We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It can't get any better than this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sofia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Antonio de Areco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Sofia
Save
You added La Sofia to your Saves list
Azcuenaga- Cuartel VI, San Antonio de Areco 6720, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Karlskrona, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It can't get any better than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you like friendliness hosts and staff.
If you like the authentic thing.
If you like really fantastic food and good wines.
If you like horses and wildlife.
If you like a fantastic peaceful environment.
The you not only will like Estancia La sofia, you will love it!
10 out 10! We spent 4 days at Estancia La Sofia and the only negative thing was that we had to leave.
Many Thanks to Marcus with family for a wonderful stay. Even if it´s a very long way for us Swedes, we looking forward to visit this extraordinary place again!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
41
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a two-week trip to Argentina and Brazil - we really wanted a taste of the estancia experience; I had read that San Antonio de Areco was one of the original gaucho towns and La Sofia was very close to it. This place was recommended by our agent and also tripadvisor - it was definitely the right decision for many reasons:
- LOCATION- very close to Buenos Aires - about an hour by car accounting for traffic - we came straight from the airport and didnt take as long as it did to get into BA city. There is a dirt-track leading up the estancia and what a beautiful surprise it is when you do - very tranquil setting!
- ROOM - Our room was gorgeous - rustic with a lot of charm and original beams and lovely carved wooden furniture. This felt like home for the two nights we stayed there and Marco and Silke (and their gorgeous kids and pets add to this feeling). We had a very large room overlooking the polo field and was very romantic - the sunsets from the balcony was stunning and waking to the tweeting of the numerous birds....sigh....would go back in a heartbeat...My husband and I travel a lot on business and my preference is always boutique/small luxury hotels with the 'personal touch' - La Sofia really ticked this box.The beds are super comfortable and especially the pillows.
-ESTANCIA - it's beautiful with a lovely veranda all the way around it so you can sit outdoors and relax, watch people riding/playing polo. There was always tea and freshly baked cake in the afternoon waiting for us after our riding/polo sessions, which we LOVED. Neither myself nor my husband had ever been on a horse before let alone played polo, so this was especially exciting for us - Marco was encouraging, patient and happy to get us on a horse same day we arrived! Boris was another helper at the estancia who was also terrific and helped us with technique. Polo was lot of fun - I was hopeless but it just didnt matter! - the focus is on having fun, participating and doing as much or as little as you want! Kids are also well catered for here and loved it from what we could see. There's a lovely pool which we didnt get a chance to use but looked very welcoming - there are loungers and beds around it to relax and read a book!
The decor inside the4 estancia was lovely - beautiful little touches everywhere..stylishly appointed and with all the original rustic features one would expect.
- FOOD - delicious! Asado at the estancia was a treat! My husband is a pescatarian (no meat) and was well catered for - nothing seemed too much trouble for Marco and Silke who were the perfect hosts. Marco said we could have breakfast any time we wanted - both are really kind people and Silke has a second sense when it comes to knowing what her guests need/want. Also the hot empanadas in the evening are to die for ...i got hooked and kept ordering them in argentina, wherever we went, but didnt match La Sofia's!
- THE TOWN - They arranged a cab for us to go into San Antonio de Areco , which was worth doing. There were some guests who told us to avoid it but im glad we didnt as it was charming. Its close by , jsut 15 min by cab (cheap ride by the way) and the trick is getting there the right time of day - we went 4.30pm ish after siesta time and visited some jewellery /leather workshops - bought some lovely gifts and the jeweller showed us his workshops and how it was all made which was fascinating ...I bought some beautiful and unique jewellery at one (ask Marco! Ladies, you must go! These would cost a fortune in London/NYC). It's a quiet and charming tiny town so dont expect a metropolis! There are cute little bars/cafes around the main square where the locals hang out. Definitely have a drink at La Esquina on the square which is a traditional pulperia - have a beer/malbec and empanada!

A couple of nights here was the perfect antidote to the stressful time we'd left behind us in London and would definitely come back and recommend to all our friends and family.

Only tip - watch out for mosquitos in evening if sitting outdoors for dinner - trick is to use mozzie-repellent and you'll be fine. Not a big deal in the rooms but to be expected if you're looking for the true estancia experience!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the polo field if you can! Also bring mosquito repellent for evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is an excellent, quiet getaway. Tiny lodge. with more than 10 guests it gets crowded. but otherwise: you sit at a little table with a view of a field in front of view and beyond, polo horses and games happening. Good food. For Riders or Polo enthusiasts, you will get very personal service. People that just want to relax, it is just for that, relaxing, there is not much to do otherwise. The smaller room next to the kitchen can be quite noisy, so inquire about your room prior. The proprietors understand the problem well, are helpful, and will minimize noise. (they were very responsive to me).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at La Sofia the owners, Marcos and Silke, made us feel at home. We stayed in a beautiful room overlooking the polo field, but little time was spent in the room, as we kept busy enjoying the beautiful natural landscape around us. We sat by the pool, walked the grounds, and met other travelers. We were fed a never-ending barbecue lunch upon our arrival with chorizo, steak, chicken, ribs, French fries, salad, tomatoes, it was huge and delicious! The food overall was better than most we had in Buenos Aires! For dinner we were served a pasta with a short rib and sauce, which was also exquisite. (They asked before if we were vegetarians... I presume they can accommodate) They grow their own vegetables and all the meat is local. We had the option to eat by ourselves or with the other travelers, and we loved having the opportunity to meet other people from all over the world. We rode horses, which were very calm and well-trained, and my boyfriend tried a polo lesson, which involved actually playing polo. We wished we could have stayed longer, and would definitely go back. A word of advice-bring bug spray!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a fantastic stay La Sofia. I'm so glad that we were there for four days and had enough time to ride several times, enjoy the fantastic food, relax by the pool, and take a short trip into Areco. Silke and Marco's estancia has beautiful grounds and the guest houses look directly onto the polo fields. La Sofia is a warm, welcoming, casual place that is very well run. We'd never played polo before and had a fun introduction to the game - Marcos is an excellent teacher. The food was superb and ranged from vegetables out of the garden to delicious asados to fresh from the oven pastries at tea time. We were lucky to have found La Sofia!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed only for one night, a group of five. The estancia is beautiful and very peaceful. Food is excellent, service very personal and you feel very welcome. Highly to recommend and a nice get away from the busy city, Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

La Sofia is a beautiful old estancia and a lovely place to spend some days away from BA. Marcos and Silke are so welcoming and the food is really special, including lots of veg from their garden for those who don't fancy delicious beef for EVERY meal. There is a selection of well cared-for polo ponies and Marcos is a great player and teacher! This must be the best place to come to really get the feel for the Argentinian love of polo!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sofia

Address: Azcuenaga- Cuartel VI, San Antonio de Areco 6720, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > San Antonio de Areco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio de Areco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Sofia is a farm (=estancia) just one hour from Buenos Aires and 14km from a nice traditional place called San Antonio de Areco. You can just come along the day for riding and or Polo, eat an "asado" (=argentian barbecue) and pass a relaxing day in the Argentinian Pampa. There are horses of the own bread available for all levels of riding y for those who want to try out Polo you can do this. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sofia Hotel San Antonio De Areco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.