We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Gwyn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crickhowell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ty Gwyn
Save
You added Ty Gwyn to your Saves list
Brecon Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1DG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Powys
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed and very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed at Ty Gwyn on several occassions between October 2008 and March 2009 while house-hunting in the area. We have now moved into our new home and sadly no longer have the excuse to stay at Ty Gwyn but would highly recommend it as a wondeful place to stay. After an arduous day of house hunting it was the perfect cozy 'home from home' to return to and the wonderful breakfasts were a daily treat. Ty Gwyn is wondefully placed in Crickhowell, with several really good places to eat nearby. There is plenty of parking and the rooms are comfortable, individual and charming with many nice touches including books, leaflets, TV , tea and coffee making facilities and home made cake on arrival. The hosts are lovely welcoming people with a wealth of knowledge about the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
61
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Great B&B right in the Brecon Beacons, which we booked due to the close proximity to the Black Mountains Gliding Club, where my partner had arranged some flying lessons. We received a warm welcome from the lovely owners who are great, loads of knowledge of the area and are always happy to help. Huge breakfasts are an excellent way to start the day and there are loads of great restaurants in the area, with menus in a very thorough information pack which was in our room. The room itself was beautiful. We were in the Dylan Room which was huge, and had an extremely comfortable bed which did make it difficult to get up in the mornings! We were even surprised to find, after an extremely long walk, some delicious chocolate cake waiting in the room for us! Crickhowell is a beautiful little town, and has everything you need. We will definitely be back, sorry this took so long to write! Looking forward to trying out the new room on our return!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenhaston Suffolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

We had a great welcome from Sue & Peter it is a wonderful place to stay. the breakfast was truly substantial you must try the porridge and welsh honey.
Pubs, Restarants and shops are all within easy walking distance.
Go There Stay There
Paul & Helen Bowyer

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

Very nice and convenient B & B. Lovely hostess with great local knowledge. Lots of nice small touches - books in the bedroom etc. Good location near centre of Crickhowell. Would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

On arrival, look for the sign saying TY GWYN, not the one across the road that says B&B, as I did, because you will be in the wrong place.
I stayed for only one night whilst on business in the area.

My room was excellent, clean and well equipped. The owner was very helpful and knowledgeable regarding where to eat, and I had an excellent meal in the White Hart pub 4 minutes walk away.

Ty gwyn is in the perfect location for hikers, cyclists and tourists in general, and I would have no reservations in going back again or recommending them to friends.

Keep up the good work.

  • Liked — overall quality
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane,Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

We unfortunately only had one night in this B&B. Our room was large and spacious for a double room with all the necessities provided. The bathroom was also clean and with plenty of room. Breakfast was great and very tasty and fresh. Owners also friendly and helpful. Parking was on premises and backyard also great for relaxing with a stream which runs through the yard under the house and out onto the road. Shops were 5 minutes away and very picturesque. Went down to the Bridge End Hotel and had a couple of drinks sitting along side the river flowing by. Really relaxing - could have stayed forever. Crossed the bridge and had dinner over the next hotel (can't remember the name). Beautiful countryside and certainly value for money at the B&B.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Gwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn

Address: Brecon Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1DG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'An impressive stone gatehouse'(Rough Guide 2009), Ty Gwyn is also recognized as being one of Wales' Great Little Places. Located in the charming market town of Crickhowell in the Brecon Beacons, Ty Gwyn is an ideal base for exploring the National Park on foot, on horseback or on your bicycle! A genuinely warm and friendly welcome awaits you in Sue and Pete's Georgian home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Crickhowell, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Gwyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.