We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welsh beauty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon Inn Crickhowell

Dragon Inn Crickhowell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dragon Inn Crickhowell to your Saves list
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
47 High St | Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BE, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Cheadle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A welsh beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently stayed here as we had a family wedding in the area and we booked through late rooms. We weren't disappointed with any part of our stay. The room we were in - 12 - is in the main pub building up in the eves of the pub and was very quirky and quaint. Both me and my husband are 5.9 and head room was a little tight in some areas but it added to the experience and character of the stay. The room was warm, quiet, and full of lots of lovely bath products and local biscuits and treats. The bed is big and comfy and the whole place very very clean. The breakfast was lush and locally sourced and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. It's a welsh beauty in the heart of a charming village.

Room Tip: If you struggle with steep stairs don't go for rooms 11/12
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
25
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place used to be a run down hotel in Crickhowell but as it's been fully refurbed my wife and I decided to stay there for the evening. The hotel was absolutely amazing with the the food being above excellent. I used to live in Crickhowell and trust me this is one of the best places to stay in this beautiful town. The parking area is to the rear through a very narrow entrance, but with care and attentions it widens out into a lovely parking area to the rear.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice pleasant rooms, exciting access to the parking.

In the main building the top floor is not well suited to a 2 metre son, but he coped without any unintended unconsciousness. Floors (and bed apparently) quaintly sloped.

Nice and clean, well looked after, most things felt new.

Food at breakfast was good - buffet cold stuff and the hot stuff cooked to order.

Staff were perfect - just the right combination of politeness and friendliness without ever deciding into obsequiousness.

A castle that looked like it was in the gardens. Amazing views outside.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We popped in for food while we were staying in the area, we were made feel welcome, we were the first in there but soon joined by others it was a warm and cosy place for a cold evening, food was great, Made it a lovely evening with an evening singer in the back ground

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in room 17 which was next to 16 shown in the picture on their website "superior double" a pretty recently refurbed room located in what looks to be and old coaching block a few metres behind the pub. The hotel has a good size garden with views of a castle ruin. Parking is accessed via a narrow entrance at the side of the hotel. Other reviewers have commented on this however it was more than wide enough to fit my VW Touran with the mirrors folded in and judging by the car park large enough to fit a crewcab pickup. Crickhowel itself is a pretty little town with plenty of pubs restaurants. Food was nice with daily specials, check website, amazing value single occupancy rates, staff friendly, book via their website for best rates.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickhowell, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I have travelled all over Britain this year and the Dragon Inn is my favourite restaurant, not just good food but the staff go the extra mile, to make you feel special.

This is my third visit this year and very happy to recommend Dragon Inn.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benllech, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We came here to attend a wedding. The hotel is old but has been completely refurbished. Beds were massive, comfortable with new duvets. Room was bright and furnished with renovated items reflecting the oak beams. bathroom was spotless with proper bath sized towels. TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hair drier, safe and a fan provided. Downside for us was having to leave the main building and cross the courtyard to our room which was in another part of the hotel, in fact it was above the entrance to the car park. TIP do not try and enter the car park by driving in with the hotel on your right, enter from the other side unless you have a bike or a smart car. Breakfast was included but they should change their bacon supplier - it was far too chewy.
All the staff were friendly and helpful - great asset.
Will I stay here again - yes( that is a first for me)

Room Tip: Try for one in main building and get a front door key with your room key
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dragon Inn Crickhowell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Inn Crickhowell

Address: 47 High St | Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character 18th C Hotel, very popular with guests who enjoy a quiet traditional hotel and a relaxed informal atmosphere. The hotel is a family-run establishment which prides itself on a warm and friendly welcome. Good position in centre of picturesque Crickhowell on the river Usk. Situated at the heart of the Brecon Beacons, The Dragon Inn is the ideal place for walkers or anybody who enjoys the outdoors. Magnificent walks available from right outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dragon Inn Crickhowell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Inn Crickhowell Hotel Crickhowell
Dragon Inn Crickhowell Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon Inn Crickhowell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.