We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Hotel

Lion Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Builth Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lion Hotel
Save
You added Lion Hotel to your Saves list
2 Broad Street, Builth Wells, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Upminster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I booked 4 rooms at this hotel 1 year in advance (july 2012) for a stay in July 2013. I needed to amend my booking last week but was astounded when I gave my reference number and was told that the hotel cancelled my booking on may 31st! I had no phone call or email from the hotel whatsoever. What a terrible thing to do, 8 people could have turned up and had nowhere to stay! Would not have been impressed after a 6 hour drive! Very bad management from this hotel, definitely one to avoid! I must say that the booking agents were great and not at fault, the hotel should not advertise rooms available and take your booking then cancel when they feel like it without informing you. Please beware if you have booked, and check that you actually have a room!

Room Tip: Make sure you actually get a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
7
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

9 Golfers stayed here this week. Good base for the area. Rooms well appointed. Showers best ever, they need courage, turn full on and brace yourself. Breakfast very good, just ask. Hearty evening meal, with a set starter, choice of three mains, choice of four puddings. Vegetarian option. Bar very quiet. Good pub over the road with Sky, pool and darts with real ale. Hotel just needs more customers.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was certainly quiet when I visited but this did not distract from very attentive service and some tasty food. The environment inside is of a very high standard and, although eating alone, enjoyed my surroundings.

The soup was hearty and the main course was goo home cooked food. I would certainly eat here again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I revisited this odd place thinking my last bad experience was a one off .
NO it was just as bad again with the fowl mouthed woman that works there and the same smelly old drunk rude farmers were still there gossiping about everyone and now I realise this place in the hands it's in will never move forward so they are best try and make a living off the people they have .
Even tho the owners are very welcoming the little John Inman one needs to distance himself from a few when customers are about .

Anyway I will never ever return as long as I live or these people own it anyhow .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were attending a wedding in Builth wells Saturday 8th September and booked a room at The Lion Hotel. Our room was great, it had a lounge with a settee, chair, coffee table and television (there is only one room which has a lounge) we didn't know we were having this room so we were very pleased. I don't know if they have ever heard of "slim line" televisions, but the television in our room needed updating, but on saying that it did work, and the room was spotless. We had a meal at their restaurant which was great and very good value. The owner and his son were very friendly and "laid back". We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that has a lounge - but please not when we return as we would like this room again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Ate here with friends whilst on a cycling holiday in wales. The pub we'd been recommended to eat wasn't doing food the night we were there so this was one of the other places they recommended. The food was excellent and the specials were extremely good value but the room we ate in was very dated and had no windows; only a roof light and absolutely no atmosphere whatsoever. It wa s a bit gloomy. The lounge at the front looked quite comfortable but the place is a bit of a throwback. Also they had no decent beer on so, as soon as we'd eaten, we returned to the original pub for the rest of the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Excellent, friendly hotel. Rooms are clean, spacious and affordable. Everyone will enjoy a stay at this hotel.

thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Hotel

Address: 2 Broad Street, Builth Wells, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.