We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sofia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Antonio de Areco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Sofia
Save
You added La Sofia to your Saves list
Azcuenaga- Cuartel VI, San Antonio de Areco 6720, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at this Estancia at the end of a 5 week tour of Argentina, Chile and Patagonia, all of which was wonderful but exhausting, living out of suitcases, at times two days here, three days there, ending up with 5 days in Buenos Aires, fascinating but tiring. The time at La Sofia was the perfect end to this tour, as we relaxed in the beautiful grounds, swam in the crystal clear pool, watched polo, slept like logs, ate far too much, but all home cooked, played with the many good natured dogs and were so well looked after by Marcos and Silke, that it was like being in our own, beautifully maintained home. Marcos' family is really interesting, too, as his grandfather was a well respected author in the 20s and there's a museum in San Antonio de Areco with artefacts from his (Ricardo Guiraldes) family's gaucho past, as well as his manuscripts, which is fascinating (the town is also worth a visit). I thoroughly recommend this as the place to stay before flying home - or, at any other time, too!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully appointed but I liked being outside the main hacienda. Very quiet with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
41
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Estancia La Sofia is quite a trek from Buenos Aires with the last ½ hour on a bumpy dirt track. We arrived tired and hungry, unsure which building it was and it took a while for someone to come and meet us. Dinner wasn't going to be until 9pm and so we asked for some tea, which was brought. The next day was fun. Our minimal experience was met with a smile and “that’s fine, we have some quiet horses for beginners”. After two hours we turned into a neighbouring (i.e. 10km away) Estancia where Marco had driven ahead and set up chairs and a table. While we gossiped under walnut trees, they built a fire and we feasted on beef tenderloin, bread and huge tomatoes. Later, after tea and cakes on the verandah, a swim, a polo demonstration and a candle lit dinner in the garden. Our fellow guests all spoke perfect English and we enjoyed a wonderful evening in their company.
This does feel like someone's home and so its relaxed and cosy. Our room was a bit small and basic, with nowhere to hang anything. The food consisted of excellent meat and was otherwise very simple. Service at meal times could be a bit perfunctory, Our departure was early and so we let ourselves out with no-one to offer breakfast or wish us a good onward trip. Why didn't we request a packed breakfast? Well the downside of feeling a guest in someone's house was we hadn't wanted to inconvenience them. It was only half way down the motorway I remembered how much we had paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Last weekend I went with a Friend of mine for one day to la Sofia to do the Polo day. And I really have to say, it was one of the best experiences/days of my life!! We were really treated like queens And there was just everything that we wanted, everything was just perfect. We did an beautiful an hour horse ride outside, had an amazing asado And ofcourse the Polo lesson! I really enjoyed every second of the day And Silke And Marcos are such great people. I would everyone recomend to stay at least one day at la Sofia, escape the big city And enjoy all that la Sofia has to offer you. Thanks again for the amazing day Silke And Marcos !!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I spent two weeks at La Sofia in October 2013 and couldn't have been happier. I had an amazing time at this beautiful and authentic place off the beaten track. Everything is truly boutique and the absolute antithesis to commercial mass tourism. I came to receive polo tuition from Marcos whose coaching is second to none and under his strict and dedicated eye, with his tremendous experience and an ambitious training schedule my game improved a lot. The place is as beautiful as everyone writes and the perfect place to switch off. It was also the perfect base from which to see high goal polo in Buenos Aires and get all the polo kit I needed handmade from the manufacturers in Pilar and Buenos AIres, which Silke and Marcos arranged. All to return in the evening to stunning sunsets and amazing food and wine which was amongst the best I have had in Argentina. Silke really couldn't be a more gracious host and I left feeling part of the family. I will definitely come back for more polo or just to visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our family of five adults recently stayed for three days at La Sofia at the beginning of a stay in Argentina. We all loved it - the rooms and many sitting areas were comfortable, the food - especially the steak and the asado - was plentiful and varied, and the dinner companions from other countries a pleasure to meet. Silke and Marcos were excellent hosts - there when you needed them, but allowing you to roam at will. Above all, we had a great introduction to polo, both through learning the basic elements ourselves even though we are not experienced riders, and watching a couple of matches close up on their polo fields. This is not a luxury tourist holiday where there are many choices of things to do - but rather a chance to glimpse real life on a polo farm. One tip- if you have ridden before and wish to have a challenging trail ride, say so before going on your first ride as otherwise you might find the ride a bit slow. Better still- forget the trail ride and pay for extra polo lessons- that is what you are there for after all!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at La Sofia and it was amazing. Waking up by the sound of the birds. The sun shinning trough the polo field. It's a charming Estancia, that kept it's authenticity. I really loved the place. The rooms are gorgeous, comfortable and the food is excellent. Thanks to Marcos and Silke for there generosity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights mid Sept.
Silke and Marcos were perfect hosts,and Marcos cooks the best steaks ,we have ever had.
Riding was great,polo tuition also super.Would have liked another day.
Very relaxing ,sitting in the garden,or around a big log fire.
Would highly recommend.We had a beautiful bedroom,with fire which was lit all night.

Room Tip: All good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sofia

Address: Azcuenaga- Cuartel VI, San Antonio de Areco 6720, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > San Antonio de Areco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio de Areco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Sofia is a farm (=estancia) just one hour from Buenos Aires and 14km from a nice traditional place called San Antonio de Areco. You can just come along the day for riding and or Polo, eat an "asado" (=argentian barbecue) and pass a relaxing day in the Argentinian Pampa. There are horses of the own bread available for all levels of riding y for those who want to try out Polo you can do this. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sofia Hotel San Antonio De Areco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.