We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad second experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge la Maison Otis

Save Saved
You added Auberge la Maison Otis to your Saves list
Auberge la Maison Otis
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge la Maison Otis
23 rue St-Jean-Baptiste, Baie-St-Paul, Quebec G0A 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Baie-St-Paul
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad second experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Our first experience at the Maison Otis had been quite a pleasant one. We stayed in a quiet room on the second floor. Although the bathroom was quite plain, the room itself was well decorated and charming. When planning our second trip through Baie St Paul we did not hesitate to rebook at this auberge. Unfortunately our second experience was pathetic. We booked room 11 which is described as "Grand Luxe". We took that to mean luxury - our mistake! When we checked in we were surprised to find out it was on the first floor. It was right beside the main entrance and faced a busy street. It was very dark. We could hear people walking in the room on the second floor and much to our digust we could hear the water running down the drain pipes when they flushed the toilet. The red whirltub surrounded by mirrors in the miniscule bathroom looked like it belonged in a 1970's motel with shag carpet! We immediately returned to the front desk and asked to change rooms. Our request was denied because they did not have anything similar or inferior available. When we checked out on the following day we did not hesitate to let the staff know our disappointment. This was an expensive room that definitely did not live up to our expectations - especially since it was described as luxury. Once again they didn't seem to care and made no apologies. While our first experience had made us want to return, our second one had completely changed our opinion. We will never stay at this auberge again and we would not recommend it to anyone. Further down the road, in the town of La Malbaie, the accommodations are significantly better.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    5
    9
    6
See reviews for
8
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

The dinners were elaborate affairs if a bit too long, sometimes lasting 2 hours. Our children ranging from 17 to 8 years old were climbing the walls after the first hour. The number of courses, diverstiy and quality of the food was very good when served. The service however, was lacking. Red Wine was served too warm or delivered late.
We stayed in a mulitroom apartment, with our 4 children, whose accomodations were "charming". Could use a face lift, but overall acceptable.
We will look for other accomodations next time.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

We stayed here overnight on the way up to see the Saguenay Fjord and were very pleased. It took us a while to trundle our suitcases around the three buildings to the registration desk, and then up steep, narrow steps and across the walkway to our teeny tiny room (15 in one of the annexes) - but! Once we were checked in, all was well. Dinner was a high point. We had the five-course meal, and indeed each course was light and elegant, definitely the best and most imaginative food we had during our short stay in Quebec. Breakfast the next morning was equally good. The location on a main street makes it a perfect choice if you want to stroll around town. Baie-St.Paul itself is nestled in a bowl by the bay - drive just out of town on the main road for a spectacular view back over the landscape.

  • Liked — location and dining
  • Disliked — teeny tiny room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

Selected this inn to stay in, en route to Tadoussac, as a result of reading the reviews previously posted on this website. We stayed for just the one night on August 17th. It's location on the main road, rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste, is ideal as you are right in the middle of the town. Check in seemed a bit muddled, but that could have been our fault. No problems on check out - except having to pay the bill! Parking was no problem as they have their own spaces front and back. We stayed in the annexe, Maison Danais, and the room was comfortable, with a sofa bed for our two daughters aged 12 and 9. The swimming pool was directly across the corridor from our room and it was fine for a quick dip. As we were only staying the one night we had to have the dinner, bed and breakfast package, so we had to pay a bit more than I would have liked, but it was worth it, as the food served was delicious and well-presented. Adults get a 6 course evening meal, children get 3 courses. This sounds excessive but it isn't too bad as each course is relatively small in size. Mind you, by the time you've finished your 6th... Some knowledge of French is useful here, if only for menu translation. The breakfasts were also of a similar quality and the waiting staff on both occasions were friendly and efficient. If I have to make a criticism then it would be that we had noisy neighbours in the room next door, who seemed to like having the TV and their voices loud at around 10:00 - 11:00 pm, which was a bit late for our liking, but then that was hardly the inn-keeper's fault.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

We stayed at this hotel from December 23-26th - a ski holiday. The hotel was what made our holiday as there was little snow on the ski hills. The room was amazing- we stayed in Room #28- it has an huge bathroom with a jacuzzi. The bed is comfortable and big and has a nice little living room area with a TV.

The staff is AMAZING at the hotel. We were always treated like royalty. It would defintely help to have some knowledge of French as it was hard to sometimes communicate. The staff overall was always attentive and we got outstanding service.

The food was incredible. And this is coming from two very picky eaters. My bf is a very good cook so we find it hard sometimes to eat out b/c he cooks better at home. Anyway the food here he approved- as did I. It was a nice atmosphere (very romantic) in the restaurant and the meals were fresh and very well done. On Christmas Eve we got a special meal with 3 appetizers and different main courses. The soups here are amazing as well - Breakfast was always very good- could get cereal, eggs, french toast, pancakes, etc.

Overall I was very happy with this hotel. It is also situated with many small shops in the area so it is nice to walk from the hotel and see some of the shops. As a surprise on Christmas day we got a nice teddy bear - a christmas bear- wishing us a Merry Christmas. These were the nice little touches that we appreciated.

