We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and a great venue to explore the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Tal Bed & Breakfast

Ty Tal Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crickhowell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ty Tal Bed & Breakfast
11 New Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1AU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Coventry England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and a great venue to explore the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Located in a prime spot to access Crickhowell, we were delighted with our two night stay in a relaxing and spotless venue. Dinah and Brian were excellent hosts who were extremely helpful in assisting us with ideas for the the area. It was nice arrive and be given great cup of tea and cake to start our stay? They also produced a really quality breakfast and we would not hesitate to recommend the Ty Tal. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

A short notice check in but Dinah and Brian were very welcoming and helpful. Very relaxing and comfortable rooms. Good value given all the attention to detail and amenities. Enough parking to meet their clients' needs. Best of all was the great quality breakfast. We both enjoyed the Welsh Breakfast. Being a bit fussy about needing a well cooked fried egg, they were happy to oblige! Overall an excellent B&B in this lovely welsh town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Although I wrote about Ty Tal in April 2012, I thought it was worth a second review having stayed several times since. I stay there with my dad every two to three months. Dad is in his eighties, and despite health problems, enjoys short breaks away. We return to Ty Tal each time because the owners, Dinah and Brian, are so warm and welcoming. Dad always says it's like a 'second home' as he feels so comfortable there. Ty Tal is only a short walk to the town centre, and there are plenty of places to visit nearby. If there was a category higher than 'excellent' on Trip Advisor, Ty Tal would achieve it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights (14th & 15th Sept 2012) to attend a wedding locally and really had a superb time.

The B&B is perfectly located, with private parking and a private guest's lounge. Our room wasn't en-suite but we had a bathroom entirely for our our own use.

Dunan and Brian, the Proprietors, are extremely kind and helpful, and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was amazing, too!

The Ty Tal is highly recommended to anyone staying in the Crickhowell/Abergavenny area and if we are in that part of Wales again, I wouldn't hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We chose Ty Tal because of other good reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. We were given a really warm welcome by Dinah & Brian, who were great hosts and who really couldn't have been more helpful. It is in a great spot in the village, close to the centre but with some lovely walks & places of interest are accessible as well. Breakfasts were excellent, with special home made touches. The room was spotless and comfortable, and although not en-suite, the bathroom was exclusive to our room & floor of the house so really not a problem. A gem of a find, great value and one we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here for the first time over the June Bank Holiday and I would like to keep this bed and breakfast to my self! I It was faultless - everything was great - the very nice owners, food, rooms, views - please leave room for me in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have been walking in the brecons for years and have only just come across this place ..

It is great value and the layout of the B&B works really well for walkers with the owners accommodation being separate form the main house. The hosts were very welcoming and the standard of accomadation was first class. We did not have an en suite which actually proved to be no problem at all with each room being on its own floor.

Breakfast was large and good quality and we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ty Tal Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Tal Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11 New Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1AU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated just three minutes walk from the centre of Crickhowell with its range of attractive shops, restaurants and pubs. A friendly and relaxed home from home ambiance. A perfect base for exploring the Brecon Beacons National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty Tal Bed & Breakfast Crickhowell, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Tal Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ty Tal Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list