We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wasaga Beach Provincial Park

Wasaga Beach Provincial Park
11-22nd Street North, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2V9 , Canada
705-429-2516
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great little getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A group of friends and I decided on Wasaga Beach as an end of summer getaway and birthday trip for my 19th birthday. We rented a cottage for a week just after labor day in September. The weather was definitely not on our side as it rain most of our stay but we made the most of what we had and explored the city and played board games on our cottage to pass the rainy time. On the chance days there was no rain we spent the day walking the beach and taking pictures. Overall the city is a nice little place that I'd love to visit again. The beach is well maintained and the hospitality from the locals is great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    50
    22
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A GREAT beach with lots to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I LOVE wasaga beach. It's not just a beach but a whole lil community. The shops boutiques and eateries are plentiful. There are 3 main beaches to choose from; one is close to the shops, lots of people (eye candy, lol) and great music. The second is further down is quieter, more families. The third beach is a dog beach which is great so you dont have to leave your dog back at the campsite/cottage. If you're out near Wasaga in the summer take a day or book one of the many campsites/cottages close by and enjoy this wonderful beach!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvar
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The most beautiful sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I spent 2 weeks there to visit my cousin. Very nice small town, very quiet, polite people, very very clean... has lots of restaurants, spa and shopping places. all that you need. Just a hour and half to big transit town Toronto. Has one of the most beautiful and the biggest sand beach in the world. Hope to come back next year!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wasaga Beach - Beautiful Sunsets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Being close to Beach 6 is a more preferred place if you like water and quiet times with friends and family. The sunsets are spectacular! (see photo) and the beach is wonderful for small children. You can wade out quite a way before the water gets deep. The sandy beach makes for a great playground for those tots and adults who love to play in the sand. There may be a charge on the more public beaches such as Beach 1 where the restaurants and stores are located.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not sure what the fuss is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visited Wasaga Beach on the Labour day weekend Sunday. I made the mistake of reading a bunch of horror story review about expensive parking etc. We drove right up to Beach 1 and parked behind the shops in a pay-and-display lot. 4$ for 2 hours and we didn't even stay that long. (there's not much you can do on a beach with only 2 people who don't wish to sunbathe) The shops were all similar unfortunately, not overly priced tho. The beach was nice but not what you see in the movies or commercials for exotic locations. The beach could do with a roto-tilling occasionally as it is packed by hundreds of people walking. They could use some more bathrooms and install some foot-washing stations before you leave the beach. Also we were at Beach 1, apparently there are 5 more beaches but I had no clue how to get to them. No signage or anything. After less than an hour we drove out, I don't see a reason to return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasaga Beach Provincial Park also viewed

 

Been to Wasaga Beach Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasaga Beach Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.