We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great taste!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doener Grill Express

Doener Grill Express
281 Highway 52 W, Steinbach, Manitoba R5G 1Z2, Canada
204-326-2997
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Steinbach
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I love their Doener. the sauce is amazing I wish I could buy it. it is so filling and just taste fresh!. That is the only thing I have ever ordered there but I keep going back for it. I love it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, simple menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Aside from the simple menu, I have no complaints. The food is excellent - fresh, tasty, and generous. Service and atmosphere are a little lacking, but not bad.

Overall, definitely worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Doing a few things so very right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The menu isn't extremely varied, but I don't know of anyone who has complained about that, haha
...you can choose from a number of homemade soups, pasta dishes, and, of course, a fresh-made Doener.
The Doener can be ordered with either chicken or beef, and comes with crisp shredded lettuce, juicy tomato slices, diced onions, and tangy tzatziki sauce, all in a soft grilled pita.
The meat is seasoned very well, and both the chicken and beef are delicious, though I prefer the beef, as I've found the chicken to be a bit more on the greasy side. The Doener packs an awesome combination of flavors, and the fresh ingredients make a nice change from other "fast food" fare.
Doener Grill Express is also a fantastic place to go for coffee; they have a number of different coffees and teas to choose from, and a fabulous selection of authentic German desserts.
Check it out, you won't be disappointed. The food is delicious, and incredibly affordable. One of my favorites for sure!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food for so little money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The portions are perfect and all ingredients are fresh. Meat is seasoned properly.

Excellent place for lunch/supper

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The most delicious food in Steinbach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I love going back there, at anytime.
I go on a road trip for about 2 hours just to have a really good Doener in Steinbach!!
The Doener is healthy and as a dessert a cake.
I tell ya, they have the best cakes in this country!

Keep up the good work!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doener Grill Express also viewed

Steinbach, Manitoba
 
Steinbach, Manitoba
 

Been to Doener Grill Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doener Grill Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.