We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price is too expensive compering what you find in reallity” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Infinito Sur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hosteria Infinito Sur to your Saves list
Hosteria Infinito Sur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riquelme 208, El Chalten, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in El Chalten
Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The price is too expensive compering what you find in reallity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

we were tempted by the astonishing pictures at the site of the hosteria but arriving we noticed that the house is not so remote or charming as it looks at the website. the houses neighboring were simply cut out of the picture in their home page and a picturesque nature was "foto shoped" as a backround. the rooms are very small and are arranged in a long corridor fronting each other. the only view is from the dining room terras.
but the staff was excelent. Josefina and Vaneca worked like profesional turist guides. Our good expirience in El Chalten was as good as it was thanks to their edvice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

The rooms are nice and very clean, the communal area is nice, but lacking in warmth or character, and there are no added extras like a hair dryer, or even a communal TV (which even the hostels have!). The breakfast is just OK, so if it weren´t for the staff, I would think it is an OK place. But, the STAFF, you felt like you were intruding in their day if you asked for anything, one didn´t turn up for breakfast until 9am (so we had to go and buy our breakfast elsewhere, but in fairness, they did take it off our bill), and when we asked for a late check out, and the hotel was obviously not full, they flattly declined. This could be a great place with some love and new staff, but at the moment, I couldn`t recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

For the most part, the previous reviews are accurate. Infinito Sur was a great place to return to after a long day of hiking. The main room has very nice views of Fitz Roy. Unfortunately, I agree with one of the reviewers who noted that the service from the staff was highly variable. Some were very helpful, whereas others seemed rather unhappy to be working there. Also, the bathtub in our bathroom could have used some fresh caulk. I followed the advice of one of the other reviewers and went to Estepa for dinner. It was so wonderful that we returned there the following night. Do make reservations ahead of time, though, as they only have six tables and have to turn away several people each night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

When picking a hotel in El Chalten, one of the key reasons we chose Infinito Sur was because when I was booking, someone named Mathias told us we would be given the only superior room with a view and hydromassage as we were a honeymoon couple. I even emailed a week before we arrived to make sure our reservation was confirmed. Our first impression arriving at Infinito del Sur (after dogding puddle after puddle) was positive- it's a lovely building, with a wonderful main area and great views. Upon arrival however, we were notified (and not too nicely) that the room we reserved was already occupied. We were shown to a tiny room downstairs with a view of tall grass - literally, the whole view was tall grass -perhaps to provide privacy and block out the chaos of half-built houses scattered around. We were told that all the rooms had the same view and that the hydromassage was really nothing special. While filling out paperwork upstairs, we saw that another room was free - slightly bigger with a nicer view. I asked if it would be possible for us to move into that room instead and was met with an "I don't understand - it's the same view." Pretty unbelievable, but we were allowed to move. In any event, the staff there could definitely be nicer. There's a bit of jekyll and hyde attitude from the front desk girls that we really didn't appreciate. Sometimes nice, sometimes completely cold bordering on rude. Still, we did end up getting a bottle of champagne the next night - I'm not sure if it was to apologize for the inconvenience about our room being given away or if they do that for all honeymoon couples.

The rocky beginning and sometimes iffy service aside, the hosteria itself is really very cute and cozy. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. For us, the real charm of the place was in the people who were staying there. Especially on days when the weather was really too bad to hike, the guests all ended up chatting about how to get on the wifi (service was iffy - there was no terminal for guests to use) in the main room and really having a wonderful time.

I would definitely recommend it - it's a decent location, quiet (apparently it used to be very loud with some kind of bar nearby but now it's really very quiet), the rooms are nice (and bathrooms have radiant heated floors) and overall the place is worth the premium over some of the other lodgings in El Chalten.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

This is a very small but friendly, clean and confortable hotel in El Chalten. There are only 9 rooms, all simple but nice bed and great shower. The hotel itself is pretty new and there is a nice view of the Fitz Roy.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Really enjoyed this place. Beautifully built and decorated; clean and modern rooms, and nice, helpful staff. It was a little noisy when people were coming and going, but that was my experience at all 3 places I stayed in Argentina. We had one issue where our key card access didn't work and the place wasn't staffed after 11 pm so we were locked out and were panicking a little. Luckily the town is small enough that someone at a corner bar sent me to a restaurant to get help and somehow they produced a key card for us. The staff didn't seem phased by this the next morning, which seemed a strange reaction. I'd recommend checking to make sure your key card works. Nevertheless, I'd definitely return to this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Spent two nights at Hosteria Infinito Sur after checking some other places at El Chalten.
Rooms are pretty nice, king bed size with a fully equipped bathroom. Comfortable shared living area with books, newspapers, magazines and a TV .
Little bit more expansive than other options at El Chalten , but definetly worth the money!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria Infinito Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Infinito Sur

Address: Riquelme 208, El Chalten, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Infinito Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hosteria Infinito Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Infinito Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.