I would definetly stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, cleanliness, class
  • Disliked — would be nice to have an outdoor hot tub after skiing...
  • Tips/Secrets — bring a calling card- very expensive to call from the rooms
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

I think the previous review was extremely unfair to the Maison Otis and it did not state what type of room the people stayed in or any other details. If you review another "search engine travel review site", you will find that the reviews were extremely favourable, with comments stating that individuals would recommend and return to the Otis.

A large group (20+ people) of my friends stayed at the Maison Otis over the Christmas Holidays (5 to 6 nights) and we had booked seven (7) rooms/units in total. Various rooms were booked; everything from a standard room to one of the condos. One thing that I must strongly comment on is the fact that the website pictures do NOT give the Maison Otis rooms justice. I think this hotel is much nicer in "person" than is presented in website pictures.

The standard room in the main house is as stated, standard. It's functional and clean with warm little touches through-out the room. The mezzanie room is extremely quaint and charming; and not at all as rustic as the website pictures. The pictures on the website really do not present the rooms as well as it deserves. The room is small with a sofa-bed on the main floor, but the bedroom is in a "loft style" whereas you would need to climb up the side stairs to the room at the top. This room is best suited for two people or a family with young children. Once the sofa-bed is pulled out, you would need to climb over the bed to get to the washroom. The Danais pavillion rooms are exactly as presented. The rooms are decorated with dark rich french traditional furniture and were really very nice (four poster bed and all). They are much larger than expected and we were able to fit a family of four in the room, which included a roll-away bed. However, the rooms are much more soft and romantic for couples than for families....but it still worked. The condo was also very functional and family oriented with a kitchen, etc.

One thing that I always look for in a quality hotel is in the bedding, linens, toiletties, heating unit/noise and sound barriers. The Maison Otis offers Lord & Mayfair products and the bedding and linens (especially the towels) were of quality. There's nothing worse then cheap bedding and thin scratchy towels. Not to worry, the Maison Otis had these covered, as well as providing robes for the sauna. We had no problems with the heating unit or any disturbing noise arising from it. The doors and walls were also solid because we couldn't hear any of our neighbours during our total stay. Also, with sofa-beds and roll-aways, at other establishments they're usually uncomfortable and you could feel every spring on your back. Not at the Maison Otis. The sofa-bed was large and the mattress was firm. Wow....this is a huge change from everywhere else we've been to with a sofa-bed. Even the roll-away mattress was solid and firm. Amazing and almost unbelievable.

Comments regarding the pool. We found that the previous comments were unfounded. We have our own pool at home, so we are extremely fussy and picky when it comes to quality and cleanliness of pool water and we did not have any issues at all with the Otis pool. In fact, the pool area is lovely and you could tell that the Maison Otis took the time and trouble to make the environment serene to the point of almost "garden-like" with vines and greenery.

Last, but definitely not least, I have to comment on the food and staff at the Maison Otis. My highest respect goes out to the manager - Robert, and his staff; especially to Martine and Roger. You will find the staff at the hotel extremely professional and polished. All the meals were great and the hotel would make exceptions for any allergies or various diets (ie. vegetarian). Breakfast was excellent and very quick, and you could get an assortment of different things to eat (ie. poached eggs, with french toast and bacon and chocolate croissants and.....the list goes on). Dinner at the Maison is extremely good as they are a 4 star Debeur recognized establishment. This is definitely a foie gras and Angus beef establishment and not a burgers and fries place. They also have an excellent wine selection. We had several great bottles of wine at the restaurant.

Overall, this is a solid four (plus) star hotel. If you're looking for a little french country charm, with a little romance thrown in, and good food, this is probably the place for you. I would not rate this a five star establishment yet, but with a few upgrades and a little bit of time, the potential is there. Would I return and recommend? Absolutely. If you do visit the Maison Otis, don't forget to take the time to absorb the walls. You'll see some beautiful paintings by local artists (note - Baie Saint Paul is famous for their art).

  • Liked — Location & All Inclusive Pricing. Charming restaurant and rooms. Great staff.
  • Disliked — No elevators. Needs a hot tub after a day of skiing.
  • Tips/Secrets — The parking lot is in the back of the hotel. Try to learn a little French before you go; English is definitely a second language in the Charlevoix area. The casino is 45 minutes away and Chateau Frontenac is 1 hour away.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copster Green Lancashire UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

Wouldn't stay here again. This hotel needs an update and a good clean. Tired, over furnished rooms, our room was tiny, with far too much fussy furniture. Pool, water wasn't being filtered, definately unhealthy. Breakfast ok, but no atmosphere in the dining room and so so service. Only stay here if you are desperate.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge la Maison Otis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge la Maison Otis

Address: 23 rue St-Jean-Baptiste, Baie-St-Paul, Quebec G0A 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Baie-St-Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Baie-St-Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Auberge la Maison Otis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Maison Otis Hotel Baie-St-Paul
Auberge La Maison Otis Baie-St-Paul, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge la Maison Otis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.