We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic location, so-so room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine Belle Plage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Domaine Belle Plage to your Saves list
Le Domaine Belle Plage
192 rue sainte-Anne,, Baie-St-Paul, Quebec G3Z 1P8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Baie-St-Paul
Wilmington, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Scenic location, so-so room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This motel/inn in Baie St. Paul is located about a mile from downtown, on a smal inlet of the St. Lawrence. Very nice location and offers a pleasant walk to and from downtown along a neighborhood street. It is an old-fashioned motel/inn combination property housed between 3 properties. We opted for a smaller room and regret that. The bathroom was very small. This room is fine for 1 person, but not for a couple. The building we stayed in was renovated a couple of years ago and does provide a common area on the lower level - kitchen if you want to bring in some takeout or need wine glasses (that was a nice perk) and a sitting room. The breakfast was excellent with many hot and cold options. Served buffet style in a large dining room overlooking the inlet. Everyone was very pleasant; we are from the states and were touring on our motorcycle. After being just outside Quebec City, we wanted to explore the coastline and chose Baie St. Paul as our base for 2 nights. We noticed less English spoken as we travelled out of the Quebec City area. We faired out fine, though. I would definitely recommend choosing a larger room/price point. And be warned that the streets in downtown are all dug up/mid-construction - they are undergoing an upgrade to their utility infrastructure (our dates were 6/22 to 6/24) and the workers were on strike. Not sure how long this project will take.

Room Tip: Study the website photos and descriptions carefully and call the property if you have questions prio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielL661, Owner at Le Domaine Belle Plage, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you "vtgirl56" for your review, and for the good tips for a best booking experience. We have many rooms choices and if you have questions and want to be sure for your room's choice we are there to give you more information.

Daniel Langlois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I just spent one night in this wonderful auberge. I highly recommend it. The room was very clean and breakfast was generous. Located by the water, it must be marvelous in summer. The hosts were very nice and accommodating. We had shampoo and soap and just needed to ask for the hair dryer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielL661, Owner at Le Domaine Belle Plage, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Diane, thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you have had experience a good stay at our Hotel and thank you for all the the beautiful things you have writed.

Daniel Langlois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I went to "le domaine Belle Plage" with my Montreal outdoors club. The driving weather was horrible, but we were well welcomed when we arrived! The rooms were standard, but clean and most had a fridge. There was soap and towels, but no shampoo or hair-dryer, so bring your own. The food there was delicious and the service very curtious!
This Inn is situated beside the river, which I'm sure is beautiful in the summer (just a lot of broken ice in the winter!). We went to two cross-country ski places nearby and were very impressed with the groomed trails and nice warming huts!
Baie-Saint-Paul is so pretty in the winter - will definitely plan a return trip there!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We very much recommend this place. It's a beautiful old house, decorated with taste. It's owners are warm and charming people. It's location is perfect - close to downtown Baie Saint-Paul, but just far enough so you can enjoy peace and quiet. The view from there is awsome - waterfront, mountains, you have it all. And the price is very reasonnable. We'll certainly return next year.

Room Tip: We had the what they call the "small room", with a view on the water. Less expensive and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I was there for two nights and I am recommending this place. Everything corresponded to my expectations. I wanted equilibrium between activities and resting. Everything was there. Great walk on the beach, the sky, the river, peaceful, calm, action and astonishing view. At The Domaine you can stay outside and enjoy yourself on the propriety, watch the Marina, walk to the peer in few minutes, etc. the building is well preserved and the inside decoration is relaxing. It was a great surprise and discovery. I do not know other places in the area where you have access to all of that during your stay. There is even a pool!
Should you prefer to go out, you can go on the main street by walking and fine nice places. However the food at the Domaine was a very good quality/price ratio. Everyday we took breakfast over there at the buffet. What can you expect in addition to that?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Terrible. Do not, under any circumstances, go to this motel.

I found an exposed needle on the floor next to my bed. Almost stepped on it with my bare feet in the morning. God knows if it was used and by whom.

When I showed the needle to the manager, he said it it wasn't a big deal and that he'll just show it to the housecleaning staff. He said it was from an Epipen (like he's a specialist). I checked online and it was a lancet (for diabetes).

He refused to give me the needle back though. If it's not a big deal, why was he afraid to give it back?

Oh, and we also were missing a towel when we moved in late in the evening and the door wouldn't lock.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanier
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Le Domaine Bell Plage is located on a marina and the view is beautiful.

We took the breakfast deal with the room and it was worth it. The breakfast buffet is excellent. We had the roast beef diner buffet and it was also excellent.

On the days we stayed at Le Domaine Bell Plage, it was very warm and humid. It was also warm in both the dinning room and our room. There are a few ceiling fans in the dinning room and at one point I thought that there was a bit of air conditioning coming in, but definitely not enough to be confortable. There are a lot of windows, but none can be opened.

The ceiling fan in our room was shaking so much it was scary. We actually were afraid that it would fall down on us. Consequently, we felt we couldn't use it. We opened the only window which could be opened, but again, we didn't have enough wind to be confortable.

The young gentlement who checked us out was very polite and well groomed. However, the lady who checked us in and who was also placing individuals in the dining room could use a new hairdoo and it would have been nice to see a smile on her face.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine Belle Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Belle Plage

Address: 192 rue sainte-Anne,, Baie-St-Paul, Quebec G3Z 1P8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Baie-St-Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Baie-St-Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Domaine Belle Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine Belle Plage Baie-St-Paul, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine Belle Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.