We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodland Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasaga Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Hideaway
Save
You added Woodland Hideaway to your Saves list
115 30th Street North, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2C8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CAD100 (CAD)
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I used trip advisor and found Woodland Hideaway in Wasaga Beach. I read the reviews and thought this sounds good. When we got there we were greeted by Joe and Flora the owners, very nice couple. The grounds were immaculate! The cabin was spotless, private and very cozy. I was amazed at how much thought and care went into this bungalow. Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable bed, hooks where you needed hooks, colour tv and the patio was awesome. We could walk to the beach or to timmies, it was perfect. I can't say enough about the hideaway, I highly recommend it. Did I mention the cabin was SPOTLESS?! I would definitely stay again! Diane and Jim Girard

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

My family and I tried staying at Joe and Flora's Woodland Hideaway last year after some internet browsing. We didn't know what to expect, but we all liked Joe and Flora and their cottage so much that we decided to return this summer -- it was not difficult to decide at all. They were so professional and yet friendly. Their immaculate property had everything we needed, both inside and outside the cottage. The location was ideal: close to the beach and everywhere else yet so quiet and peaceful. (Waking up in the morning was wonderful.) Our time there was great. Our only regret was not being able to stay there longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Booked this accommodation based on other trip advisor reviews with our 2 friends and 8 year old boy we was not disappointed, our 2 bedroom apartment with another pull down double bed was very clean with all amenities including a big gas BBQ. Walking distance to shops, bank and a Tim Hortons that never let us down, the quiet beach was a 2 minute walk down a quiet lane, and only a five minute car ride to the lively Wasaga beach main resort where you can find many bars, restaurants and shops. Thank you Joe and Flora for a wonderfull quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Our first stay with Joe & Flora at Woodland Hideaway was back in 2009 when my husband and I were first married and we wanted a place near the beach. The place is wonderful and is very well taken care of. The rates are great and the cottage is immaculate. In June 2011, we travelled back to Wasaga Beach with our ten month old baby. We were so happy with the hospitality that Joe & Flora provided. It felt like returning home again. I personally felt so happy seeing my baby crawling around on the grass, swinging on the swing and enjoying herself. The property is very well kept.

The decor and rooms are very clean, and well maintained. The comfort level was top notch, sleeping wise. The walk to the beach is perfect. The area is quiet which is nice, no rowdy crowds. I felt safe staying there, 100%.

I would recommend this place to anyone and will gladly make our return here each year. Joe & Flora are wonderful people and we were so happy to see them again. Great, great place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We heard about the Woodland Hideway from a friend at work and checked out their website. We liked what we saw and decided to book for the Civic Long weekend. We immediately fell in love with it upon arriving. The website doesn't do it justice. We met Joe and Flora who were perfect hosts and very accomodating. The grounds were very well maintained and the cottages were clean and spotless inside and out. We had everything we needed in terms of cooking utensils, dishes, appliances and of course a BBQ that came with a full tank of propane. Since a TV was provided, we brought along my son's playstation so that he could play his games and to also watch some movies when we wanted. It also came with a volleyball/ badminton area, a swing set and hammock which we all took advantage of.
The cottage was a five minute walk to the beach and very central to everything we needed.
I felt quite safe and relaxed at this location, which is perfect for couples or families and not really meant for partying teenagers. My son had no problems making new friends while we were there. I would definitely come back again and would highly recommend this perfect little getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Upon our arrival, we were greeted with beautiful smiling faces and a hand shake as if you belong to a large family. What a warm welcome!

We discovered this gem by accident as we were looking as a last minute thing for a place to spend some downtime at Wasaga. How lucky for us that our name was given to Joe & Flora that we were looking for a place to spend the weekend. Joe called me at work to offer his last rental, wich after looking it up on the Internet we agreed to try it out.

The place is impecably clean, not even a cob web appeared. Joe & Flora asked and offered repeatedly if there was anything else to make our stay more comfortable.

We stayed in a two bedroom unit with queen size bed, which was very comfortable - no sore backs in the morning! The kitchen was clean and well equiped, the oven clean and so was the fridge. Even the windows of the unit were clean.

There was a spacious clean deck supplied with a clean B-B-Q, clothesline to dry your towels or bathing suits, umbrella for the patio table with chairs plus a picnic table.

The grounds were clean and well kept. Grass areas, badmington area supplied with rackets and birdies surrounded by pots of flowers here and there.

It was nice to see the owners/operators on the grounds everyday. They were discreet in their presence yet available if you needed something or just to answer any questions you might have and always with a smile.

Pride and joy is reflected throughtout Woodland Hideaway as you can see Joe and Flora enjoy what they are doing. We commend them for they efforts.

This was our first time to Woodland Hideaway but it will definately not be our last. We are looking forward to another weekend later on this year.

Looking forward to see you again, exchange stories and maybe a recipe or two?

Thank you Flora and Joe for your warm hospitality!

Sincerely,

Diane & Michael

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

Read a review of this property on this sight and decided to give it a try. We rented a detached one bedroom cottage and our experience from booking to our mini vacation was super. Our hosts Flora & Joe were extemely friendly and helpful and the accomodations were spotlessly clean, well equipped and comfortable. A very pretty property about 3 blocks Beach Area 5 with a treed setting and birds to watch and enjoy. Full kitchen and queen size bed more comfortable than our bed at home. Quiet area. We will certainly go again.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, spotlessly clean, pretty location
  • Disliked — Liked all of it.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Woodland Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Hideaway

Address: 115 30th Street North, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Wasaga Beach
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodland Hideaway cottages in beautiful Wasaga Beach, Ontario Canada offers 5 fully equipped, very clean and comfortable units on a park-like setting. The cottages are conveniently located in central Wasaga Beach with restaurants, services, attractions, hiking/biking trails all close by and the longest fresh water beach in the world is within a 5 minute walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodland Hideaway Wasaga Beach, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodland Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.