We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A waste of $80 and bad energy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L'Orange Bistro

L'Orange Bistro
29 Ambroise Fafard, Baie-St-Paul, Quebec, Canada
418-240-1197
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 32 Restaurants in Baie-St-Paul
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: French, Diner, Continental, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: L'orange Bistro is located in the heart of Baie Saint Paul.The restaurant is in a victorian style building which is more than 150 years old.The restaurant has been opened since 1999, our new Chef is proud to use mainly fresh local produce with a personal touch.There is no dress code.Friendly relaxed atmosphere
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“A waste of $80 and bad energy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I ordered 2 pasta dishes. We only saw the waitress once, no check back, no "Can I get you another drink?". The food was tasteless and we had to wait forever for the check. Not a very welcoming place for non- French Canadians. But they did not have a problem taking our money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    23
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best "moules" ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Wonderful luncheon experience - just a drop in to a great local bistro on the main street; it's in a Charlevoix village whose motto is "Arts et Nature"; best "moules" ever on the terrace opposite the Church; terrfic and most hospitable staff no matter what the language. The Village itself is a wonderful spot full of art galleries and working studios, and with a number of bistros like L'Orange. Will be back to both Baie-St-Paul and L'Orange!
Fringe seasons would be recommended as parking in the Village is pretty limited.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local "gourmandise"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Great local food bistro! A bit pricey but well worth it... They take pride in offering a variety of dishes that use almost nothing but food from the Charlevoix region!
I had ordered a pasta dish that was topped with local chirozzo sausages, roasted red pepers, spices, onions, capers and other fresh ingrediants. This dish was exploding with flavours! I enjoyed it alot!
Like i mentionned, it is a tad pricey but worth it. The atmosphere is very relaxing and cozy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very French!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

When in french speaking land, order some local specialties - you can get fondue or raclette here and it was full of locals - not a tourist trap!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

great plece to eat during the day good customer service good prices and they are quick.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Orange Bistro also viewed

Baie-St-Paul, Quebec
Baie-St-Paul, Quebec
 
Baie-St-Paul, Quebec
Baie-St-Paul, Quebec
 

Been to L'Orange Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Orange Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.