We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REALLY Nice One Night Break.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Caer Beris Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A REALLY Nice One Night Break.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We decided to have a one night stay at this hotel to celebrate Christmas, break a journey and try the restaurant (reviewed seperately). We arrived quite late to find a lovely country hotel exactly as you would hope to find after a longish Friday night journey. Log fires, very attentive staff and a lovely room with a four poster bed. We enjoyed a walk through the grounds on Saturday morning before moving onwards. We hope to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your recent review and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to provide a warm and personal welcome and be what we are, an 'unstuffy' country house hotel. Do come back and visit us again soon.

Kind rerards

Peter Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    129
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
51
231
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights it was really delightful.
The standard of food was excellent absolutely tasty could not recommend enough!
The room had a four poster bed, stunning views,very warm, clean and welcoming.
Perfect retreat for relaxing!
Would highly recommend.
The staff went out of their way to ensure you enjoyed your stay I would certainly go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the staff who will be very happy that their efforts are appreciated. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel.

Regards

Peter Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Having never left a review before I thought I'd check a few other entries before offering my opinion. Believe me, the majority are right! The location, helpfulness of staff, quality of accommodation and, above all, the standard of food were all excellent. Our room was spacious, with a very comfy bed, and cleaned to a high standard. The grounds were a delight to explore. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. Our stay included the 7-course taster menu which exceeded all expectations - it was genuinely superb! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review for the very first time. We are very lucky to have such beautiful grounds which we enjoy sharing with our guests. The restaurant has just been awarded an AA rosette for the quality of the food which is something the chef has been working towards for the last year.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you bac in the near future.

Regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We are here again, feeling like we are with friends! One of which is a chef that gets better and better! Just dined in the restaurant on red mullet soup, sea bass with 'divine' gnocchi and red onion followed by white chocolate parfait with raspberry macaroons. You have to stay here, it is like a magnet that draws you back for the tranquil location, amazing staff ( and owners) and food that is quite simply superb! Thank you Caer Beris! X

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi Jacky

Many thanks for the review, very welcome. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again, always good to see you. As you say, Spencer and his team in the kitchen have really taken our food to a new level which shows in other peoples reviews as well.

Look forward to seeing you in the near future,

Regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Definitely a quirky rustic creaky country manor retreat in a very peaceful and picturesque area, the once-sumptuous abode of some obscure Welsh King, where the smell of the wood burner pervades all areas as it mixes with the smell emanating from small areas of wet paint in the corridor as the housekeeper touches up the walls as she goes around !
The decor is tired...very tired and of poor standard. Bedside table runners, lampshades etc were grubby as were the carpets. The large bed was not as comfortable as it looked. I defy anyone to secure a copious supply of hot water to bathe or shower. Towels were hard and unwelcoming.
This hotel is NOT really suited for the mobility impaired ! I did not benefit from the welcome and attention obviously reserved for the more deserving.
The wifi signal is a joke, which is frustrating as you have to position yourself strategically throughout the hotel to even get a 3G signal ! Don't expect to be able to communicate with the rest of the world.
Restaraunt table service is slow and un-attentive, waiting staff are apathetic, the food is of average quality though the chef's obvious imagination and skill with deserts and puddings deserves recognition. Breakfast is acceptable.
Not a very family friendly establishment - should be flagged 'Adults only' and is poor value for money, unless you book a heavily discounted Internet "deal".
Baskets of fresh fruit and plates of stale "house cakes" are dotted around reception for the casual 'grazer' and an ample tea/coffee/biscuit basket is available in-room.
Overall a disappointing experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

It is not for me to pass comment regarding whether we are 'over rated', these being comments made by other Tripadvisor members not ourselves. I can say that when we had our 'secret customer' inspection by the AA earlier this month, he found that we had very good standards of cleanliness and was extremely complimentary regarding the standard of Food and customer service. This resulted in the award of a rosette for the quality of the food.

