We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodge in area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Cerros

Save Saved
You added Los Cerros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Los Cerros
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Martin 260, El Chalten, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in El Chalten
Orinda
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best lodge in area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hotel sits up on a hill in the middle of el Chalten. The rooms are average as is the food but the service is excellent. It's roughing it a bit but consider where you are. There aren't a lot of choices where you can stay but there are some very good restaurants in el Chalten. They did a very good job at this hotel. They cleaned our rooms twice a day. The best hiking is from this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Los Cerros sit prominently on top of hill overlooking the main street in El Chalten. Its dining room looks over the street and also gives you great views of the valley El Chalten sits in. Having breakfast while looking at the views makes waking up in the morning a lot easier. Their breakfast is average for Argentina; there's a standard spread of cereals, ham, cheese, pastries, etc. Their dinner, however, is amazing. I didn't eat at a lot of places in town, but of those I did, theirs was the best. Our room was sufficient. They keep the hallways quite warm which in turn heated our room up to an uncomfortable level. Fortunately there is a large window you can open to cool the room down at night. The bed was a bit hard, but not bad. There is only a comforter and no sheet on the bed. Overall, I would recommend the hotel, but there is probably something more comfortable you can find for cheaper if you are looking for a hotel rather than a hostel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the hotel have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, NH
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on the half board plan. We stayed in a premium room on the top floor. The room was spacious. but it was strange to have the sink outside the bathroom. It was incredibly hot due to the unseasonal warm weather. We asked for a fan and was told there wasn't one. When we asked a second time, someone located a fan, which helped. There were several barking dogs that contributed to our lack of sleep, along with the heat. The meals were nothing special. Some of the staff were accommodating, others were not. Martin, the driver, was wonderful. He picked us up at the airport in El Calafate and drove us back to town. We booked the half board program to get the free transfer. In retrospect, we wished we had booked the bed and breakfast rate and paid extra for the transfer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It is disappointing to pay over $400 USD per night for a hotel room with rock hard pillows, a tiny shower, a double bed made from two twins pushed together where you can feel the wood in the middle, food priced at two to three times the price of neighboring restaurants, and, worst of all, a petulant staff. Save your money and stay at one of the many other hotels in El Chalten.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains have a spectacular view. The other side of the hotel has a poor view. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Los Cerros is a nice hotel. Everything is good and the service tries hard to make your stay pleasant but things overall could run a bit more smoothly: I had a few back and forths about how to pay a day trip (directly to the hotel or to the vendor etc etc), the hotel was only half full but they gave all the rooms in the same corridor so I could hear the neighbours etc etc. Not exactly luxury but does the job in Chalten.

Room Tip: Rooms dont have great sound proofing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed with the nice people at Los Cerros during their opening week of their spring season. While they were still working out a few opening bugs, the hotel was very clean and comfortable, with pleasant common areas and great views. The rooms are larger than I expected with simple decor in keeping with the location. If, like us, you are traveling to El Chalten to spend time in the mountains, this quality of the hotel is a perfect match for the trip, and I believe the best option in town. However, don't expect the type of amenities one would find in an urban setting. We found the staff to be attentive and pleasant, and the restaurant to be average. All in all, if you go to Los Cerros expecting a hotel that is a fit for its surroundings, your expectations will be exceeded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Mitchell, KY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Los Cerros is fantastically positioned on a rise above town with great views of the mountains and ready access to the local hiking trails. Highlights of this property include large well equiped rooms, comfortable beds, great views from the rooms, happy hour discounts at the bar, and a mesmerizing view from the above average restaurant. Transportation to and from el Calafate was adequate. Front desk service was spotty depending on who was manning the desk (I saw this comment on another review as well). If internet connectivity is important, be warned that the wi-fi speed and reliability is terrible. The cozy nature of the lobby/bar/dining room lent itself to meeting other guests which was another plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Cerros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cerros

Address: San Martin 260, El Chalten, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Los Cerros 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Los Cerros is located in El Chaltén at the feet of the most imposing mountains of Patagonia.Its large windows allow you to enjoy panoramic views of the valleys, lakes and mountains that surround this young Patagonian town founded in 1985.Lingering all day long in the hotel is really tempting but the rustic nature that surrounds it calls you to enjoy scores of activities in the land of the legendary Cerro Fitz Roy and the imposing Viedma glacier.The outings to the Lago del Desierto, to the base of the Fitz Roy, to the lake and to the glacier of the Cerro Torre are real musts to have a full picture of this region, where much still remains greatly undiscovered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Los Cerros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cerros El Chalten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Cerros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.