We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Wasaga!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luau Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wasaga Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luau Resort
Save
You added Luau Resort to your Saves list
231 Mosley Street | P.O. Box 280, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 1A3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Wasaga!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We just happened on this place and let me tall you it is a gem. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well maintained. WiFi was excellent and met my business needs.
The grounds are the best kept that I have seen in years and the pool was heated and spotless.
Location is great as it is only a quick walk to the beach and all amenities. We spent two days here and would have liked to stay a week. Wishing now we had known about this place earlier. Next year we have booked for a week.

Room Tip: Hard to choose a room but we did pick room 25 for a week next yr. It has a kitchenette and a king si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    15
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
38
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have read some of the poor reviews about this place and I can completely understand why these patrons were upset. It's a shame that this place is so lame. It's a lovely spot, clean, well taken care of, and deceivingly kid friendly based on the nice play structure in the courtyard. My family of 5 (kids 6, 3 and 8 months) was made to feel unwanted from the moment I booked the room on the phone and asked for a crib: "No!"

My little one was not allowed in the pool unless I bought a specific swim diaper from the front desk (even though I think mine was perfectly fine). When they say no guests, they mean NO GUESTS! We had another family with us when we came back to change for dinner: "I see you have brought guests with you. They are not allowed in the unit!"

Geesh! We were only here for one night, and just used the room to change and sleep and we received a very disproportionate amount of unpleasantness for the time we spent on the resort! This woman seems way more concerned with rules and the enforcement of rules, than with the comfort of her guests.

Unfortunately, she probably won't respond to this review as they are lacking some technology. I had to handwrite a credit card approval and email a picture of it to her in order to hold the room!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hello my wife Melanie and I have stayed there a total of 3 times. The latest was last week. We always stay for a week. I would say that this resort is the best on Wasaga Beach. For the price, amenities and the friendly service they provide. Their staff keep the resort spotless and there are numerous activities to enjoy for the whole family. The pool area is perfect, you are only a 10 minute walk from the longest freshwater beach in the world and only a 10 minute drive to all the stores and restaurants you could ever want. You are 30 minutes from Blue Mountain ski area for those who love winter sports. Honestly I would recommend this establishment to anyone. Phil July 2014

Room Tip: If you want to receive the free Wi-Fi pick a cottage or room closer to the main office the further o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Always... we can't wait for our annual vacation at The Luau in Wasaga. From the moment we arrive and are greeted warmly by owners Monique and Nick until we leave 2 weeks later, every day is a pleasure. And that's because this resort is well run with a consistency that makes you comfortable. Always... the surrounding grounds are beautiful and well kept, the rooms spotless and well equipped, the staff efficient and pleasant, the pool sparkling and inviting, the atmosphere relaxed and enjoyable, Plus factors are the location on the river and the short walk to the beach. There is no way we would ever change!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are visiting Wasaga Beach you should definitely consider staying at the Luau Resort. We came on a busy, hot weekend, and when we turned into the Luau from the street it was as if we had entered an oasis. We were greeted warmly by the staff in the office, contrary to other reviews I have read (there aren’t signs outlining the rules all over the place either- save for the pool.) There are flowers, fountains, and manicured lawns throughout the grounds. It is situated on the river, which made for a nice backdrop for the resort, with people passing by in motor boats. And it is literally a 4 minute walk across the street, through the provincial park, to the beach. However, the biggest surprise came with the room. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, with air conditioning, and a living room, bathroom and kitchenette. The kitchenette came with everything a kitchen would need (plates, utensil, cutlery, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, etc.), except an oven. It was an extremely clean suite, with lovely furniture, and homey decorations throughout. The nightly rate for staying there is a bit high, but you get what you pay for (just look at the motels next to the Luau.) We will definitely consider staying there if we return to Wasaga Beach.

Room Tip: Be careful if you want to walk along busy Mosely Street, to the town - there are no sidewalks here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

August 2013 was our 20th anniversary at the Luau. It is a fantastic family getaway. Very peaceful, relaxing and such beautiful scenery. Great staff and very well maintained. .Monique and Nick (the owners) truly care that everyone at their resort is treated with respect and are very accommodating. We stay in the 3 bedroom cottage right on the river for 3 glorious weeks. I have 3 boys aged 24, 19 and 16. They absolutely love this place. My 2 younger boys love to fish and they can do so right outside the cottage. Every year this is the only vacation they want. We have asked several times if they would like to go somewhere different but they won't even consider it. All 3 of my boys learned to swim at their wonderful heated pool. The Luau is only 3 minutes from the beach area and boardwalk. There are many activities within a short distance from the Luau. Some or them are; mini putting, giant slide ride, splash pad, and several eateries from fast food to fine dining. If your looking for a safe, peaceful and quiet family escape, the Luau is sure to
please.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I just couldnt believe what a beautiful place the Luau is! Fabulous location! the park is just across the street and a few minutes to the beach. The Luau has beautiful grounds, and a really beautiful pool which was heated as well. Not noisy at all like so many other places! We loved it and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: we stayed in an upper level in a motel room by the patio overlooking the water. next time we will tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Luau Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luau Resort

Address: 231 Mosley Street | P.O. Box 280, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 1A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Luau Hotel Wasaga Beach
Luau Resort Wasaga Beach, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luau Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.