We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In shock!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Katmanis Thai Restaurant

Katmanis Thai Restaurant
1288 Mosley St., Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 48 restaurants in Wasaga Beach
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Opened in 2010. Postal Code = L9Z 2C9
Elmvale
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“In shock!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I am completely dumbfounded by the good reviews...we live in the area adn so were excited to try this local spot but this Thai is the worst I have had. The flavour ranged from just o.k. to bland, the portions were tiny and for apparently having an award winning Thai chef the pad thai noodles were way overcooked.
I will not go back-and if you happen to be in Barrie area try Lee's Kitchen to see what true, tasty and reasonably priced Thai is all about...and no I don't work for them!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    18
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT! Absolutely Delicious Authentic Thai Cusine..LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Food was outstanding.....fresh, hot, and unique flavours. Presention was wonderful as each dish arrived at the table. . We started with the Cocnut Shrimp Soup and Crab appetizer....what can I say? WOW!....next we had the Mango Salad, Very light and flavourful. Itt is now my favourite salad and I love salad.....next we had the Shrimp Pad Tai (best I have ever had) and the Mango chicken with Vegetables was amazing.. For the finally, you don't want to miss this....the deep fried banana desert ....YUMMY!. .Well run Family business with excellent personal service. .Affordable. Can't wait till our next visit to Wasaga Beach so we can enjoy another memorable adventure at the Katmanis Thai Restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai Food in Wasaga! Who knew?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

LOVE this place. So fantastic that they're open year round (AND they deliver!!!) Have ordered from here more than a dozen times and have never been disappointed. We've moved to the area from Toronto and initially were skeptical... Now, I would say that we're food snobs with egg on our face (?maybe from the fried rice? :) ) Better than any TO Thai take out we've had. Never greasy. Love their green curries, pad thai is excellent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

As a lover of Thai cuisine, I seek out different Thai experiences, no matter where I am traveling. I have dined at Thai restaurants in many different urban areas, yet I have never visited one that is exceptional on a continuing basis and luckily in my local area. Katmanis provides diners with delicious, fresh, hot appetizers and entrees that are classic as well as unique. I have never been disappointed, just thrilled each time I visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fresh, Authentic Thai at a Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Great food, fresh and hot, neither too sweet or too salty. Service is family and as such can be a little relaxed, but this keeps the restaurant having a family and unpretentious feel to it. A+ menu an food quality at a good value.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katmanis Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Katmanis Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katmanis Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.