We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gwyn Deri

Gwyn Deri
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crickhowell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gwyn Deri
Save
You added Gwyn Deri to your Saves list
Mill Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had an excellent stay at Gwyn Deri - it is well located just minutes from the heart of Crickhowell and the beautiful countryside that surrounds it. The garden is gorgeous and our room and bathroom were very clean, well equipped and comfortable. The breakfasts were superb - with beautifully home cooked local food to suit everyone - meat eaters (full Welsh), pescatarians (locally smoked salmon and scrambled eggs) , and vegetarians (beautiful home made veggie sausages) plus a great selection of fruit, yoghurt and cereals. The home made biscuits in the room were also beautiful and a lovely touch.

However, by far the best thing about this B&B is the wonderful couple who run it - they gave us such a warm welcome and could not have done more for us during our stay - from offering advice and sharing stories and information about the locality to cuddling our baby whilst we had breakfast! They really do go out of their way to make their guests comfortable and were very accommodating of our needs given that we returned each day very muddy from Green Man Festival and also with a small baby in tow!

Huge thanks to Cathy and Bryan for a lovely stay! We would definitely stay at Gwyn Deri again and highly recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minijack, Owner at Gwyn Deri, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Meirion and Sarah, thank you for taking the time to produce this lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us even allowing for the muddy conditions at the Green Man! Your baby is a delight and we and the other guests enjoyed our cuddles! Hope we see you again at any time. Kathy and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
45
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

A charming scenery, a beautiful house and garden, a warm welcome and friendly, that about sums up our stay!
The room is perfect, very clean and the breakfast is very good.
Superb! Bravo !
Merci beaucoup !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a very lovely 2 nights enjoying this excellent B & B. our hosts went out of their way to help us plan our trips into the Beacons which really helped to make our break special. The food was home cooked, local and very tasty. We'd definitely go back. Thanks!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

A lovely couple run this charming bed and breakfast, very friendly and helpful too, I needed a place for the bicycle overnight as I arrived by train & it was no bother for me to pop it into thier garage.
Great location and breakfast too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

When you go for a trip into the countryside and pick a small b&b to stay at, Gwyn Deri is exactly the kind of place you're hoping that b&b will be when you pull up at the door.

I've just read through the other reviews which (almost!) unanimously tell you exactly the same things I am going to tell you. I had a little chuckle at the single negative review from the three years you can read here, where the only complaint seemed to be that the reviewer was 'kept talking' for an hour on arrival. Whereas I and the other 67 positive reviews agree that the exceptional welcome is part of the marvelous service. Kathy and Brian are the kind of people who clearly put love, passion and a whole lot of work into making their guest's stay in their home a memorable and unique one. On arrival we were indeed 'kept talking' (after being shown our room) for over an hour, however this was no imposition, but a warm and pleasant chat with the owners and other guests whilst sitting in the pretty garden and being provided with tea and delicious home baked welsh cakes and brownies. An absolute pleasure.

The room was beautifully clean, the bed comfortable, fresh fruit and homemade biscuits provided in room. Breakfast is a feast, with plenty of local produce. Just what you need to set you up for exploring the area, where there are plentiful opportunities for walking. Crickhowell is a pretty small town with some good pubs to drink and eat in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Off the road just half a block from a main road, in a residential zone of a charming village, Gwyn Deri is a gem. If you enjoy a quiet holiday full of lovely walks and local color, this is a perfect spot. The proprietors keep the place shipshape and cheery, providing warm hospitality and yummy breakfasts. The rooms are clean, modern, and airy. The garden is a nice spot for a spot of tea. There are many nice walks from the front door, and a 10-minute drive opens up many more options.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at Gwyn Deri for 5 nights as a base for walking in the Brecons and Usk Valley. Warm welcome on arrival with tea and cakes and a chat with Kathy and Brian, who are very knowledgeable about the area and things to do and see, and served great breakfasts (try the locally smoked salmon!) Ideal central location, spotless room, and fantastic value. No hesitation in recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gwyn Deri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwyn Deri

Address: Mill Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Gwyn Deri Crickhowell, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwyn Deri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.