We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best polo stay in Argentina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sofia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Antonio de Areco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Sofia
Save
You added La Sofia to your Saves list
Azcuenaga- Cuartel VI, San Antonio de Areco 6720, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“The best polo stay in Argentina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed on La sofia for ten days in late february 2011. We had booked seven days/nights with polo practice twice a day, and we liked it so much that we extended it for three more days.
The place is magnificent with a good tranquil surrounding but still with close proximity to BA. Rooms are nice, cozy and clean and the communal areas incl. pool similar. The food is amazing (Best steak in Argentina). The service are really good, nice and friendly. The polo was very rewarding with a lot of good coaching both on technique and gamestrategies.
All up we can only recommend La Sofia to everyone. This is really an outstanding place......

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Me and my husband have stayed at La Sofia for three nights - and we have before hardly ever slept so well, eaten so well and relaxed so well... The owners have looked after us with real care, we felt truly spoilt in this secluded tranquil ranch. The accomodation was cosy, clean and styled in traditional argentinian fashion, while the design of our room with a fireplace and a huge panoramic window into the garden was just the icing on the cake...
We have had some polo lessons and did few hours of horse riding and have enjoyed every minute of it and felt privilidged being tought by the owner who is a former player for argentina polo team!
Beautiful location, gourmet food, and an inviting swimming pool - it was just very hard to leave and we are already planning to come back!
J & J from West Sussex, England

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Best:

Excelente reception by the owners. Excelente asado. Lovely swiming pool. Great polo course.
Amazing relaxing view. Tipical argentine farm.
Dogs, rabbit, plenty of singing birs, horses... what else can you ask? ok, exellent wine.

Lest: bath tube, but shure is repaired now.
No room phone. No freedge in room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

I have stayed and taken polo lessons at several estancias in Argentina. Polo has historically been a game played by men. My desire at age 58 to learn polo has been met with mild sarcasm at most estancias. Only recently have women in Argentina been playing polo. I brought three teenage girls, all riders, to La Sofia for a day of polo lessons. The horses were great and the instruction excellent. The girls and myself, actually got to play a beginner's game. At all other estancias the lessons were drills. I would highly recommend this estancia to equestrians that want to have a day or two of fun on horseback and feel the excitement of polo.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We organised our stay here the day before we arrived after taking a risk and simply arriving at San Antonio De Arreco tourist information where we found their brochure.

The location, huge rooms, food (4 meals a day), ponies and polo lessons were superb, you could not have asked for better. Even the toiletries were luxurious!

The only real small problems were the bath was not plumbed in (we found this entertaining, but you may not!) and we could have been a little more relaxed if we felt we belonged....Marcos and Silke were both lovely but we didn't feel entirely at ease. This could have been because we were the only guests there at the time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Looking for an estancia weekend near Buenos Aires, we discovered La Sophia mostly by chance. It wasn't covered widely in the guidebooks but luckily one of the other places I called was full and recommended La Sophia. The website looked good so we decided to give it a try. I am very glad that we did - the experience was terrific! I travel a lot and don't usually write reviews but the weekend at La Sophia was such an exceptional success that I decided to make an exception.

Visitors stay in a beautiful old country house. There are only a few guestrooms so the whole place feels intimate and peaceful. Our room was spacious and elegantly designed, with a comfortable king-size bed and great views of the surrounding countryside. The bathroom featured an outstanding rain-shower and lovely own-brand toiletries. You can also relax in the lounge (complete with a big open fireplace) or on in the pretty garden.

The food and wine were lovely throughout. The Argentine barbecue featured the best steak of my trip and they even managed to cater very successfully to my vegetarian partner (not a given in Argentina!). Marcos and Silke are wonderful hosts, always helpful and a pleasure to chat to but never intrusive.

The highlight of any stay at La Sophia is of course the riding and particularly the polo. I had played polo before and enjoyed it a lot but have never had as much fun as at La Sophia. Marcos is a hugely impressive player and a great instructor - he really manages to push you without ever being intimidating or overbearing. My partner had never ridden but almost from the get-go she too was up on a horse with a mallet and really enjoying herself. Within a day, Marcos had us playing against each other, intervening enough to keep the game fast-moving and challenging for both of us.

We both had such a great time that we're already plotting our return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We had originally been booked in at a different hotel but changed at the last minute as there was more opportunity for me to play polo here. A BRILLIANT DECISION! As it was before the polo season we were the only guests staying. The rooms were completely gorgeous and we had a whole house to ourselves with a constant fire in the living room. Marcos and Silke greeted us the evening we arrived and throughout our stay were always around and about, to talk to either conversationally or to make plans. I had never played polo before but was a keen rider and Marcos had the patience of a saint. He was an excellent teacher and immediately put my mum and I at ease. The horses were fantastic - whilst being athletic animals that are still used in competition they would be calm enough for any rider, and tirelessly put up with occassional hits from inexperienced mallet-weilders. The food was delicious, and despite no forewarning it was adjusted to fit my dairy intollerance. There was wonderful tea and cakes served every afternoon to re-fuel before or after the ride. Although my mother and I were mainly there for the polo we also took trips into San Antonio, which was beautiful, and on our last full day Marcos and Silke organised a full day ride to a friend's estancia for a barbeque. I was genuinely sad to be leaving after a week. It had a wonderful home-from-home feeling and I had left a far more competent (although still inexperienced) polo player.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sofia

Address: Azcuenaga- Cuartel VI, San Antonio de Areco 6720, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > San Antonio de Areco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio de Areco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Sofia is a farm (=estancia) just one hour from Buenos Aires and 14km from a nice traditional place called San Antonio de Areco. You can just come along the day for riding and or Polo, eat an "asado" (=argentian barbecue) and pass a relaxing day in the Argentinian Pampa. There are horses of the own bread available for all levels of riding y for those who want to try out Polo you can do this. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sofia Hotel San Antonio De Areco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.