We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon Inn Crickhowell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dragon Inn Crickhowell to your Saves list
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   47 High St | Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BE, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the dragon inn for one night mid week the room was very clean with en-suite bathroom
only thing was that whoever fitted the bathroom mirror must have been tall. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant that night with a good selection on the menu,there was a good choice of either continental or cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Probably a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
32
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tredegar, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the Dragon Hotel for a special family birthday meal, from the time we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Nothing was to much trouble for our waiter whose name was Tom, he was lovely and friendly. The food was excellent, I recommend the cheesecake!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed at dragon inn 3 nights Good size bedroom top floor for 2 Food very good But housekeeping could be a lot better .no coffee in room on 1st day Did inform bar but coffee did not arrive until next day .also litter bin was not empty on the 3rd day But bathroom was kept very clean .On balance it was good stay Would come again

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Short review this one. Walked in without booking as we made a last minute decision to eat out. Restaurant was fully but we were squeezed in. Good food, good prices, good service. No complaints. Recommend.

Room Tip: Arrive early go get a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just been to the Brecons for a walking weekend and stayed at The Dragon Inn. We received a really warm and friendly welcome, the service was excellent and the staff could not be more friendly. Excellent food, including real tea and lovely refurbished rooms made for a great weekend. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a private room off the reception area for 24 of us for a joint 60th meal. The staff looked after us extremely well including last minute wine orders and we and our guests had a great time. We had been asked to choose startet and main items from the menu in advance which was reasonable enough, to make sure the kitchen could cope. The food is pretty good, especially fish or crab cakes, fish and meat. Would happily recommend.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to book a table at the Dragon Inn for our last night of our holiday. The restaurant is lovely the ambience spot on. Food was fantastic (I had the sea bass and my husband had venison, our little girl had chicken nuggets (great children's selection on the menu by the way) - no complaints with the food whatsoever). I wish I could give this restaurant 5 stars but the service let it down. Staff were friendly enough but service was so slow. drinks were forgotten, menus were forgotten, cutlery forgotten, long wait for drinks when someone finally came to take our order.It was also frustrating to see one member of staff just chatting with his mates in the bar, laughing at something on a mobile phone etc when it was obvious the staff were struggling with the amount of diners. It was one thing after another. It was a busy night so perhaps that was the problem but more staff needed to make this restaurant work. We hope that more staff are employed as I said the food was lovely it was the service that let it down.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dragon Inn Crickhowell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Inn Crickhowell

Address: 47 High St | Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragon Inn Crickhowell 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character 18th C Hotel, very popular with guests who enjoy a quiet traditional hotel and a relaxed informal atmosphere. The hotel is a family-run establishment which prides itself on a warm and friendly welcome. Good position in centre of picturesque Crickhowell on the river Usk. Situated at the heart of the Brecon Beacons, The Dragon Inn is the ideal place for walkers or anybody who enjoys the outdoors. Magnificent walks available from right outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dragon Inn Crickhowell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Inn Crickhowell Hotel Crickhowell
Dragon Inn Crickhowell Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon Inn Crickhowell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.