We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bear Hotel to your Saves list
The Bear Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   High street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BW , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just returned from two super nights/days at the Bear. Without exception the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Our room, (The Garden Room), was very comfortable and kept perfectly clean. A quirky hotel with many corridors and short staircases. (Well, that's how they built them in those days!). Made it even more interesting to find our way around! The food was to a very high standard - beautifully prepared and presented. A fantastic gift from our wonderful daughter - who had stayed here herself and loved it.

Room Tip: We found The Garden Room to be really ideal. Comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew V, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy you chose us for your birthday celebration. I am very pleased that the teamed looked after you, and you enjoyed the Bear.

I'm sure the fizz was very nice indeed!!

Kind Regards

Matthew Voyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    133
    38
    27
    14
See reviews for
61
193
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends for 3 nights. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and the food was served quickly and was very good. The service was exceptional. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a break or as a base for walking or sightseeing in the Brecons.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the inner courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew V, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your views.

It was a delight having you and the group here.

I will of course pass these comments onto the team.

Kind regards

Matthew Voyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Disregard all negative reviews about this hotel. Fantastic food. Fantastic staff. Reasonably priced. We go on a weekly basis and would highly recommend this place to all. Try it and see for yourself, I am sure that the people giving negative reviews visit another establishment

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew V, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am delighted you dine with us so frequently. Thank you very much for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Eaten here now 3 times in 3 weeks and had 3 fantastic meals. Large number of choices on the menu, food well cooked and presented as well as delicious. Fantastic chefs who can actually cook! Great to find home cooked food in an old fashioned-style pub atmosphere rather than the re-heated offerings that you find in the big chain places. Lots of atmosphere in the quirky rooms with real log fires, far better than eating in a large, soulless space as indicated as being better by a previous reviewer. Important to note that this place has had the same owner for many many years unlike other places that are changing hands all the time! All of the staff have been incredibly friendly and helpful with us, from the gentleman behind the bar to the ladies who bring the meals. Certainly worth the drive over to Crickhowell, we live in Newport and there is nothing in our area that even remotely compares.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew V, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. Your comments will be shared with the rest of the team. We are glad you enjoy it enough to come every week.

I guess we will be seeing you very soon.

Kind regards

Matthew Voyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulton Broad, Suffolk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We eat at the Bear, Crickhowell once every year when we visit the Brecon Beacons. The food is okay but pricey. Local people regard it as the place to be seen, but I don't know why. A previous reviewer remarked on his 600 year old room. The wallpaper in the dining room looks as if it pre-dates the Roman invasion of South Wales. The service is good, the staff polite, but it is so old hat!. Two or three miles along the road is the Llanwenarth Arms hotel and it knocks this hotel into a cocked hat for quality even though the prices in the restaurant are similar, so for it's superior decor and general ambience, Llanwenarth wins hands down. Sorry Bear, you need to pull your socks up.

Room Tip: Did not stay, only went for dinner. We'll go again next year if only to see if they have changed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew V, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and your stable decision to frequent us year on year, Your critique has been duly noted.

We look forward to seeing you next year. Same time, same place, same wallpaper ;-)

Kind Regards

Matthew Voyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We eat here when passing anywhere near and have found it very consistent and good value bar menu. First time staying and eating in the restaurant: friendly, food good if not perfect, friendly and helpful staff.
The room was, for 600 years old, very comfortable, unusually well-lit, wi-fi and chairs. Bathroom basically good but taps etc ageing: knocked my wife across the room while rescuing her from the outside from a very warped door catch.
Breakfast would be OK in a Premier Inn - this is meant to be better than that. Strong sense of things hot-plated for some time, Muesli carboardy - but nice to get a newspaper with it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew V, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your contribution. Its always nice to hear from our customers who come back time and time again.

I'm disappointed to hear that some elements of your stay were not desirable. I can assure you that our breakfasts are cooked fresh each day using locally farmed produce.

I would appreciate it if you would contact me to advise me your room number for us to review the door latch.

01873810408

Kind Regards

Matthew Voyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilterns
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a few days in a double room across the courtyard (connected by a covered walkway).The hotel is a labyrinth of rooms with at least three dining areas and lounges spread around the ground floor and mezzanine. Even after three days we were still finding new places in this complex building. The bar is well used by locals and visitors and it may be difficult to find space for a pre-dinner drink. For the same reason the car park can be cramped or even full.
Our room was spacious with a large double bed and a good size bathroom. TV reception was a little poor because of the mountains but you cannot blame the hotel for that. Service was friendly and helpful at all times.
Breakfast was as expected without trying to offer anything new. The dinner menu tries to cater for all tastes with steaks, Indian curry, Thai curry. fish and chips, etc. Most of the time we selected from the specials menu which was more adventurous. Everything was well prepared and certainly gave the impression of being freshly cooked. The fish dishes in particular were moist and delicious. The wine list, like the menu, had a lot of variety and many wines are available by the glass. The prices were not excessive. Our only grumble was that the 'specials' did not change (apart from the soup) during our stay. Had we stayed longer we may have been tempted to go further afield for dinner.
There are not many hotels in this area that offer good food and accommodation at reasonable prices and The Bear is to be recommended.

Room Tip: Try to arrive mid-afternoon to have the best chance of getting a parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew V, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad that you found the Bear inviting and comfortable.

I will look into our specials menu. It is there to allow us freedom to use the seasonal and market produce that we receive daily. We obviously need to do more.

We hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Matthew Voyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Address: High street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BW , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bear Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Crickhowell
Bear Crickhowell
The Bear Hotel Crickhowell, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.