We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and location but needs a good scrub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica

Save Saved
You added PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Las Loicas 97, El Chalten 9301, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in El Chalten
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good service and location but needs a good scrub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The highlight of the place is the service. The front desk staff gave great advice and really made us feel welcome. They even made us some mate one evening. Further, it is well located for the main hikes from el chalten and close to good restaurants. The only issue is that the place needs a very good cleaning the rooms were a bit dusty and the walls have a few marks. Finally, the breakfast needs some croissants.

Despite the issues above, I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
35
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zell am See, Austria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

we stayed in a hostel in el chaltén and looked at many other hotel rooms in before we found this on the edge of the city. its about a 15min walk from the pudu lodge to the bus terminal at the other side of el chaltén, so it's not that much of a problem. the rooms were nice, large and clean. they are building additional rooms, so the entrance road can be muddy, which isn't uncommon in el chaltén. the main hall is very nice with a warm oven which we enjoyed during rainy days, (which by the way are not very uncommon too ;) )
the staff was fantastic: friendly, young like we are and they know a lot about the region. the restaurants they recommended were good plus we got a discount (check out como vaca :)). the breakfast is good for argentinian standards. the rooms are warm and we always had hot water. the wifi worked well but note that in whole el chaltén it's very slow, you can use the pc for free too or watch a video (they had climbing videos of chris sharma there - +++ :) ) we were able to leave some of our stuff there while camping. It has been awesome thanks to the staff there, if you're looking for a luxurous spa vacation without much activities el chaltén isn't the right place for you! if you want some comfort between your hikes this is a great place for you!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at Pudu Lodge for 3 nights at the tail end of high season. The accomodations were convenient for hiking as well as town, and were very quiet at that time. I'm not sure how noisy they would be in high- season, as the doors were quite loud when opened & closed, but we had no problem due to the low occupancy rate.
The rooms were sparcely furnished, but were clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were fine, with great water pressure, and plenty of hot water.
Wifi was accessible in the rooms, and there was a computer for public use in the common area.
The continental breakfasts were good, and plentiful. The owner was very pleasant, and seemed very accommodating.
El Chalten is not a "luxury" destination, and Pudu Lodge was a good place to base ouselves for the hiking.
We would stay here again if we returned.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

You visit El Chalten to walk a lot, not to live in the lap of luxury. In that context, the Pudu Lodge is great place to stay, offering the perfect place to relax after a long hike, without any unnecessary frills. It isn't exactly awesome, but it doesn't seem like the alternatives in El Chalten are all that magnificent either. Rooms are big enough and clean enough, although my bathroom maintained a pretty bad smell throughout my stay. Internet works reliably, if slowly. The location is close the the Fitz Roy trail, but quite distant from other trails and the bus station. While a transfer from/to the bus station is promised, it's only sometimes available (I only received a return transfer). The staff are very friendly, but also mostly useless, as they only provided vague advice and did not even seem to know what services they were meant to offer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Light and airy, good sized bedroom and modern bathroom - with bath and shower. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Wide choice of food for breakfast, including fruit, breads and homemade jams. Liked the apples provided in the room on arrival.
Re previous comments regarding leaking toilet, we would like to say that we do not understand the comments as we had a similar problem with a small leak, but this was dealt with immediately. Also asked for light bulb replacement and again, sorted within 10 minutes of our request. Regarding the flies - apparently this was an exceptional problem in this area and in El Calafate in January. We found them in all places, hotels, restaurants and even shops! The staff did their best to cope with it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights to do trekking. The hotel was a good base with access to the trails right on your doorstep practically. However the quality of the hotel itself was very poor. We had a toilet leak when we arrived but the staff were very unhelpful, the cleaners just kept putting down rags to soak up the water and opening the windows to get rid of the sewer smell (neither worked and our bathroom floor was consistently soaked). After complaining to reception on two consecutive days we went to try and find somewhere else to stay but unfortunately being high season there was no availability so we were stuck. The breakfast was very basic and left out in the sun and flies all morning. Considering most people are there to trek this was very inadequate. Although it was included at the hotel we ended up buying our own breakfast from the lovely bakery next door. The rooms all came off one main corridor which was noisy throughout the night and we heard several guests complaining about this. Finally the reception was never staffed. They tell you that you have to leave your room key behind reception when you leave for the day but good luck getting it back! They had a bell you could ring for attention but it required ringing the bell, banging on the back door and shouting for 5 minutes to get anyone to come. At which point anyone can just come and help themselves to room keys regardless of who they are.

The only good point was that the owner gave us a lift back to the bus station the day we left but this didn't make up for 4 days with a leaky toilet etc.

If you are a solo traveller looking for a basic room whilst trekking then you'll probably be ok but it will still not be value for money. I disagree wholly with the other reviews here - do not recommend. We spent as much time as possible out of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The Pudu Lodge was very confortable, warm and peaceful. The location was perfect to start the trekking and also to eat in the nearest restaurant "EL Muro" which is one of the best in Chalten. The village is really great and the Pudu Lodge made our stay even better. Very recomendable

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica

Address: Las Loicas 97, El Chalten 9301, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.