We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Owner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of J&J Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added J&J Motel to your Saves list
J&J Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   201 Main Street, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2L3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
kitchener
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rude Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

After family members rented the room, we went to greet our family. Upon 15 minutes and our two kids jumping in the pool, the owner rudely approched us and asked if we were staying. I stated we were visiting family. With only 2 other families there, I hardly felt our two children were taking up space from other customers. Simply enjoying a dip on a hot day while the grown ups chatted. Without consideration that we may end up staying ourselves or perhaps in a professional manner stating we could stay for the day for fee, she glared me down and said, "are those your kids in the pool? Are you staying here? You are not allowed here"...I explained she didn't have to be rude and she said well you cannot be here, your family signed a contract no guests!!!! As a business owner, she had no professionalism none what so ever. As if her motel was of any class. The pool is the only thing she has going for her! I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND this place if you want true sincere appreciation as a customer. FAKENESS is what you get from these people, for those that felt she was so pleasant!!! She was pleasant because you showed her the money!!!! Even our families upon arrival who had accomodations were snarled at until she realized they had reservations. In Canada we treat people with respect lady....not just your kind!!!! RUDE is being kind to describe these people.... Book else where people!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Well renovating our home we stayed at J AND J MOTEL, this lasted for several weeks last summer. It is run by a lovely lady and her 2 daughters, they were always pleasant and helpful. The Pool was wonderful after a long hot day working at our home! This motel is one of the cleanest l've seen and everything is within walking distance, no need for a car. l would stay there again without hesitation. Beds were very clean and comfortable with a nice shower and mini fridge. Overall l have no complaints and would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Lets start with the positives...the hostess was outstanding, she was very accomodating and personable and welcoming, you could tell she truly enjoyed what she was doing. Another positive with the gorgeous pool, absolute luxury. The hotel was close the the beach, about a 15 minute walk, not 5 minutes as stated. There was not a continental breakfast..there were danish cakes in shrink wrap, all the same, that you could take, as well as a pot of coffee with tiny styrofoam cups...this is not a continental breakfast as advertised and is blatantly lying to potential guests. This was one of my biggest beefs, as well as a problem for the family, as we had hoped to grab breakfast before we left for the beach each day and be full until lunch...NOT THE CASE.
The rooms were tiny...about the size of my bedroom at home. The decor was from my grandmothers basement. Aside from the stains on the carpet, it was clean. The TV was 19 inch. The furniture was garage sale specials, The one picture on the wall was stained so yellow, that you could not make out what it was. The A/C was a noisy window unit, with all the control buttons removed. The motel is located across from a very busy campgroud with lots of noise, music and fire works any night of the week. The internet was non-existent, unless you wanted to sit outside to use your laptop. The shower was a tin stall, which flooded the bathroom everytime you used it. The motel is in desperate need of refurbishing to bring it into the 21st century...it also needs to be honest about its walk to the beach...a good 15 minutes, and its lack of a continental breakfast...THERE IS NOT CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST. This motel is not cheap...I could not believe what we were paying so highly for...made me sick to think of it.
Please email me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: All rooms were the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

perfect for a family!
we stayed full 2days enjoying great salt-water pool
large great playground for kids also will keep them busy
grounds are very clean as well as the rooms
great location with walking distance to major attraction

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Really enjoyed our Canada Day weekend and even stayed an extra night. Clean rooms and the manicured grounds and salt water pool were well maintained. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the fridge, microwave and use of bar-b-ques made meals fun, easy and cheap. The owners insisted in mature couples and families only which made for a wonderful holiday! Fireworks were so close it felt like the display was just for us!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

our stay was very pleasant. this family owned business was more than friendly to say the least. :) rooms were very clean. washrooms were exceptionally clean. shampoo, conditioner and soap were complimentary :) the salt water pool was amazing....kept at a comfortable 87 degrees!!! beach area #1 was a 5 minute walk away. complimentary coffee offered in the morning, located in the office. our overall experience was one to remember. for a relaxing mini-vacation, it was more than what we could've asked for.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Nice, comfortable and extremely clean rooms.Close to the restaurants, shopping plaza, the beach. The friendliest staff we ever met. And Yes, heated salt water pool!What else you wish to relax and enjoy your time.
Thanks a lot to the owners for excellent time we had.
We'll be definetely back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J&J Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J&J Motel

Address: 201 Main Street, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2L3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — J&J Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your J&J Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J&J Motel Wasaga Beach, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J&J Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.