We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It all tastes the same.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Big Chris BBQ Roadhouse - CLOSED

Big Chris BBQ Roadhouse
140 Main Street, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z2K7, Canada
(705) 812-8079
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It all tastes the same.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I understand the concept of a bbq restaurant but everything was buried in sauce to the point where you couldn't taste any flavor in the meat.
The portions were large.
The seating was very uncomfortable. The indoor dining area we were seated at was outfitted with outdoor patio chairs that made us sit very awkwardly low to eat dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not fast food and not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

sure you get alot food here but you can never finish not saying bad thing but come on now make food bit cheaper serve less would be so much better

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Huge portions, good food avoid the pork”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the place if you are hungry...really hungry.
Basic barbeque fare, good wings and fries, but watch out for the pork, tastes ....strange, and when you have a pound of the stuff heaped in front of you, strange is not good.
Burgers are great, fries crisp, waitress is meduim rare because they don't have enough staff when it gets busy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

true southern BBQ, super tender ribs, and great sauces, friendly service, prices were fair, would return again

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bland & Waterlogged pork”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We thought we'd try this place and wish we hadn't. We had some kind of pulled pork sandwich. The pork tasted as though it had been taken out of a pot of boiling water; it was waterlogged and mushy. This is not our idea of barbecue fare and we won't be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Chris BBQ Roadhouse also viewed

Wasaga Beach, Ontario
Wasaga Beach, Ontario
 
Wasaga Beach, Ontario
Wasaga Beach, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Chris BBQ Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.