As a mobile phone user myself I can concur with your comments regarding reception but feel that perhaps your comments should be addressed to your network provider. I have made numerous complaints to mine without too much help. Our complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. It can be slower than you might be used to but our local exchange is scheduled for an upgrade next year. The dedicated computer access we provide for our guests in the Garden Lounge is hard wired and can be faster than wireless and is free to use.
Regarding your comments about mobility impaired guests, we do have three ground floor bedrooms, one especially fitted for wheelchair users, so we feel we can cater for the needs of most guests.
From one of your other comments, I must assume that you were allocated a room on the first floor as this is currently a corridor area that is being re decorated. We are not 'touching up' the walls but repainting all of our corridor areas completely. There is no right time to do maintenance in a hotel as we are open 24/7 so at times there might be the smell of fresh paint, but we think this small thing is preferable to the alternative. Our housekeeping staff are not involved with this at all but as one of the painters is a lady, perhaps this is where your confusion has occurred. Regarding being family friendly, we would like to think that our policy of giving free accommodation to children sharing their parents room up to the age of 16 is very fair to parents. We also have separate kids menu as well. I agree we don't have a playground here, but the back garden of 27 acres is very much made for 'adventures'.


Best regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here one night for a family get together. The receptionist was very good, taking time to show us around and to our room. She also served as barmaid! My sister had booked the three rooms we needed, but unfortunately didn't get a room with a four poster bed. My husband happened to mention to the receptionist that my brother in law was complaining, albeit tongue in cheek, about the room and she immediately checked and offered him a change of room to one with the four poster bed. My room was very comfortable.
The food was wonderful, the desserts are to die for. The restaurant staff were really helpful, my sister in law has to have gluten free food and they took the time to go through the menu with her.

As I said excellent customer service all round which helped to make it a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do take pride in our customer service which is very important to us so am very pleased that you were able to comment on it. We are very used to special diets at the hotel, as long as we know we can cater for anything. Some of the desserts are exceptional. The chocolate tasting plate should not be missed.

Kind regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We chose this hotel for a quite two night break using their Amazon deal - we paid a little extra for the four poster room which in my view was well worth it as it is a large bright and very well appointed room overlooking the conservatory, gardens and river from a large square bay window with nice thick curtains. The room was clean as are most other areas in the hotel - nothing shabby about this place.
The reception was welcoming and he took the time to walk us around the ground floor facilities and explain meal times etc and (wonder of wonders in 2013) offered to give us a hand with our luggage - though on this occasion we were travelling light and didn't need it. (the offer was repeated on check out which is a very nice touch these days)

The seven course taster dinner on the first night was magnificent with nothing that I couldn't enjoy eating. The food was all cooked to perfection on the second night as well - the fact I didn't enjoy the second course as much was down to my own bad choice and nothing to do with quality. Breakfast was excellent and the food obviously cooked to order and not left sitting in water baths as it often is. If you have never tried eggs benedict then I thoroughly recommend it as an alternative to what is also an excellent full breakfast.

Even though it was November we were lucky enough to have weather kind enough to explore the beautiful grounds and the whole experience left me feeling as we had stayed in a real country manor rather than an hotel (OK there was no valet or footman but aside from that it felt like being a guest in a country retreat.

Two small criticisms, one I am sure they can do nothing about, which is the noise of the water pump whenever any water was run in the bathroom (or the one next door) I mention that only because I know some people are ultra sensitive to the slightest noise and it didnt detract from our stay in any way - For those who might be concerned I am sure that they probably have rooms where the water is not pumped, so you could ask. The other dissapointing thing was the small TV which was rather lost in this large room and difficult to focus on properly from the bed - full range of freeview channels though.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Caer Beris for almost any kind of "get away from it all" break. If you watch out for their Amazon local deals then it does offer excellent value as well. Although not of interest to me, their wedding package looks amazing giving 100% exclusive use of the hotel and grounds for two nights - so if anyone is arranging a wedding and short of a couple of extra guests..........!!

Room Tip: I can only say the four poster room over the conservatory is lovely - I didn't see any of the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I am very pleased as well that you were able to leave such a positive review!
As you say, all our food is freshly prepared using, wherever possible local produce.
Customer service is very important to us so we welcome the opportunity to be able to show guests the layout of the rooms. Even though we are only a small hotel, it can be a little confusing.
We are installing a pressurised water system this winter which hopefully will cure the sounds of pumps. The joys of a historic house! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caer Beris Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.