We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Bouquet

Chez Bouquet
39, rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Baie-St-Paul, Quebec, Canada
1 800 841-6839
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 27 restaurants in Baie-St-Paul
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Laval, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The food was good, service ok (the lady who served us looked very tired and not so friendly, but the rest of the staff where lovely). I'm giving a 3/5 because of our service and the terasse was average...plastic chairs, plastic table (cheap looking) and we had paper towel instead of an expected linen cloth for that kind of restaurant (pricing).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    17
    26
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

First it look good , wine cellar home food, fresh with we fish we hunt . Except the bear . It is all [--].
At first no table they said . It seems she did not know what was going on in her place . On the left a table was paying the bill . Finally another saw us and yes ! Eureka you can wait at the bar . We had a drink and nice chat . The only one nice waiter in the bar .
45 min for the main courses . Pintade I ordered and I got a vulgar chicken . Over cooked veggies . Everything was certainly from a can and frozen . For the wine it was worse when you say Wine cellar , I would think wine lover . And not a poor selection wine a wine cellar (fridge) :-(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love the local fare, cheese, meat, bread, all Charlevoix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent lunch. Tasty and presented beautifully. It was a cold and clammy day. The fireplace added a special touch for lunch.

Service was slow but early in the season and mid week so the one waitress was going flat out.

The street is under construction so it was hard to get there. NO fault of the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food but poor service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were at Baie St-Paul for Christmas Eve dinner and made a reservation at Chez Bouquet. I was told over the phone that there were several vegetarian options in the menu but when we arrived we learned that there was a fixed menu for the evening and none vegetarian. First disappointment. On the other hand my three kids had to order expensive things they didn't like. The service was terrible, it took us 3 1/2 hours for dinner since we had to wait long minutes for each time. Second one.
Once we received an entrée were hadn't ordered and the server got angry!!! Third and enough for not coming back.
By the way the quality of food was more than excelent for an adult.
Good luck!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a special treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

first rate cooking, pleasant ambiance with original decorations and excellent wait staff. Soft music is a plus

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Bouquet also viewed

Baie-St-Paul, Quebec
Baie-St-Paul, Quebec
 
Baie-St-Paul, Quebec
Baie-St-Paul, Quebec
 

Been to Chez Bouquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Bouquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.