We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Senyera Cocina Argentina

La Senyera Cocina Argentina
Av. Lago del Desierto S/N, El Chalten, Argentina
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 35 restaurants in El Chalten
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: lasenyerachalten@yahoo.com.ar, no web site.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had the steak and it was cooked well and delicious, a huge chunk of beef :-) Most surprisingly (for Argentina) it even came with a decent sized salad too, which I really appreciated after all the veggie-free heavy-on-the-meat meals that are typical of the country

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    58
    34
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food wasn't tasty but lovely atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Food was sadly bland - was looking forward to the meat stew but it was disappointing. Atmosphere and service lovely though!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“tasty vegetarian stew in a land of beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

like most restaurants in this area, la senyera has beef. i'll tell my beef story in a minute. before that, though, i'd like to say that i loved the vegetarian stew here. it came out steaming hot in a chunky bowl and was loaded with squash, carrots, rice and a plain broth. oh, there were peaches in the stew -- an interesting choice. not my favorite, but i'm not a fan of mixing sweet and savory. for more mature palates, the peaches probably make the stew. the especial kate is a nice salad with corn, onions, apples, oranges and cheese. again, plain and a mix of sweet and savory, but good and clean. we went back the next night on a beef mission. i'm sure their meat is great. the tri-tip looked best. i was afraid to order it, though, because i despise goat cheese and my spanish isn't good enough to make special requests. i ended up with a huge hunka meat that was pretty raw inside and kinda looking too close to the live source somehow for me to really enjoy it. again, probably more my problem than theirs. i'm sticking with veggies from now on. great, attentive service, nice atmosphere, centrally located. overall, a great experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice atmosphere and yummy dishes. We had the vegetarian stews the first time and some beef steak and cheese-nut-pasta the other time. The traditional stews were a good alternation to all the pasta and pizza the past days. Well, the pasta was a bit cold and not so special. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they speak English and German. I totally recommend this restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Recommend by waiter at La Vineria across the street.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

It was a good recommendation. Picnic style tables, very relaxing. The Locro and the Huevos Revueltos were nicely prepared and quite declicious. Dulce de leche crepes with quince preserves were a yummy treat. House wine was fine and prices quite reasonable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Senyera Cocina Argentina also viewed

El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to La Senyera Cocina Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Senyera Cocina Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.