, flexible to accommodate our needs, excellent private tours of the island at reasonable prices, airport pickup and drop-off.
Con: very basic accommodation standards

We are favourably impressed by Marcelo (the owner) and his family/staff's excellent hospitality. It felt like that we were welcomed into their little inn like a friend who came to stay at their guest houses. For travellers like us who are used to 4-5 star hotels, this is a refreshing change, but "roughing it" in a B&B type of place did leave us wanting some more luxury.

Location is very convenient: right next to the main street, 5-10 minutes stroll to the beach. Grocery stores and a market full of souvenirs at fair prices (feel free to negotiate) are 2-3 minutes away.

Internet: Our room has decent wi-fi connection, as does the common lounge/breakfast area, but some rooms have poor wi-fi signal. Internet speed is enough for emails, but don't expect to download movies.

The breakfast is healthy and quite nice, nothing exciting though. It's a single plate of a small omelette, a slice of ham, a slice of cheese, and some mixed local fruit. There is coffee/tea, juice, bread, butter and jam as well. Same breakfast over 4 days can be a bit boring though.

Our bed has been slept in for too long and not very comfy. You need to leave to tap running a couple of minutes for hot water, but water pressure is good.

We didn't have the following facilities, but had no need for them anyway.
- TV: I know at least one room that has a TV, but ours didn't have one.
- No telephone in our room either.
- No aircon, but there is an electrical fan. The island weather is very mild, aircon isn't necessary.
- Our safe is not working, but theft or other crimes are very rare on the island. Be a smart and cautious traveller and you'll be fine.
- No alarm clock, but you get an early wake up by the resident rooster.

Private tours of the island
The best part of our stay is our tours with Marcelo. Instead of liaisoning tours with another local tour company, we just discussed with Marcelo where we felt like going and sightseeing and he acted as our tour guide, and he is a very knowledgeable guide! This turned out to be the perfect arrangement because:
- It's just us and Marcelo (a friend, really), very private and personalised. His English is excellent, knows a great deal about the island, history, culture and interesting anecdotes, and has a great sense of humour.
- We leave after breakfast, straight from our hotel and later come right back to the hotel. No detours or unnecessary stops.
- Marcelo will tailor the tours according to OUR situation. Too tired today? He can shorten the trip or cancel the next one.
- Pay the tour together with our hotel bill, when we check out. Price is $40 half-day (4 hrs) and $60 full-day (6 hrs) per person.

Extras:
- Our flight departing the island was at 11 pm and we wanted to have a very late checkout, so we can still have a place to shower and catch a nap before we go. Marcelo only charged us $60 extra, which we thought was very reasonable.

Thank you Marcelo for making this trip an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the owner's house for better wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

As HansonKwok says Hotel is perfectly located-near stores, restaurants, car rentals and airport.
Hotel is owner by Marcelo and his wife. Every hotel should be owned by such nice people who are extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast is excellent and served on your schedule not theirs.We loved the center lounge area-comfortable and a great place to chat with fellow travelers. It is not a luxury hotel, but the rooms are very clean, don't smell and are comfortable with lots of hot water.
W

Room Tip: all the rooms are well located around the center lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located at the centre of the town with many grocery stores around. The owner of the hotel is an extremely helpful and friendly guys who provided me lots of information on the island. Great breakfast was provided daily during my stay. The room was large with stable wifi connection. I will definitely choose this hotel again if I visit the island in future

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apia, Samoa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Spent about 10 days at this place and liked it very much. It is central in Hanga Roa off the main street. Bakery just across the street and shops in walking distance.
Owners are very friendly and helpful. Would stay again at this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. No advantage or disadvantage I would know of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Atamu Tekena s/n, Easter Island, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Easter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We just win the 2012 Certificate´s of Excellence given by Tripadvisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaimana Inn Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.