We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class evening...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor Hotel to your Saves list
The Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brecon Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1SE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crickhowell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“First class evening...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Just celebrated new years eve party here, 4 cpls in total,
The menu was stunning from the starter thru to the dessert,a bottle of wine per cpl with coffee and teas to.
Food was served to time with plenty of it and together and hot,service was impeccable.
The function room was oppulent and dressed in black with gold n silver.with quite a few dressed in black tie and evening dress.we all fitted in.
We celebrated bringing in the new year with a lovely fireworks display and champagne.
It ecceeded all our expectations.
A great evening had to all.

Well done to all staff at the manor.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your appreciate comments. It means a lot to all the staff when we hear we were able to provide guests with such an enjoyable event. We would love to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    89
    32
    23
    11
See reviews for
45
108
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel has a lovely setting in a quiet village on the edge of a national park, the staff are all warm and friendly, nothing is too much trouble, spotlessly clean rooms, small gym and pool, nice dining area with a good choice for breakfast, lava bread if you fancy it, nice lounge bar area with lots of big comfy chairs to relax with a nice drink, really pleasant stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we really appreciate your positive feedback. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

A beautiful setting and a warm welcome greeted us and we were pleasantly surprised that the hotel is pet-friendly.
We met with friends as a party of 25 or so (about half stayed overnight) but tried out the swimming pool and hot tub before joining the others for out Xmas party. The pool area was small and dated and the pool was rather cold.
The bedroom was very comfortable with a great view but there was no bath and the water pressure made for difficult showering (it took ages for hot water to reach our room and then only at a dribble).
On to the function room, which looked wonderful - the meal was served hot, efficiently and was of a high quality.
However, too many table had been placed in the function room which limited the dancing area. This was helped by having one of the worst DJ's I have ever encountered - he insisted upon playing a constant, tuneless beat without any thought for the varied ages of the clientelle - when we asked for something more fitting (we suggested possibly some 80's music) he introduced Bill Haley and the comets as "classic tracks from the 60's"! But it wasn'tt long till he had reverted to his own mindless taste and pretty well emptied the dance floor.
Wine at the party was overpriced and of a poor quality which deteriorated through the night. Staff at the tables were over-zealous in removing glasses - sometimes when only a sip had been drunk from them - your glass was rarely at the table after you had ventured onto the dance-floor. The bar staff did try to remedy this by being efficient at serving and sympathetic to my tales of lost drinks.
Breakfast was disappointing both in quality and description - it was not a "Welsh breakfast"as described, which normally includes laverbread and cockles. To my mind and that of others who shared this meal, bacon, sausage, black pudding, egg and toast is almost a "full English".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your Christmas meal but am disappointed you didn't enjoy the entertainment. I'm sure you can appreciate that there was a very varied age range attending the function and our DJ has to try to please all parties.
I feel our wine list is quite extensive with a good selection to suit every pocket.
Our breakfast is described as a Welsh breakfast as we serve Welsh bacon, Welsh sausages and free range organic Welsh eggs. Laverbread and cockles are also available on our breakfast menu.
Once again, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write your review as it is only with this feedback that we can improve the services offered to our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the third time we've stayed here and looking forward to the next. Our room, we were upgraded, was spacious with a fantastic view over to the Brecon Beacons. It was clean, the king sized bed was comfortable with crisp linen and all the usual amenities in the room like tea and coffee and biscuits. The bathroom was spacious - I didn't really get to grips with the shower and it seemed a bit weak but this would be my only gripe. The staff are very pleasant. Being vegetarian can sometimes be a problem but we were able to choose 'off menu' what we wanted to eat for dinner and were served a plentiful and well cooked meal. The breakfast was good with choice of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juices, pastries, toast and hot food cooked to order. Unusual but very tasty veggie sausages were served. A very pleasant stay - sadly too short.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for you choosing to stay at the Manor once again. We're delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable break. We look foward to welcoming you back soon and maybe you could stay a little longer this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed for one night for a wedding held at the hotel. We found the Manor to be very comfortable, characterful and atmospheric. Staff were very attentive, friendly and professional. Wonderful food. The room was large and bed extremely comfortable but the shower took a bit of time to work out and was not very powerful. Room was well equipped with a hairdryer, iron etc and plenty of storage for clothes. Did not try any of the spa or leisure facilities. Overall a very enjoyable weekend in the beautiful Welsh contryside.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 on the front corner of the building. The views from the double-aspect windows w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew on the hotel and we're delighted that you enjoyed your weekend break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Manor for a romantic weekend (Nov 2012). The hotel is a lovely old house with great views over the valley. All the staff were very friendly and chatty. Food was delicious and even our fussy ways were catered for with a smile. Rooms (we had a "superior" one) were a very good size and wonderfully warm (important when it is cold and the Brecon Beacons are practically underwater with the rainfall). I would certainly recommend this hotel - I would be happy to go back as soon as I can.

Minor gripes (as I am fussy): the breakfast needs better sausages and my pepper sauce wasn't very peppery. But as I say, very minor, everything else was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. I’m delighted that you had an enjoyable time and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little mill
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were informed when we booked online that an event was on that evening and our room choice was above the function room so there would be noise and an alternative room could be found. Thisi thought very good customer relations as they were unaware that we were attending the event.
First impression on entering the hotel was very pleasing with excellent christmas decorations,
Service at reception was basic with no mention of facilities ie.spa and pool. we were given details of the event we were attending. The event was well managed and food of a high quality.
Retiring to our room to what was a very comfortable bed, only to be kept awake firstly by water dripping outside (it was a stormy night) it was like listening to several dripping taps, later to be woken at 3am. with howling wind, not the gale wind blowing outside but this was as if a window was partly open and the wind was blowing in this was not the case but it was caused by the stucture somthing i think should be investigated, stayed awake all night. when checking out i complained to the recepionist on checkout but was told that they cannot do anything about the weather.

Room Tip: stay away from room 2 on a windy night!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine L, Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed the food at the dinner dance you attended.
I'm very sorry that you were disturbed by the wind but as you commented, it was indeed horrendous weather that evening with storms and gale force winds. As the hotel is situated on the side of a mountain we are open to the elements and the weather is beyond our control.
We're working on improving our check-in procedures so thank you for comments which have been noted and will enable us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel

Address: Brecon Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1SE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel Crickhowell, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.