We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My husband and I will continue coming back to stay at the Phoenix hollow when in the area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Hollow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phoenix Hollow
Save
You added Phoenix Hollow to your Saves list
65 Chestnut Street | Box 2200, Windsor, Nova Scotia B0N 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Windsor B&B and Inns
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“My husband and I will continue coming back to stay at the Phoenix hollow when in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I love this large old Victorian home that is within walking distance to downtown Windsor.

The hosts are friendly and art work is amazing. We stayed in the Phoenix room which is decorated in black and white with bits of poppy red art on the walls.

The canopy bed is the MOST comfortable bed I have slept in and I look forward to coming back again and again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank yo so much for your great review - the phoenix room is rather dramatic with the red and black decor and I am so glad that you liked it! The bed was constructed with great care to ensure that our guests were comfortable!

kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
108
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had such a lovely night at Phoenix Hollow. Can't remember the housekeepers name but she was great did a wonderful job with our breakfast. Room was really romantic. Nice tuch with the lovely flowers around the house. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review - the flowers are from a local shop here in Windsor and yes they do a lovely job!

Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently stayed at phoenix hollow, and we couldn't be more impressed. Kelly and John absolutely nailed everything down to the last detail. Gorgeous, clean, inviting. We would not hesitate to come back.
S.C.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - we really appreciate that you took the time to share it and we hope to see you again when you are in the area

kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrencetown, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at Phoenix Hollow several times, and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our visit. Charming spot with the finest hospitality anywhere. I recommend this gem to anyone passing through the Windsor area of Nova Scotia. We definitely plan on making this a regular stop.... Thanks Kelly and Jonathon for making us feel so welcome. Hal and Lynne

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room to be had...Immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
hal it is always a pleasure to have you here - you are a true artist and we hope you know that you are welcome anytime

Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hantsport, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Phoenix Hollow twice now and we absolutely love this place! Its a great night away and Kelly and John make you feel right at home. The best part about it, you can wake up 10 minutes before your breakfast, make your way down to the dining room in your pj's if you wish and then go curl back up in bed! My husband and I will definitely be making this an annual tradition for a relaxing night away from every day life!

Room Tip: They are both beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I love it when my guests are comfortable enough to come down in their pjs and enjoy the breakfast - with only two rooms the house allows for that additional privacy and we like that you feel you can do that!

Thanks for coming again and we hope to see you a third -fourth-ect time

Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Wow! I can't think of even one little detail that Kelly has overlooked in providing for guests. Our stay here has been the most delightful getaway ever. And the reasonable rates make for an even more enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - we pride ourselves in giving elegant comfort while still maintaining reasonable rates - I hope you come again soon

kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We accidentally met Kelly at the Avondale Sky Winery where she was dropping off some of her paintings. She is a terrific artist. She told us about her Pheonix Hollow B and B and we went there. Best night of our trip. She was so much fun and we felt like family. Kelly and John have done such a wonderful job of preserving the beauty and authenticity of the time. Highly recommend it.

Peggy from Erie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I knew it the min I saw you guys at the winery - you were fun and would enjoy the house! I am so glad you came and stayed - it was a pleasure having you all here and I hope you come by again if you are in the area

kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hollow

Address: 65 Chestnut Street | Box 2200, Windsor, Nova Scotia B0N 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix Hollow is where heritage style meets modern comfort. Circa 1873, this majestic home rests on 'Ferry Hill' in the quaint town of Windsor Nova Scotia. From the grand curved staircase to the 133 year-old ceiling painting with original plaster crown mouldings, the Hollow has a regal elegance and history that beckons to visitors. Enjoy our luxurious private suites, relax in the stately Sherry Room and enjoy Maritime hospitality at its best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hollow Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Hollow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.