We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nothofagus Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nothofagus Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Nothofagus Bed & Breakfast
Hensen esquina Riquelme, El Chalten 493087, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 El Chalten B&B and Inns
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great budget B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Clean and well run. Super accommodating hosts with helpful trekking, dining and overall travel advice. Convenient location, 2 blocks off the main strip, 10 min walk to bus station, with a small grocery store and bakery near by. Breakfast is good, but basic. (fresh bread, cheese, ham, cake, coffee, tea...) In the evening, the front foyer, with free coffee, tea and canisters of hot water, provides a cozy area for unwinding and eating a self-catered dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    42
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
84
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in a double room with private bathroom and a view of Mount Fitzroy and found the B&B a perfect place to relax after a day's walking. The location is good for access to the trails as well as being within 10 minutes walk of the bus station.

The room was clean, the owners were always helpful and welcoming and there was a good, friendly atmosphere.

It's probably worth mentioning that although they do ask for a reconfirmation of bookings a couple of days ahead we emailed about four days ahead because of travel plans and they seemed fine with this so they do seem to exercise a bit of flexibility.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here two nights in a room with shared bath. This is a clean and well run B&B, well located about 5 minutes from the main street. The hosts were very helpful with trekking advice, maps and recommendations. Only downside is that the B&B is not very cozy and breakfast while standard, is relatively basic. There is no real room to relax outside of the breakfast room, and our room (bottom floor) was relatively sparse. Walking around town we saw a few places that looked much warmer (log cabin feel), but if you are looking for a simple, clean place, it's a good bet.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good location, although we had a car. At first I was hesitant about shared bathrooms but they were clean and we rarely saw any other guests. Breakfast was the usual and adequate but they should shave off the top 2 feet of the tall shrubs outside so guests can see El Chalten in the morning. They know the area trails very well and have good maps up on he walls. Of note is the owners' flexibility and kindness. They kept beer in their fridge for us although we realized later they sell it. When our adult son arrived unexpectedly at 10pm, New Years Eve, they allowed him to sleep in our room on the floor at no charge. We witnessed them deal kindly with another couple who had not brought enough cash and arranged payment another way.
Such patience and flexibility is not always the rule. We would certainly stay with them again if we return.

Room Tip: The downstairs area looked a bit more private, like having your own suite. The downstairs bathroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a well located b&b with helpful owners. We had lost luggage on route and they were exceptionally attentive in assisting. We got lots of great tips on where to eat, trekking etc. I would have stayed longer - they are obviously very busy so make sure you book ahead. The only issue is their requirement to email, call and reconfirm the booking and no credit card. Travelling from Australia, this is a pain. Navigating argetina's phone system is not fun on mobiles. I guess the expectation is that everyone will have email access- but it would be good to make the booking and just be confident you only had to that once! Otherwise would thoroughly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the peak!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a clean and comfy B&B...probably one of the nicer places right in town. You can choose a room with a shared bathroom, or one with a private bathroom. We payed a little extra for the latter. Our room had a view of Fitzroy in the morning, which was fantastic. Everything in town is within walking distance and this is no exception as it's just off the "main strip" but still reasonably quiet.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

À 7 minutes walk from THE busstation, Nothofagus b&b offers very clean; good sized rooms. We had à double room and had to share à nice bathroom with à triple room. No complaints. THE breakfast is complete. Coffee / tea brown and white bread; juice/ yoghurtdrink; jam, cheese and ham.
When you arrivé by bus it stops at the rangerstation for 10 minutes and you get a quick explanation about El Chalten and walks. Also you can get some walkplans. Good organised. There is à good choice of restaurants. We tried à few and found Aonikenk (150 m. From THE busstation the best. Mathilde ,a small shop, at the big road, serves very good coffie and all shorts of tea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nothofagus Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothofagus Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hensen esquina Riquelme, El Chalten 493087, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We think, as many other people, that traveling is one of the best things in which we can devote our time and invest our money. And certainly, we also share the taste for incredibly beautiful places, near or far away, in which nature takes amazing forms and which may be enjoyed in very different ways. For that reason, we chose one of the most wonderful places to live and to enjoy with every guest his experience in El Chaltén, a unique place. We started to build our house in 1999. It took some time, and in november of the year 2001 we finally opened B&B, were we offer tourists comfortable rooms, with private bathrooms or shared bathrooms, warmly decorated, and carefully cleaned. Nothofagus B&B is a small place, it only has seven rooms. Therefore, it offers our guests a very quiet space and enables us to provide to each of our guests a caring and personal service. We look forward to see you here. Eva and Gerardo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Nothofagus Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nothofagus Bed And Breakfast
Nothofagus Hotel El Chalten
Ahc El Chalten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nothofagus Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.