We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luau Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wasaga Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luau Resort
Save
You added Luau Resort to your Saves list
231 Mosley Street | P.O. Box 280, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 1A3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Luau is a very nice clean motel and in a good location with a short walk to the beach.
The grounds, pool and the motel are well maintained. The small touches like the beautiful flowers, demonstrates how much pride the owner has. There is an area to cook outside with picnic and patio tables, which is a nice touch. It was obvious that the guests who were staying at the Luau are all very respectable people and understand that to have a nice time you can enjoy your vacation without creating a disturbance to fellow guests. We found the Luau after leaving another motel nearby that was not what it appeared to be on the Internet.
We highly recommend the Luau.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    15
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
38
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Another absolutely amazing 11 nights vacation at the Luau Resort! We have been coming to this beautiful resort every year since our kids have been babies (now 16 and 11), and they both refer to this as "their second home". The owners, their family and staff are very friendly and ALWAYS go out of their way to ensure we/their guests have an amazing time. The rooms/suites are immaculately clean and the grounds and pool are welcoming and relaxing. It is right across from the beach and on the river. We love sitting by the river on the "golf green grass" watching the boats and jet skis go by and watching our kids feed the ducks. We can honestly say that this is the best gem in Wasaga - we have referred friends over the years, they have stayed, thoroughly enjoyed themselves and have thanked us for the referral. We will continue to stay here yearly, call this our "second home" and continue to refer friends and family. Thanks so very, very much for a wonderful, relaxing vacation - we look forward to seeing you again next summer (wish it could be sooner)!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancaster
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just returned home to our upper middle class home in Ancaster On after a nightmare weekend at the luau
We had planned a long weekend (kid free) with friends travelling from Pennsylvania.
Upon arrival at the Luau my 45 year old Jewish husband had his first disheartening meeting with the "gistapo"
The elderly inn keeper was not happy that another couple had joined us. So the rate we were quoted all of a sudden went up!
That evening after a walk on the boardwalk we returned to our room placed 2 candles on our patio table and sat down to enjoy our friends and a glass or 2 of wine (and a piece of cake for my bday). We were watched all evening by the innkeeper making her rounds we were quiet and tidy and called it a night early 10:30ish. Once inside the smoke detector went off 2 times for no apparent reason (annoying )
We heard crying babies and loud noises most of the night but never complained.
The next morning a single 32 year old friend of ours whom happens to be an accomplished musician came for a visit and after a day at the beach decided to stay we were approached immediately by the inn keeper that she had to leave.....and right away.
Weird like we had been being watched since our arrival!
My husband and our guest decided to rent her a room to make our friend feel welcome and enjoy the beach with us.
Problem solved???? No way.....At 11pm that night after thinking we did the right thing so our friend was now a guest not a visitor we were approached rudely again this time by a very ridged and rude women saying party is over and your guest should return to her room. We were completely shocked. No chance to go inside no apologies for maybe laughing or having fun which was apparently not aloud. Just rudely told to go to bed and send our friend back to her own room alone for the night. I can not put into words how we felt. It was so humiliating and embarrassing to think you could be treated like this on vacation. We will not return and will tell everyone that we know of our experience. I would like to add my husband and I own 2 successful businesses and would never treat our members or clients like this under any circumstances. This year alone we have been on 8 trips all over the world and even in a third world country we have not experienced anything close to this horrendous treatment. Please please stay away. I wish i had time to go on about what else i saw happen to other guest. Just thought i should keep it to my experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel. It is truly a resort Motel. It is clean, beds were very comfortable and the units nicely equipped. The pool is wonderful and there are lots of activities for kids, badminton, shuffle board, crochet fishing off the dock. My wife and 7 year old daughter loved the pool. We had a great time and Monique was a fantastic host. The staff is friendly and engaging. A real gem. We stayed in a two room suite and it was modern and very clean. The grounds are kept impeccable and is beautiful. Convenient location just walking distance to main town, Nice views of the river and the beach is just across the street a 3 minute walk. We will definitely be back. They do have a couple of nice well maintained docks for people with boats or jetski..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLLINGWOOD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We took our 3 children with us this time and they had a wonderful time playing outside games and feeding the ducks, swimming in the pool and the beach - so much to do, so little time! We'll be back in August! Thanks Monique! you always look after us!

Room Tip: We like the two bedroom suites with queen beds - they are like being at home! beautifully decorated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was my first overnight stay in wasage and I was rather worried as there are no name brand hotels there. but this place was as my husband said "heaven". it has a cottagy feel . very relaxing . very clean. we had the 2 bedroom cottage with breath taking view of the river and the beautiful flowers that are hanging everywhere. very private. great housekeeping service. it is a great place for children they have a beautiful pool, badminton , croquet , ping pong. my 8 year old did not want to leave the resort to go to the beach it was so good. it is true they do not allow visitors to use the facilities but neither do other hotels that need key cards to get into their facilities. so no you cannot book a room and then invite all your extended family over but that is why it is so relaxing because only people who are registered can be there. there were rarely more than 5-6 people in the pool even when they were full up as the beach was right there. there were at least 3 other families with children and everyone seemed to have a good time. I should say that I was rather curious as to how good saga resort was if it was no 1 . I went there to check out the rooms and the property. it does not compare; it is more expensive (just) , no views, not so close to the beach, no landscaping and the motel room (the only one I was shown) was dark and dingy. I would highly recommend luau unless you like busy, loud hotels with drunken partying. it is great for families and couples.

Room Tip: I am a thorough researcher so I saw all the rooms for future stays best views for the living room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a decent affordable hotel in an overpriced beach town. Clean, comfortable beds, nice washrooms, and beautiful grounds. Owners friendly and more than accommodating. Yeah they don't allow visitors - which given the small size of their facilities (in ground pool and bbq area) is understandable as this beach town can get a little crazy on the weekend with partying and drinking and I suspect they have had hozer problems in the past.
The hotel is just slightly away from the main drag - like maybe 1/4 of a mile at the most - but the huge and wide beach is easily accessible by crossing the road and heading down one of the many paths - after about a two minute walk you are at the beach. I usually provide pictures of the hotels we stay at but was a whirlwind tour - Overall yes this place isn't the Waldorf but is a nice place to hang your hat for a night or two.

Room Tip: If you have the time visit this hotel and location not on the weekend - we went on a Thursday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luau Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luau Resort

Address: 231 Mosley Street | P.O. Box 280, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 1A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Luau Hotel Wasaga Beach
Luau Resort Wasaga Beach, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luau Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.