We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, a tad expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bear Hotel to your Saves list
The Bear Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   High street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BW , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Wales
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Food, a tad expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Ate here with friends during the Crickhowell Walking Festival. The food, as always, was well presented and was very tasty. Even the vegetarian meal looked and tasted good, and as any vegetarian will know, that's not always the case. If I have any negative comments it is perhaps the way they do thinks. The service is almost clinical. I accept that they are always busy, but there is no warmth or humanity in they way things are done. It wont stop me using the place, but compare to the warmth of service at a similar establishment in Crickhowell I find it disappointing.

Room Tip: I only used the bar so I'm not in a position to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    111
    35
    23
    14
See reviews for
48
173
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

After a very long trip we were welcomed to the Bear , what a wonderful atmosphere,and i could take my dog in. When we had our bar snack she was given a bowl of chicken .We had a delux room , very comfy .We will be calling again it is in Beavers top 10

Room Tip: All rooms are of high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

For a number of years I have stayed at the Bear Hotel in Crickhowell, most frequently on business other times with family. It never struck me that I should formally acknowledge the care and welcome which I was given during these stays - this is my opportunity! Recently retired it is probably the the one place which I miss on a regular basis but we will definitely be staying again. The Bear is a very old Coaching Inn in a delightful small town with excellent shortwalks and wonderful Beacons walks for the more adventurous .Modifications have been carried out with sympathy to its heritage. As a home from home when away on business I was made to feel really comforatble by everyone from the owner down its the sort of place where you feel quite at home reading a novel while waiting for your meal to be brought to you in the bar .The food is superb - the bar food is excellent, that in the dining room even better. The rooms are all excellent and those, especially in the main building have those little quirks which are part of the charm of such an old building.The beds are large and luxurious, but probably with too many cushions for a real man! Please go and stay there, I was lucky to find it all those years ago, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: If you want olde world charm choose a room in the main building but rooms in the courtyard are equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Overnight stay booked about a week prior and delighted to find it on offer, £99 for a deluxe room. Arrived about 5pm, parking was a bit challenging to say the least. A few spaces left but quite a tight fit. Lovely room in the upper courtyard area, very comfy bed, only let down was the very poor hairdrier in the bathroom, not much blow at all. We had reserved a table for dinner, this is recommended on their confirmation, good job because the place was heaving. It is definately popular with the locals. We sat in the bar for a few drinks prior to moving to the restaurant and were delighted to see that every plate returning to the kitchen from the bar area was empty. Certainly the food lives up to its reputation. My husband had moules mariniere followed by lamb caul and there was so much that he couldn't finish it. We had indulged in the wonderful bread whilst waiting so maybe that filled him up a bit. The waitress asked if it was OK because they were not used to any food being left, something we had witnessed for ourselves. Would have loved to have room for a dessert, they looked wonderful. Breakfast was very good, perhaps only let down by the cramped corned positioning of the tables set for 2. All in all a lovely stay in a hotel buzzing with plenty of friendly staff, would definately recommend and will stay again.

Room Tip: Would suggest asking for a courtyard room, although we couldn't hear the main road, it is probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here and it was a good choice.Bed was nice and comfortable good nights sleep,and they have a great restaurant very good food not over priced .And everyone is very friendly, the village is nice as the Bear is in the village.I will stay there again for sure it's a lovely area in Wales.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are nice as they look over the garden.that is where we had our room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Our room was in the original part of the hotel and as such was full of character, and quite large. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept on. Food was excellent (both breakfast and the restaurant food) and all the staff were extremely friendly. The hotel made a great base for exploring the Black Mountains, as you can walk from the hotel into the hills.

Minor complaint is that the car park fills up very quickly, and we were lucky to get a space.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay so I can't comment on the rooms. The food was good, well presented and served by a helpful staff. There is good range of ales on draught, all well kept. Definitely a good option if you're in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Address: High street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BW , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bear Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Crickhowell
Bear Crickhowell
The Bear Hotel Crickhowell, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.